Licensure by Credential

Primary Requirements

The requirements for Licensure by Credential include, but are not limited to:

  1. A completed application and payment of all fees.
    • Mail to:
      • Dental Board of California
        2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550
        Sacramento, CA 95815
  2. A current license issued by another state to practice dentistry that is not revoked, suspended or otherwise restricted. Out of State Certification Form
  3. Proof that the applicant has either been in active clinical practice or has been a full-time faculty member in an accredited dental education program and in active clinical practice for a total of at least 5,000 hours in five of the seven consecutive years immediately preceding the date of his or her application.
    • Residency – Maximum of two (2) years of clinical practice credit allowed for a residency training program accredited by the American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation
    • The clinical practice requirement may be fulfilled if the applicant agrees to a full-time two year contract to teach or to practice dentistry in settings specified in Business and Professions Code, Sections 1635.5(a)(3)(B) and 1635.5(a)(3)(C).
  4. Proof that the applicant has not failed the WREB examination within the last five years.
  5. Proof that the applicant has not failed the ADEX examination after November 15, 2019.
    • An Individual Performance Report (WREB) or a Cumulative Score Report (ADEX) that shows no failures is acceptable proof.
    • A letter signed by the applicant that certifies the applicant has never taken the WREB and/or ADEX examination is acceptable proof.
  6. Fifty (50) units of continuing education in the last two years, including current mandatory courses.


Application to establish eligibility fee (non-refundable): $525.00
(This does not include initial licensing fee, which will be assessed upon approval of application.)

Fingerprinting Information

Fingerprint clearance is required for licensure.

Processing Time

An application may be approved in as little as 30 days if the application is complete, fingerprint clearances are obtained quickly, and there are no issues such as discipline or National Practitioner Data Bank reports. When eligibility is approved, a license application is sent. This is a two-page form that needs to be returned with the pro-rated initial license fee. After this is received at the Dental Board, the license is usually issued within 2 weeks. Verification of licensure appears on the website the next day, before paper verification is received by mail.

Application Process

Instructions - Start here. Follow step by step to understand which forms apply to your situation and how to complete them. A list of websites is available of Board-approved continuing education providers that offer on line courses. Any of these providers' infection control or California Dental Practice Act courses are accepted.

LBC 1 - Application. You may type in the spaces before printing. Only the most recent revisions can be submitted.

LBC 3 - Certification of clinical practice.

LBC 5 - Use this form if qualifying with a pending contract for clinical practice.

LBC 6 - Use this form if qualifying with a pending contract for faculty practice.

33A-20-LBC - Use this form to certify your out of state/country license.

For more information, call (916)-263-2300 or email

Other Information

Geographic Distribution of Dentists in California

Map of Shortage Areas of California Dental Health Professionals

Dental Community and Public Health Agencies