Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Permits - Licensed Dentists
Business and Professions Code, Section 1638, defines Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery as, "... the diagnosis and surgical and adjunctive treatment of diseases, injuries, and defects which involve both functional and esthetic aspects of the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial region."
Applying for an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Permit
The primary requirements for a permit to administer Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery are defined in Business and Professions Code, Section 1638.
The requirements for a Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery permit include, but may not be limited to:
- A completed application form.
- A current, active license in good standing to practice medicine in California.
- A dental license issued by another state. The license does not have to be current.
- Board Certification in oral and maxillofacial surgery or a candidate for Certification.
- Non-refundable application fee: $500.00
- Current license certification from the Medical Board of California.
- Current license certification from each state in which you are, or were, licensed to practice dentistry.
- Proof of being board certified by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, or of being a candidate for certification.
- Fingerprinting - Use either the California Live Scan fingerprint method or Ink on Cards method.
Renewing Your Permit
An Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Permit expires when the California medical license expires and must be renewed every two years. The fee for renewal is $650. The continuing education requirement for renewal is fifty units of approved courses including the mandatory basic life support course, 2 units in California infection control, and 2 units of California Dental Practice Act.
For more information, call (916)263-2300 or email firstname.lastname@example.org