Application for Licensure Based on Passing the ADEX Examination - General Information and Updates
Prior to applying to the Dental Board (Board) of California for a dental license, all applicants must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Submit a completed application to the Dental Board of California
- Pay a non-refundable application fee of $400.00
- Provide satisfactory evidence of having graduated from a dental school approved by the Board or Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.
- Provide satisfactory evidence of having passed the National Board Written Examinations. Original score card is required; photocopies are not acceptable.
- Provide satisfactory evidence of having passed the following sections of the ADEX examination:
- Diagnostic Skills Examination/Objective Structured Clinical Examination (DSE OSCE) (computer based)
- Prosthodontic (manikin based)
- Endodontic (manikin based)
- Restorative (live patient or manikin based using CompeDont tooth)
- Periodontal Scaling (live patient, or manikin based, or DSE OSCE)
Original or duplicate success card is required. Photocopies are not acceptable.
Applicants must have taken and passed the exams after November 15, 2019
- Provide classifiable sets of fingerprints on fingerprint cards provided by the Board or on Standard FBI fingerprint cards.
- Provide satisfactory evidence of having passed the California Restorative Technique (RT) examination if graduated from a recognized non-accredited dental school.
- Submit a completed Out of State/Country Licensure Certification Form (only for those who are licensed in another state or country)
- Successfully complete the Law and Ethics examination.
The Board permits candidates to participate in the Law and Ethics examination pending fingerprint clearance; however, a dental license will not be issued until the clearance has been received from the appropriate agencies.