Dental Assisting Council

Cara Miyasaki, RDA, RDHEF, MS - Chair
Jeri Fowler, RDAEF, OA - Vice Chair
De’Andra Epps-Robbins, RDA
Jessica Gerlach, RDA, OA
Rosalinda Olague, RDA - Board Member
Joanne Pacheco, RDH - Board Member
Carie Smith, RDAEF

Diversion Evaluation Committee

Curtis Vixie, DDS, Chair
Michael Shaw, DDS, Vice Chair

Gregory Pluckhan, DDS
George Shinn, Jr., DDS
Thomas Specht, MD
James Tracy, DDS

Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery Permit Credentialing Committee

Robert Gramins, DDS, Chair
Andre Guerrero Fernandes, DDS, MD
Louis Gallia, DMD, MD
Anil Punjabi, MD, DDS
Peter Scheer, DDS

Access To Care Committee

Lilia Larin, DDS - Chair
Yogita Thakur, DDS, MS

Anesthesia Committee

Alan Felsenfeld, DDS, MA – Chair
Steven Chan, DDS

Enforcement Committee

Joanne Pacheco, RDH, MAOB

Licensing Examination, Certification and Permits Committee

James Yu, DDS, MS – Chair
Joni Forge, DDS

Legislative and Regulatory Committee

Meredith McKenzie, Public Member - Chair
Sonia Molina, DMD, MPH

Substance Use Awareness Committee

Rosalinda Olague, RDA, BA – Chair
Angelita Medina, MHS – Public Member

Sunset Review Report Committee

Joanne Pacheco, RDH, MAOB – Chair
Steven Chan, DDS
  • 2021 Committees
  • Recruitment Notice for the Diversion Evaluation Committee

    What is it?

    Diversion is a confidential program for licensed Dentists, Registered Dental Assistants, and Registered Dental Assistants in Extended Functions in California whose ability to practice may be impaired due to alcohol and/or drug abuse. The program offers a means of recovery without the loss of a license by providing access to appropriate intervention programs and treatment services. The purpose of the Diversion Program is to protect the public and rehabilitate the licentiate and is available to dental professionals meeting the eligibility criteria. The Diversion Program must comply with the provisions in Business and Professions Code Section 1695.5.

    Diversion Evaluation Committee (DEC)

    The committee assists the Board in evaluating licensees who may be impaired due to the abuse of alcohol or drugs.  The committee is composed members who all have experience or knowledge in the field of chemical dependency. Diversion Committee members are appointed by the Board and serve at the Board's pleasure. The DEC alternates quarterly meetings between Sacramento and Los Angeles.
    Applications are now being accepted for positions on the DEC.
    In making a determination to apply, the following factors should be considered:

    1. Expertise - Members must have experience or knowledge in the field of chemical dependency.
    2. Time - A minimum of 4 days per year will be required for committee meetings. Committee members must also be available for telephone consultation with participants and program staff. Terms are four years.
    3. Reimbursement - Committee members will be reimbursed for expenses (i.e., transportation, meals, and lodging at the prevailing State rate) and will receive $100/day for each committee meeting. In addition, members receive the satisfaction of providing valuable service to the public and the dental community.
    4. Responsibilities - With assistance from other committee members and the clinical case manager, evaluate and determine which applicants will be admitted to the program; develop a rehabilitation plan for each participant; determine whether the participant may with safety continue or resume the practice of dentistry; and receive and review information pertaining to participants.

    If interested, complete the application and return it along with a cover letter and resume to the Dental Board’s address mentioned in the application.


    Applications must be received by April 11, 2022.

    If you have any questions regarding the DEC application or the Diversion Program, please contact the Dental Board's Diversion Program Manager, Bernal Vaba, at 916-263-2214.