Dental Assisting Requirements


Please note changes to the California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Sections 1070, 1070.1, 1070.2, 1070.6, 1070.7, 1070.8, and 1071 will become effective November 11, 2011. These amended regulations impact approved and proposed providers of Registered Dental Assistant Educational Programs, Registered Dental Assistant in Extended Functions Programs, Infection Control Courses, Orthodontic Assistant Permit Courses, and Dental Sedation Assistant Permit Courses. Programs and courses that already have Board approval will need to demonstrate compliance with the new regulations by submitting a Notice of Compliance to the Dental Board of California no later than 90 days from the effective date of the regulations, which is by February 9, 2012.

If you are a Board-approved provider of the aforementioned programs or courses that was approved by the Board prior to January 1, 2011, you should have received a Notice of Compliance for your program or course. If you have not received a Notice of Compliance from the Board by mail, you may print a notice by selecting the correct form for your type of course under the "Dental Assisting Educational Programs and Courses, California Code of Regulations, Sections 1070, 1070.1, 1070.2, 1070.6, 1070.7, 1070.8, and 1071" heading at the following link: Read and follow the directions listed on the form to help ensure compliance with the new regulations. If you are a new provider who is seeking approval, you must comply with these new regulations to secure and maintain approval from the Board.

The responsibilities of the Dental Assisting Program are the following:

(1) To review and evaluate all applications for licensure in all dental assisting categories to determine whether a candidate meets the appropriate licensing requirements specified by statute and board regulations.
(2) To maintain application records, cashier application fees, and perform any other administrative tasks as are incidental to the application process.
(3) To delegate any or all of the functions in this subdivision to its staff.
(4) To issue dental assistant licenses in all cases, except where there is a question as to a licensing requirement.
(5) To develop or administer examinations, and set pass points for all dental assisting licensing examinations.
(6) To be responsible for all aspects of the license renewal process.
(7) To review applications for approval of instruction of dental assisting programs or courses, and approve or deny applicants.


Business and Professions Code, Section 1750. (a) A dental assistant is an individual who, without a license, may perform basic supportive dental procedures, as authorized by Section 1750.1 and by regulations adopted by the board, under the supervision of a licensed dentist. "Basic supportive dental procedures" are those procedures that have technically elementary characteristics, are completely reversible, and are unlikely to precipitate potentially hazardous conditions for the patient being treated.
(b) The supervising licensed dentist shall be responsible for determining the competency of the dental assistant to perform the basic supportive dental procedures, as authorized by Section 1750.1.
(c) The employer of a dental assistant shall be responsible for ensuring that the dental assistant who has been in continuous employment for 120 days or more, has already successfully completed, or successfully completes, all of the following within a year of the date of employment:
(1) A board-approved course in the Dental Practice Act.
(2) A board-approved 8 hour course in infection control.
(3) A course in basic life support offered by an instructor approved by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association, or any other course approved by the board as equivalent and that provides the student the opportunity to engage in hands-on simulated clinical scenarios.
(d) The employer of a dental assistant shall be responsible for ensuring that the dental assistant maintains certification in basic life support.
(e) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2010.

If additional information is needed, please email

Karen M. Fischer, MPA
Executive Officer
Dental Board of California