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State of California 
Department of Consumer Affairs 

Title 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations 
Division 10. Dental Board of California 

SB 501 Anesthesia and Sedation 
Order of Adoption 

Amend sections 1016 and 1017 of Article 4 of Chapter 1, section 1018.1 
of Article 5 of Chapter 1, section 1021 of Article 6 of Chapter 1, sections 
1043, 1043.1, 1043.2, 1043.3, 1043.4, 1043.5, 1043.6, 1043.7, and 1043.8 of 
Article 5, sections 1044, 1044.1, 1044.2, 1044.3, and 1044.5 of Article 5.5 
of Chapter 2, and section 1070.8 of Article 2 of Chapter 3, and add 
section 1017.1 of Article 4 of Chapter 1, section 1043.8.1 of Article 5 of 
Chapter 2 and sections 1043.9, 1043.9.1, and 1043.9.2 of Article 5.1 of 
Chapter 2 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
to read as follows: 

Chapter 1. General Provisions Applicable to All Licensees 

Article 4. Continuing Education 

$ 1016. Continuing Education Courses and Providers. 

(a) Definition of Terms: 

(1) Course of Study Defined. "Course of study" means an orderly learning 
experience in an area of study pertaining to dental and medical health, 
preventive dental services, diagnosis and treatment planning, clinical procedures, 
basic health sciences, dental practice management and administration, 
communication, ethics, patient management or the Dental Practice Act and other 
laws specifically related to dental practice. 
(2) Coursework Defined. The term "Coursework" used herein refers to materials 
presented or used for continuing education and shall be designed and delivered 
in a manner that serves to directly enhance the licensee's knowledge, skill and 
competence in the provision of service to patients or the community. 

(b) Courses of study for continuing education credit shall include: 

(1) Mandatory courses required by the Board for license renewal to include a Board-
approved course in Infection Control, a Board-approved course in the California Dental 
Practice Act and completion of certification in Basic Life Support. 

A) At a minimum, course content for a Board-approved course in Infection 
Control shall include all content of Section 1005 and the application of the 
regulations in the dental environment. 
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(B) At a minimum, course content for the Dental Practice Act [Division 2, Chapter 
4 of the Code (beginning with $1600)] shall instruct on acts in violation of the 
Dental Practice Act and attending regulations, and other statutory mandates 
relating to the dental practice. This includes utilization and scope of practice for 
auxiliaries and dentists; laws governing the prescribing of drugs; citations, fines, 
revocation and suspension of a license, and license renewal; and the mandatory 
reporter obligations set forth in the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (Penal 
Code Section 11164 et seq.) and the Elder Abuse and Dependent Adult Civil 
Protection Act (Welfare and Institutions Code Section 15600 et seq.) and the 
clinical signs to look for in identifying abuse. 

(C) The mandatory requirement for certification in Basic Life Support shall be met 
by completion of either: 

() An American Heart Association (AHA) or American Red Cross (ARC) 
course in Basic Life Support (BLS) or, 
(ii) A BLS course taught by a provider approved by the American Dental 
Association's Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP) or the 
Academy of General Dentistry's Program Approval for Continuing 
Education (PACE). 
For the purposes of this section, a Basic Life Support course shall include 
all of the following: 
1. Instruction in both adult and pediatric CPR, including 2-rescuer 
scenarios; 
2. Instruction in foreign-body airway obstruction: 
3. Instruction in relief of choking for adults, child and infant; 
4. Instruction in the use of automated external defibrillation with CPR; and; 
5. A live, in-person skills practice session, a skills test and a written 
examination; 
The course provider shall ensure that the course meets the required 
criteria. 

(2) Courses in the actual delivery of dental services to the patient or the community, 
such as: 

A) Courses in preventive services, diagnostic protocols and procedures 
(including physical evaluation, radiography, dental photography) comprehensive 
treatment planning, charting of the oral conditions, informed consent protocols 
and recordkeeping. 
(B) Courses dealing primarily with nutrition and nutrition counseling of the patient. 
(C) Courses in esthetic, corrective and restorative oral health diagnosis and 
treatment. 
(D) Courses in dentistry's role in individual and community health emergencies, 
disasters, and disaster recovery. 
(E) Courses that pertain to the legal requirement governing the licensee in the 
areas of auxiliary employment and delegation of responsibilities; the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA); actual delivery of care. 
(F) Courses pertaining to federal, state and local regulations, guidelines or 
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statutes regarding workplace safety, fire and emergency, environmental safety, 
waste disposal and management, general office safety, and all training 
requirements set forth by the California Division of Occupational Safety and 
Health (Cal-DOSH) including the Bloodborne Pathogens Standard. 
(G) Courses pertaining to the administration of general anesthesia, 
consciousmoderate sedation, oral conscious sedation or medical emergencies. 
(H) Courses pertaining to the evaluation, selection, use and care of dental 
instruments, sterilization equipment, operatory equipment, and personal 
protective attire. 
(1) Courses in dependency issues and substance abuse such as alcohol and 
drug use as it relates to patient safety, professional misconduct, ethical 
considerations or malpractice. 
(J) Courses in behavioral sciences, behavior guidance, and patient management 
in the delivery of care to all populations including special needs, pediatric and 
sedation patients when oriented specifically to the clinical care of the patient. 
(K) Courses in the selection, incorporation, and use of current and emerging 
technologies. 
(L) Courses in cultural competencies such as bilingual dental terminology, cross-
cultural communication, provision of public health dentistry, and the dental 
professional's role in provision of care in non-traditional settings when oriented 
specifically to the needs of the dental patient and will serve to enhance the 
patient experience. 
(M) Courses in dentistry's role in individual and community health programs. 
(N) Courses pertaining to the legal and ethical aspects of the insurance industry, 
to include management of third party payer issues, dental billing practices, 
patient and provider appeals of payment disputes and patient management of 
billing matters. 

(3) Courses in the following areas are considered to be primarily of benefit to the 
licensee and shall be limited to a maximum of 20% of a licensee's total required course 
unit credits for each license or permit renewal period: 

A) Courses to improve recall and scheduling systems, production flow, 
communication systems and data management. 
(B) Courses in organization and management of the dental practice including 
office computerization and design, ergonomics, and the improvement of practice 
administration and office operations. 
(C) Courses in leadership development and team development. 
D) Coursework in teaching methodology and curricula development. 
(E) Coursework in peer evaluation and case studies that include reviewing 
clinical evaluation procedures, reviewing diagnostic methods, studying 
radiographic data, study models and treatment planning procedures. 
(F) Courses in human resource management and employee benefits. 

(4) Courses considered to be of direct benefit to the licensee or outside the scope of 
dental practice in California include the following, and shall not be recognized for 
continuing education credit: 
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(A) Courses in money management, the licensee's personal finances or personal 
business matters such as financial planning, estate planning, and personal 
investments. 
(B) Courses in general physical fitness, weight management or the licensee's 
personal health. 
(C) Presentations by political or public figures or other persons that do not deal 
primarily with dental practice or issues impacting the dental profession. 
(D) Courses designed to make the licensee a better business person or designed 
to improve licensee personal profitability, including motivation and marketing. 
(E) Courses pertaining to the purchase or sale of a dental practice, business or 
office; courses in transfer of practice ownership, acquisition of partners and 
associates, practice valuation, practice transitions, or retirement. 
(F) Courses pertaining to the provision of elective facial cosmetic surgery as 
defined by the Dental Practice Act in Section 1638.1, unless the licensee has a 
special permit obtained from the Board to perform such procedures pursuant to 
Section 1638.1 of the Code. 

(5) Completion of a course does not constitute authorization for the attendee to perform 
any services that he or she is not legally authorized to perform based on his or her 
license or permit type. 

(c) Registered Provider Application and Renewal 

(1) An applicant for registration as a provider shall submit an "Application for 
Continuing Education Provider (Rev. 05/09)" that is hereby incorporated by 
reference. The application shall be accompanied by the fee required by section 
1021. The applicant or, if the applicant is not an individual but acting on behalf of 
a business entity, the individual authorized by the business to act on its behalf 
shall certify that he or she will only offer courses and issue certificates for 
courses that meet the requirements in this section. 
(2) To renew its registration, a provider shall submit a "Continuing Education 
Registered Provider Permit Renewal Application (12/15/08)" that is hereby 
incorporated by reference. The application shall be accompanied by the fee 
required by section 1021 and a biennial report listing each of the course titles 
offered, the 11-digit registration number issued to each course, the number of 
units issued for each course, the dates of all courses offered, the name and 
qualifications of each instructor, a summary of the content of each course of 
study. and a sample of the provider's written certification issued to participants 
during the last renewal period. 

(d) Standards for Registration as an Approved Provider 
(1) Each course of study shall be conducted on the same educational standards 
of scholarship and teaching as that required of a true university discipline and 
shall be supported by those facilities and educational resources necessary to 
comply with this requirement. Every instructor or presenter of a continuing 
education course shall possess education or experience for at least two years in 
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the subject area being taught. Each course of study shall clearly state 
educational objectives that can realistically be accomplished within the 
framework of the course. Teaching methods for each course of study shall be 
described (e.g., lecture, seminar, audiovisual, clinical, simulation, etc.) on all 
provider reports. 
(2) The topic of instruction and course content shall conform to this section. 
3) An opportunity to enroll in such courses of study shall be made available to all 
dental licensees. 

(e) Enforcement, Provider Records Retention and Availability of Provider Records 

(1) The bBoard may not grant prior approval to individual courses unless a 
course is required as a mandatory license renewal course. The minimum course 
content of all mandatory continuing education courses for all registered providers 
is set out in subsections (b)(1)(A-C). Providers shall be expected to adhere to 
these minimum course content requirements or risk registered provider status. 
Beginning January 1, 2006, all registered providers shall submit their course 
content outlines for Infection Control and California Dental Practice Act to the 
bBoard staff for review and approval. If a provider wishes to make any significant 
changes to the content of a previously approved mandatory course, the provider 
shall submit a new course content outline to the Board. A provider may not offer 
the mandatory course until the Board approves the new course outline. All new 
applicants for providor status shall submit course content vullines for mandatory 
education courses at the time of application and prior to instruction of mandatory 
education courses. 

(2) Providers must possess and maintain the following: 
(A) Speaker curriculum vitae; 
(B) Course content outline; 
(C) Educational objectives or outcomes; 
D) Teaching methods utilized; 
E) Evidence of registration numbers and units issued to each course; 
(F) Attendance records and rosters 

(3) The bBoard may randomly audit a provider for any course submitted for credit 
by a licensee in addition to any course for which a complaint is received. If an 
audit is conducted, the provider shall submit to the Board the following 
information and documentation: 

(A) Speaker curriculum vitae; 
(B) Course content outline; 
C) Educational objectives or outcomes; 
D) Teaching methods utilized; 

(E) Evidence of registration numbers and units issued to each course; and 
F) Attendance records and rosters. 

(4) All provider records described in this article shall be retained for a period of 
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no less than three provider renewal periods. 

(f) Withdrawal of Provider Registration 

(1) The bBoard retains the right and authority to audit or monitor courses given 
by any provider. The bBoard may withdraw or place restrictions on a provider's 
registration if the provider has disseminated any false or misleading information 
in connection with the continuing education program, fails to comply with 
regulations, misrepresents the course offered, makes any false statement on its 
application or otherwise violates any provision of the Dental Practice Act or the 
regulations adopted thereunder. 

(2) Any provider whose registration is withdrawn or restricted shall be granted a 
hearing before the executive officer or his or her designee prior to the effective 
date of such action. The provider shall be given at least ten days notice of the 
grounds for the proposed action and the time and place of such hearing. 

(g) Provider Issuance of Units of Credit for Attendance 
One unit of credit shall be granted for every hour of contact instruction and may be 
issued in half-hour increments. Such increments shall be represented by the use of a 
decimal point in between the first two numbers of the 11-digit registration number of the 
course. This credit shall apply to either academic or clinical instruction. Eight units shall 
be the maximum continuing education credits granted in one day. 

(h) Additional Provider Responsibilities 

(1) A provider shall furnish a written certification of course completion to each licensee 
certifying that the licensee has met the attendance requirements of the course. Such 
certification shall not be issued until completion of the course and shall contain the 
following: 

A) The licensee's, name and license or permit number, the provider's name, the 
11-digit course registration number in the upper left hand corner of the certificate, 
date or dates attended, the number of units earned, and a place for the licensee 
to sign and date verifying attendance. 
(B) An authorizing signature of the provider or the providing entity and a 
statement that reads: "All of the information contained on this certificate is truthful 
and accurate." 
(C) A statement on each certification that reads: "Completion of this course does 
not constitute authorization for the attendee to perform any services that he or 
she is not legally authorized to perform based on his or her license or permit 
type." 

(2) If an individual whose license or permit has been cancelled, revoked, or voluntarily 
surrendered attends and completes a continuing education course, the provider or 
attendee may document on the certificate of course completion the license or permit 
number the individual held before the license or permit was cancelled, revoked, or 
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voluntarily surrendered. 

(3) When two or more registered providers co-sponsor a course, only one provider 
number shall be used for that course and that provider must assume full responsibility 
for compliance with the requirements of this article. 

(4) Only Board-approved providers whose course content outlines for Infection Control 
and California Dental Practice Act have been submitted and approved by the Board 
may issue continuing education certifications to participants of these courses. 

(5) The instructor of a course who holds a current and active license or permit to 
practice issued by the Board may receive continuing education credit for up to 20% of 
their total required units per renewal period for the course or courses they teach for a 
provider other than themselves. 

(6) Upon request, a provider shall issue a duplicate certification to a licensee whose 
name appears on the provider's original roster of course attendees. A provider may not 
issue a duplicate certification to a licensee whose name is not on the original roster of 
course attendees. The provider, not the licensee shall clearly mark on the certificate 
the word "duplicate." 

(7) Providers shall place the following statement on all certifications, course 
advertisements, brochures and other publications relating to all course offerings. "This 
course meets the Dental Board of California's requirements for _(number of)_units of 
continuing education." 

(i) Out of State Courses and Courses Offered by Other Authorized and Non-Authorized 
Providers 

(1) Notwithstanding subdivision (b) of Section 1016, licensees who attend continuing 
education courses given by providers approved by the American Dental Association's 
Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP) or the Academy of General 
Dentistry's Program Approval for Continuing Education (PACE) and who obtain a 
certification of attendance from the provider or sponsor shall be given credit towards 
his or her total continuing education requirement for renewal of his or her license with 
the exception of mandatory continuing education courses, if the course meets the 
requirements of continuing education set forth in this section. 

(b) A licensee who attends a course or program that meets all content requirements for 
continuing education pursuant to these regulations, but was presented outside 
California by a provider not approved by the Board, may petition the Board for 
consideration of the course by submitting information on course content, course 
duration and evidence from the provider of course completion. When the necessary 
requirements have been fulfilled, the bBoard may issue a written certificate of course 
completion for the approved number of units, which the licensee may then use for 
documentation of continuing education credits. 
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1645, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Section 1645, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1017. Continuing Education Units Required for Renewal of a License or Permit. 

(a) As a condition of renewal, all licensees are required to complete continuing 
education as follows: 

(1) Two units of continuing education in Infection Control specific to California 
regulations as defined in section 1016(b)(1)(A). 
(2) Two units of continuing education in the California Dental Practice Act and its 
related regulations as defined in section 1016(b)(1)(B) 
(3) A maximum of four units of a course in Basic Life Support as specified in 
section 1016(b)(1)(C). 

(b) Mandatory continuing education units count toward the total units required to renew 
a license or permit; however, failure to complete the mandatory courses will result in 
non-renewal of a license or permit. Any continuing education units accumulated before 
April 8, 2010 that meet the requirements in effect on the date the units were 
accumulated will be accepted by the Board for license or permit renewals taking place 
on or after April 8, 2010. 

() All licensees shall accumulate the continuing education units equal to the number of 
units indicated below during the biennial license or permit renewal period assigned by 
the Board on each license or permit. All licensees shall verify to the Board that he or 
she who has been issued a license or permit to practice for a period less than two 
years shall begin accumulating continuing education credits within the next biennial 
renewal period occurring after the issuance of a new license or permit to practice. 

(1) Dentists: 50 units. 
(2) Registered dental hygienists: 25 units. 
(3) Registered dental assistants: 25 units. 
(4) Dental Sedation Assistant Permit Holders: 25 units. 
(5) Orthodontic Assistant Permit Holders: 25 units. 
(6) Registered dental hygienists in extended functions: 25 units. 
(7) Registered dental assistants in extended functions: 25 units. 
(8) Registered dental hygienists in alternative practice: 35 units. 

(d) Each dentist licensee who holds a general anesthesia permit shall complete, as a 
condition of permit renewal, continuing education requirements pursuant to Section 
1646.5 of the Business and Professions Code at least once every two years, and either 
(1) an advanced cardiac life support course which is approved by the American Heart 
Association and which includes an examination on the materials presented in the 
course or (2) any other advanced cardiac life support course which is identical in all 
respects, except for the omission of materials that relate solely to hospital emergencies 
or neonatology, to the course entitled "2005 American Heart Association Guidelines for 
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Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care" published by the 
American Heart Association December 13, 2005 which is incorporated herein by 
reference. 

(e) Each dentist licensee who holds a consciousmoderate sedation permit shall 
complete at least once every two years a minimum of 15 total units of coursework 
related to the administration of consciousmoderate sedation and to medical 
emergencies, as a condition of permit renewal, in continuing education requirements 
pursuant to Section 1647.5 of the of the Business and Professions Code. Refusal to 
execute the required assurance shall result in non-renewal of the permit. 

(f) Each dentist licensee who holds an oral conscious sedation permit for minors, as a 
condition of permit renewal, shall complete at least once every two years a minimum of 
7 total units of coursework related to the subject area in continuing education 
requirements pursuant to Section 1647.13 of the Business and Professions Code. 

(9) Each dentist licensee who holds an oral conscious sedation permit for adults, as a 
condition of permit renewal, shall complete at least once every two years a minimum of 
7 total units of coursework related to the subject area in continuing education 
requirements pursuant to Section 1647.21 of the of the Business and Professions 
Code. 

(h) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this code, tape recorded courses, home 
study materials, video courses, and computer courses are considered correspondence 
courses, and will be accepted for credit up to, but not exceeding, 50% of the licensee's 
total required units. 

(i) In the event that a portion of a licensee's units have been obtained through non-live 
instruction, as described in Section (h) above, all remaining units shall be obtained 
through live interactive course study with the option to obtain 100% of the total required 
units by way of interactive instruction courses. Such courses are defined as live 
lecture, live telephone conferencing, live video conferencing, live workshop 
demonstration, or live classroom study. 

() Licensees who participate in the following activities shall be issued continuing 
education credit for up to 20% of their total continuing education unit requirements for 
license renewal: 

(1) Participation in any Dental Board of California or Western Regional 
Examination Board (WREB) administered examination including attendance at 
calibration training, examiner orientation sessions, and examinations. 
(2) Participation in any site visit or evaluation relating to issuance and 
maintenance of a general anesthesia, consciousmoderate sedation or oral 
conscious sedation permit. 

(3) Participation in any calibration training and site evaluation training session 
relating to general anesthesia, consciousmoderate sedation or oral conscious 
sedation permits. 
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(4) Participation in any site visit or evaluation of an approved dental auxiliary 
program or dental auxiliary course. 

(k) The Board shall issue to participants in the activities listed in subdivision (j) a 
certificate that contains the date, time, location, authorizing signature, 11-digit course 
registration number, and number of units conferred for each activity consistent with all 
certificate requirements herein required for the purposes of records retention and 
auditing. 

() The license or permit of any person who fails to accumulate the continuing 
education units set forth in this section or to assure the bBoard that he or she will 
accumulate such units, shall not be renewed until such time as the licensee complies 
with those requirements. 

(m) A licensee who has not practiced in California for more than one year because the 
licensee is disabled need not comply with the continuing education requirements of this 
article during the renewal period within which such disability falls. Such licensee shall 
certify in writing that he or she is eligible for waiver of the continuing education 
requirements. A licensee who ceases to be eligible for such waiver shall notify the 
Board of such and shall comply with the continuing education requirements for 
subsequent renewal periods. 

(n) A licensee shall retain, for a period of three renewal periods, the certificates of 
courac completion issued to him or her at the time he or she attended a continuing 
education course and shall forward such certifications to the Board only upon request 
by the Board for audit purposes. A licensee who fails to retain a certification shall 
contact the provider and obtain a duplicate certification. 

(o) Any licensee who furnishes false or misleading information to the Board regarding 
his or her continuing education units may be subject to disciplinary action. The Board 
may audit a licensee continuing education records as it deems necessary to ensure 
that the continuing education requirements are met. 

(p) A licensee who also holds a special permit for general anesthesia, 
consciousmoderate sedation, oral conscious sedation of a minor or of an adult, may 
apply the continuing education units required in the specific subject areas to their 
dental license renewal requirements. 

(q) A registered dental assistant or registered dental assistant in extended functions 
who holds a permit as an orthodontic assistant or a dental sedation assistant shall not 
be required to complete additional continuing education requirements beyond that 
which is required for licensure renewal in order to renew either permit. 

(r) Pertaining to licencees holding more than one license or permit, the license or 
permit that requires the largest number of continuing education units for renewal shall 
equal the licesee's full renewal requirement. Dual licensure, or licensure with permit, 
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shall not require duplication of continuing education requirements. 

(s) Current and active licensees enrolled in a full-time educational program in the field 
of dentistry, including dental school program, residency program, postdoctoral specialty 
program, dental hygiene school program, dental hygiene in alternative practice 
program, or registered dental assisting in extended functions program approved by the 
Board or the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation shall be granted continuing 
education credits for completed curriculum during that renewal period. In the event of 
audit, licensees shall be required to present school transcripts to the Board as 
evidence of enrollment and course completion. 

t) Current and active dental sedation assistant and orthodontic assistant permit 
holders enrolled in a full-time dental hygiene school program, dental assisting program, 
or registered dental assisting in extended functions program approved by the Board or 
the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation shall be granted continuing education 
credits for completed curriculum during that renewal period. In the event of audit, 
assisting permit holders shall be required to present school transcripts to the 
committee or Board as evidence of enrollment and course completion. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1645, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1645, 1646.5 and 1647.5, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1017.1. Processing Times. [Repealed] Continued Competency Requirements 
for Renewal of Permits with Pediatric Endorsements. 

(a) As a condition of renewal, each licensee who holds a general anesthesia permit 
with a pediatric endorsement shall provide documentation to the Board showing 
completion of at least twenty (20) cases of general anesthesia or deep sedation to 
pediatric patients as provided in Section 1043.8.1, subsections (c)-(d). 

(b) As a condition of renewal, each dentist licensee who holds a moderate sedation 
permit with a pediatric endorsement shall confirm to the Board in writing the following 
as part of the permit renewal requirements in Section 1043.8 ("application"): 

(1) Whether the licensee completed at least twenty (20) cases of moderate 
sedation for children under thirteen (13) years of age in the 24-month time 
period immediately preceding application for their current permit renewal either 
independently and/or under the direct supervision of another permit holder; 

(2) Whether the licensee completed at least twenty (20) cases of moderate 
sedation for children under seven years of age in the 24-month time period 
immediately preceding application for their current permit renewal either 
independently and/or under the direct supervision of another permit holder, and; 

(3) If applicable, if the licensee lacks sufficient cases, whether the licensee is 
administering moderate sedation to patients under seven years of age only 
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under the direct supervision of a permit holder who meets the qualifications of 
Section 1647.3 of the Code. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code Reference: 
Sections 1646.2, and 1647.3, Business and Professions Code. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code; and Section 
15376, Government Code. Reference: Sections 15347 et seq., Government Code. 

Article 5. Criteria for Evaluating Rehabilitation/Substantial Relationship 

$ 1018.1. Criteria for Appointment as Agent of the Board. 

(a) For purposes of this article, an Agent of the Board is a licensed dental professional 
or other licensed health care professional, whom the Board has authorized to perform 
delegable duties or functions. The Board may appoint an Agent to serve in one or more 
of the following capacities: 

(1) Conduct on-site evaluations to assess the competency of the general 
anesthesia and consciousmoderate sedation permit holders; 
(2) Aid in the administration of examinations to determine the competency of 
applicants for licensure; 
(3) Review written statements, dental records, radiographs and other documents 
to evaluate the quality of care delivered by licensees who are the subject of 
complaints received by the Board; 
(4) Serve on the Examination Committee; 
(5) Serve on the Diversion Evaluation Committee; 
(6) Testify in criminal court and administrative hearings as an expert witness; 
7) Serve on ad hoc committees created by the Board; and or 
8) Perform any other function which the Board is authorized to delegate to an 
Agent. 

(b) An Agent shall: 
(1) Hold a valid and current license in good standing issued by the Board or, if 
necessary to perform the functions delegated, by another healing arts board 
under the Department of Consumer Affairs; 
(2) Not be the subject of an on going occupational or professional investigation, 
unresolved complaint, or pending disciplinary action; 
(3) Not hold a license which is currently on probation, or which has been on 
probation within two years prior to appointment by the Board. 

(c) The Board may temporarily remove the delegation of authority to an Agent, or may 
remove an Agent directly from his or her appointment for acts which include but are not 
limited to: 

(1) Be the subject of an ongoing investigation, or unresolved complaint, or a 
pending disciplinary action; 
(2) Have his or her professional license placed on probation by the Board or 
other licensing agency; 
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(3) Allow his or her license to become delinquent or be cancelled; 
(4) Be convicted of a crime substantially related to the practice of dentistry; 
(5) Perform his/her Board-delegated functions in a negligent, incompetent or 
dishonorable manner. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 10 and 1614, Business and Professions Code. 

Article 6. Fees 

$ 1021. Examination, Permit and License Fees for Dentists. 

The following fees are set for dentist examination and licensure by the bBoard, and for 
other licensee, registrant, or applicant types specified below**: 

(a) Initial application for those applicants qualifying pursuant to Section 1632(c)(2) of $400 
the Business and Professions Code (the Code) 

$800 
(b) Initial application for those applicants qualifying pursuant to Section 1634.1 of the 
Code 

$400 
(c) Initial application for those applicants qualifying pursuant to Section 1632(c)(1) of 
the Code 

$525 
(d) Initial application fee for those applicants applying pursuant to Section 1635.5 of 
the Code 

$650* 
(e) Initial ILicense 

$650 
(f) Biennial !License Renewal fee 

(g) Biennial ILicense Renewal fee for those qualifying pursuant to Section 1716.1 
ofthe cCode shall be one half of the renewal fee prescribed by subsection (f). 

(h) Delinquency fee -+License Renewal - The delinquency fee for license renewal 
shallbe the amount prescribed by sSection 1724(f) of the Code. 

$50 
(i) Substitute Certificate 

(j) Application for an Aadditional Office Ppermit $350 

(k) Biennial Renewal of Aadditional Office Ppermit $250 

1) Late Change of pPractice Registration $50 
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(m) Fictitious Nname Ppermit 

The fee prescribed by Section 1724.5 of the Code $325 

(n) Fictitious Nname Permit Renewal 
(o) Delinquency fee -Efictitious Nname Permit Renewal. The delinquency fee for 
Ffictitious Nname Ppermits shall be one-half of the Ffictitious Nname Ppermit 
renewal fee $410 

(p) Continuing Eeducation Rregistered Pprovider fee $500524 

(q) Application for General Aanesthesia or conscious Moderate Ssedation Ppermit $168459 

(r) Oral Conscious Sedation Certificate Renewal-Application for Pediatric Minimal 
Sedation Permit 

$325 

(s) General Aanesthesia (for dentist and physician licensees) or consciousModerate 
Ssedation Ppermit Renewal fee $182 

(t) Pediatric Minimal Sedation Permit Renewal fee 

$2,000 

(tu) General Aanesthesia or consciousModerate Scodation Oon-site linspection 
and Eevaluation fee 

$1,000 

(uy) Application for a Special Permit $125 

(ww) Special Permit Renewal $850 

(wx) Initial Application for an Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery Permit $800 

(xy) Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery Permit Renewal $500 

(yz) Application for an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Permit $650 

(zaa) Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Permit Renewal $325 

(aab) Continuing Education Registered Provider Renewal $50 

(abc) License Certification $125 

(acd) Application for Law and Ethics Examination $368459 

(ade) Application for Use of Adult or miner Oeral Cconscious Ssedation on Adult 
Patients certificate 
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$168 
(af) Adult Oral Conscious Sedation Certificate Renewal 

(ag) Application for Pediatric Endorsement for General Anesthesia Permit (for dentist $532 

and physician licensees) $532 

(ah) Application for Pediatric Endorsement for Moderate Sedation Permit 

*Fee pro-rated based on applicant's birth date. 

** Examination, licensure, and permit fees for dentistry may not all be included 
in this section, and may appear in the Business and Professions-Code. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614, 1635.5, 1634.2(c), 1724 and 1724.5, Business 
and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1632, 1634.1, 1646.2, 1646.6, 1647.3, 
1647.8, 4647.12, 1647.1520, 1647.23, 1647.32, 1647.33, 1715, 1716.1, 1718.3, 1724 
and 1724.5, Business and Professions Code. 

Chapter 2. Dentists 

Article 5. General Anesthesia and (Moderate) Conscious Sedation 

$ 1043. Definitions. 

(a) For purposes of this article, "direct supervision" of deep sedation or 
general anesthesia means the permit holder permittee is in the immediate 
presence of a patient while deep sedation or general anesthesia is being 
administered to that patient and that the permit holder permittee or a 
member of the permit holder's permittee's staff directly monitors the patient at 
all times. 

(b) For purposes of this article, "outpatient" means a patient treated in a 
treatment facility which-that is not accredited by the Joint Commission on 
Health Care Organizations or licensed by the California Department of Public 
Health Services-as a "general acute care hospital" as defined in subdivision (a) 
of Section 1250 of the Health & Safety Code. 

(c) For purposes of section 1682(a) of the Code: 

(1) a patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia shall be 
considered "sedated" for that period of time beginning with the first 
administration of deep sedation or general anesthetic agents until that time 
when the patient is again conscious with a full return of protective reflexes, 
including the ability to respond purposely to physical stimulation and/or 
verbal command, when no additional agents will be administered, the 
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dental procedures have been completed, and after the maximum effects of 
all agents have been experienced by the patient; 

(2) a patient under consciousmoderate sedation shall be considered 
'sedated" for that period of time beginning with the first administration of 
consciousmoderate sedation agents until that time when no additional 
agents will be administered, the dental procedures have been 
completed, and after the maximum effects of all agents have been 
experienced by the patient. 

d) For purposes of sSection 1682(b) of the Code, a patient shall be deemed 
to be "recovering from" consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, or 
general anesthesia from the time the patient is no longer "sedated" as that 
term is defined in subsection (c) above until the dentist has evaluated the 
patient and has determined the patient is responsive, alert, has stable vital 
signs and is ambulatory and/or capable of being safely transported. 

e) For purposes of this article, "applicant" refers to applicants without 
permits, as well as permit holders subject to re-evaluation. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1646.1 and 1682, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1043.1. Permit Application Requirements. 

(a) A licensed dentist does not need a general anesthesia or conscious 
moderate sedation permit if the deep sedation, general anesthesia, or 
conscious-moderate sedation administered in that dentist's office is directly 
administered by a licensed dentist or physician and surgeon who possesses a 
general anesthesia or conscious moderate sedation permit, whichever is 
applicable to the type of anesthesia or sedation services being provided. 

(b) For the purposes of Sections 1646.2 and 1646.9 of the Code, Aan 
applicant for a permit to administer deep sedation or general anesthesia OF 
order the administration of general anesthesia by a nurse anesthetist must be 
a licensed dentist in California whe: shall submit a completed "Application for 
General Anesthesia Permit" Form GAP-1 (New 05/2021) to the Board, which 
is hereby incorporated by reference. The application shall be accompanied by 
the application fee set forth in Section 1021. 

(1) Has completed a residency program in general anesthesia of not less 
than one calendar year, that is approved by the board; OF 
(2) Has completed a graduate program in oral and maxillofacial surgery 
which has been approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. 

(c) If the applicant wishes to administer or order the administration of deep 
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sedation or general anesthesia to patients under seven years of age, the 
applicant shall apply for a pediatric endorsement to their general anesthesia 
permit as set forth in Section 1043.8.1 and receive approval from the Board. 

(ed) For the purposes of Section 1647.2 and 1647.3 of the Code, Aan applicant 
for a permit to administer or order the administration of conscious-moderate 
sedation must be a licensed dentist in California whe meets the requirements 
set forth in section 1647.3 of the codeshall submit a completed "Application for 
Moderate Sedation Permit" Form MSP-1 (New 05/2021), which is hereby 
incorporated by reference. The application shall be accompanied by the 
following: 

(1) A completed "Certification of Moderate Sedation Training" Form 
MSP-2 (New 05/2021), which is hereby incorporated by reference; and 

(2) The application fee set forth in Section 1021. 

(e) If the applicant wishes to administer or order the administration of moderate 
sedation to patients under thirteen years of age, the applicant shall apply for a 
pediatric endorsement to their moderate sedation permit as set forth in Section 
1043.8.1 and receive approval from the Board. 

(d) The processing times for a general anesthesia or conscious sedation 
permit are setforth in section 1061. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1646.2, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 1646.1, 1646.9, 1647.2, 1647.3 and 2827, 
Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1043.2. Composition of Onsite Inspection and Evaluation Teams. 

(a) An evaluation team shall consist of two or more persons chosen and 
approved by the bBoard for the first evaluation, or in the event that an 
applicant has failed an evaluation. For each subsequent evaluation, only 
one evaluator shall be required. 

(b) The evaluators must meet one of the criteria in subdivision (b) of section 
1043.1 the Application for General Anesthesia Permit (Form GAP-1 New 
05/2021) for general anesthesia or the criteria in sSection 1647.3 of the Code 
for conscious-moderate sedation and must have utilized general anesthesia, 
deep sedation, or conscious-moderate sedation, whichever is applicable, in a 
dental practice setting for a minimum of three years immediately preceding 
their application to be an evaluator, exclusive of any general anesthesia, deep 
sedation, or conscious-moderate sedation training. 

(c) At least one of the evaluators must have experience in evaluation of 
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dentists administering general anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious 
moderate sedation. At least one member of the team must have substantial 
experience in the administration of the method of delivery of general 
anesthesia, deep sedation, or moderate sedation used by the dentist being 
evaluated. 

(d) Evaluators shall possess a current, active, and unrestricted license from 
the Board or the Medical Board of California for applicants qualifying under 
Section 1646.9 of the Code. For purposes of this section, "unrestricted" means 
not subject to any disciplinary action such as revocation, suspension, or 
probation. 

(de) The bBoard may appoint a licensee member of the bBoard to serve as a 
consultant at any evaluation. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1646.4, and 1647.7, and 1646.9, Business and 
Professions Code. 

$ 1043.3. Onsite Inspections. 

All offices in which general anesthesia, deep sedation, or consciousmoderate 
sedation is conducted under the terms of this article shall, unless otherwise 
indicated, meet the standards set forth below. In addition. an office may in the 
discretion of the bBoard be required to undergo an onsite inspection. For the 
applicant who administers in both an outpatient setting and at an accredited 
facility, the onsite inspection must be conducted in an outpatient setting. The 
evaluation of an office shall consist of three parts: 

(a) Office Facilities and Equipment. All equipment shall be maintained, tested, 
and inspected according to the manufacturers' specifications. In an office 
where anesthesia services are to be provided to pediatric patients, the 
required equipment, medication, and resuscitative capabilities shall be 
appropriately sized for use on a pediatric population. The following office 
facilities and equipment shall be available-and shall be maintained in good 
operating condition: 

(1) An operating theatre large enough to adequately accommodate the 
patient on a table or in an operating chair and permit an operating team 
consisting of at least three individuals to freely move about the patient. 

(2) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so 
the operating team can maintain the airway, quickly alter patient position in 
an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the management of 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

(3) A lighting system which is adequate to permit evaluation of the patient's 
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skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system which is battery 
powered and of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation 
underway at the time of general power failure. 

(4) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal 
cavities. A backup suction device which can operate at the time of general 
power failure must also be available. 

(5) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face masks and 
appropriate connectors that is capable of allowing the administering of 
greater than 90% oxygen at a 10 liter/minute flow at least sixty minutes (650 
liter "E" cylinder) to the patient under positive pressure, together with an 
adequate backup system which can operate at the time of general power 
failure. 

(6) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction, 
and electrical outlets. The recovery area can be the operating theatre. 

(7) Ancillary equipment: 
(A) Laryngoscope complete with adequate selection of blades and spare 
batteries and bulb. (This equipment is not required for consciousmoderate 
sedation.) 
(R) Endotracheal tubes and appropriate connectors. (This equipment is 
not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 
(C) Emergency airway equipment (oral airways, laryngeal mask airways 
or combitubes, cricothyrotomy device). 
(D) Tonsillar or pharyngeal type suction tip adaptable to all office outlets. 
(E) Endotracheal tube forceps. (This equipment is not required for 
consciousmoderate sedation.) 
(F) Sphygmomanometer and stethoscope. 
(G) Electrocardioscope and defibrillator. (This equipment is not required 
for consciousmoderate sedation.) 
(H) Adequate equipment for the establishment of an intravenous infusion. 
(1) Precordial/pretracheal stethoscope. 
(J) Pulse oximeter. 
(K) Capnograph and temperature device. A capnograph and temperature 
measuring device are required for the intubated patient receiving general 
anesthesia. (The equipment is not required for conscious sedation.) 
Patients receiving moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 
anesthesia shall have ventilation continuously monitored during the 
procedure by two of the following three methods: 

(i) Auscultation of breath sounds using a precordial stethoscope. 

(i) Monitoring for the presence of exhaled carbon dioxide with 
capnography 
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(i) Verbal communication with a patient under moderate sedation. This 
method shall not be used for a patient under deep sedation or general 
anesthesia. 

(b) Records. The following records shall be maintained: 

(1) Adequate medical history and physical evaluation records updated prior 
to each administration of general anesthesia or conscious sedation 
moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia. Such records 
shall include, but are not limited to the recording of the age, sex, weight, 
physical status (American Society of Anesthesiologists Classification), 
medication use, any known or suspected medically compromising 
conditions, rationale for sedation of the patient, and visual examination of 
the airway, and for general anesthesia or deep sedation only, auscultation of 
the heart and lungs as medically required. 

(2) Moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia-General 
Anesthesia and/or conscious sedation records, which shall include a time-
oriented record with preoperative, multiple interaoperativeintraoperative, and 
postoperative pulse oximetry (every 5 minutes intraoperatively and every 15 
minutes postoperatively for general anesthesia or deep sedation) and blood 
pressure and pulse readings, (both every 5 minutes intraoperatively for 
general anosthesia or deep sedation), drugs, amounts administered and 
time administered, length of the procedure, any complications of anesthesia 
or sedation and a statement of the patient's condition at time of discharge. 

(3) Records shall include the category of the provider responsible for 
sedation oversight, the category of the provider delivering sedation, the 
category of the provider monitoring the patient during sedation, and whether 
the person supervising the sedation performed one or more of the 
procedures. Categories of providers are defined in Section 1680(z)(3) of the 
Code. 

(34) Written informed consent of the patient or, as appropriate, patient's 
conservator, or the informed consent of a person authorized to give such 
consent for the patient, or if the patient is a minor, his or her parent or 
guardian, pursuant to Section 1682(e) of the Code. 

(c) Drugs. Emergency drugs of the following types shall be available: 

(1) Epinephrine 
(2) Vasopressor (other than epinephrine) 
(3) Bronchodilator 
(4) Muscle relaxant (This is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 
(5) Intravenous medication for treatment of cardiopulmonary arrest (This is 
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not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 
(6) Appropriate drug antagonist 
(7) Antihistaminec 
(8) Anticholinergic 
(9) Antiarrhythmic (This is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 
(10) Coronary artery vasodilator 
(11) Antihypertensive (This is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 
(12) Anticonvulsant 
(13) Oxygen 
(14) 50% dextrose or other antihypoglycemic 

(d) Prior to an onsite inspection and evaluation, the dentist shall provide a 
complete list of his/her emergency medications to the evaluator. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1646.2, 1646.3, 1647.3 and 1647.6, Business and 
Professions Code. 

$ 1043.4. Evaluation Standards. 

The evaluation of an applicant for a permit shall consist of two parts: 

(a) Demonstration of a General Anesthesia or Docp Sedation. A dental 
procedure utilizing general anesthesia or deep sedation administered by the 
applicant must be observed and evaluated. Any anesthesia or deep sedation 
technique that is routinely employed can be demonstrated. The patient shall be 
monitored while anesthetized or sedated and during recovery from anesthesia 
or sedation in the manner prescribed by sSection 1682 of the Code. 

The applicant for a permit must demonstrate that he or she has knowledge of 
the uses of the equipment required by sSection 1043.3(a) and is capable of 
using that equipment. 

(b) Demonstration of a ConsciousModerate Sedation. A dental procedure 
utilizing consciousmoderate sedation administered by the applicant must be 
observed and evaluated. Any consciousmoderate sedation technique that is 
routinely employed can be demonstrated. The patient shall be monitored while 
sedated and during recovery from sedation in the manner prescribed by 
sSection 1682 of the Code. The applicant for a permit must demonstrate that 
he or she has knowledge of the uses of the equipment required by sSection 
1043.3(a) and is capable of using that equipment. 

(c) Simulated Emergencies. Knowledge of and a method of treatment must be 
physically demonstrated by the dentist and his or her operating team for the 
following emergencies: 
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(1) Airway obstruction 
(2) Bronchospasm 
(3) Emesis and aspiration of foreign material under anesthesia 
(4) Angina pectoris 
(5) Myocardial infarction 
(6) Hypotension 
(7) Hypertension 
(8) Cardiac arrest 
(9) Allergic reaction 
(10) Convulsions 
(11) Hypoglycemia 
(12) Syncope 
(13) Respiratory depression 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1646.4 and 1647.7, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1043.5. Cancellation of an Onsite Inspection and Evaluation. 

(a) Whenever a consciousmoderate sedation or general anesthesia permittee 
permit holder or applicant cancels an onsite inspection and evaluation, that 
permittee permit holder or applicant shall provide the bBoard with a written 
reason for the cancellation. If the first cancellation occurs 14 calendar days or 
more before the date of the scheduled inspection and evaluation. the fee paid 
shall be applied toward the next scheduled inspection and evaluation. If the 
cancellation occurs less than 14 calendar days before the scheduled inspection 
and evaluation, the fee shall be forfeited and a new fee shall be paid before the 
inspection and evaluation will be rescheduled. 

(b) If a permittee permit holder or applicant cancels the inspection and 
evaluation for a second time, all fees are forfeited and the permit shall be 
automatically suspended or denied unless a new fee has been paid and an 
onsite inspection and evaluation has been completed within 30 calendar days 
from the date of the second cancellation. 

(c) If a permittee permit holder or applicant cancels the scheduled onsite 
inspection and evaluation for a third time, all fees are forfeited and that 
cancellation shall be deemed a refusal to submit to an inspection and 
evaluation, and in accordance with Sections 1646.4 and 1647.7 of the Code, 
the permit shall be automatically revoked or denied as of the date of the third 
cancellation. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1646.4 and 1646.7, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1043.6. Grading of Inspection and Evaluation. 
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(a) The inspection and evaluation shall be graded on a pass/fail system. The 
grade shall be determined by the bBoard, based upon a recommendation of 
the evaluators, who shall make independent evaluations and 
recommendations. 

(b) The evaluation team shall recommend one of the following grades: 

(1) Passed Evaluation. Permit holder or applicant met all required 
components of the onsite inspection and evaluation, as provided in Sections 
1043.3 and 1043.4; or 

(2) Conditional Approval for failing to have appropriate equipment, proper 
documentation of controlled substances, or proper recordkeeping as 
provided in Section 1043.3(b). "Conditional approval" means the permit 
holder or applicant must submit written proof of correcting the deficiencies to 
the Board within fifteen (15) days of receiving notice of the deficiencies by 
showing the action taken by the permit holder or applicant, including 
retention of proper equipment or documentation, to correct the deficiencies 
before the permit holder or applicant will be considered to have passed the 
evaluation and before a permit is issued; or 

(3) Failed Simulated Emergency. Permit holder or applicant failed one or 
more simulated emergency scenario(s) described in Section 1043.4(c), as 
required for the on-site inspection and evaluation; or 

(4) Failed Evaluation. Permit holder or applicant failed due to multiple 
deficient components required for the on-site inspection and evaluation or 
failed to comply with the conditions for issuance of a conditional approval, as 
provided in subsection (b)(2) of this section. 

(bc) An applicant who has failed the evaluation may appeal that decision to the 
board and request a reevaluation. This appeal must be made in writing to the 
board stating the grounds for the appeal within thirty (30) days after the date on 
which the evaluation results were mailed. However, pPursuant to sSections 
1646.4(a), 1646.9(d) and 1647.7(a) of the Code, the permit of any permit 
holder or applicant who has failed an onsite inspection and evaluation shall be 
automatically suspended 30 days after the date on which the bBoard notifies 
the applicant of the failure unless, within that time period, the permit holder or 
applicant has retaken and passed an onsite inspection and evaluation. Upon 
receipt of the appeal request and an additional evaluation fee, the board will 
schedule an independent reevaluation of the appellant. If an permit holder or 
applicant has failed two evaluations, the bBoard will decide the matter and may 
grant or deny a permit or request further evaluation of the appellant with a 
board member or other board appointed representative being present. The 
permit holder or applicant must successfully complete remedial education in a 
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subject within the scope of the onsite inspection and evaluation as determined 
by the Board prior to being reevaluated if a third onsite inspection and 
evaluation is granted or prior to the issuance of a new permit 

(ed) An permit holder or applicant who has failed the inspection and evaluation 
solely on the basis of a failure to demonstrate knowledge and ability in 
recognition and treatment of any or all of the simulated emergencies may be 
reevaluated only on the simulated emergencies provided the reevaluation is 
within 30 days. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1646.4, 1646.9 and 1647.7, Business and Professions 
Code. 

$ 1043.7. Manner of Giving Notice of Evaluation. 

Upon receipt of either an application for a general anesthesia permit or a 
consciousmoderate sedation permit or where the bBoard determines in any 
other case that there shall be an onsite inspection and evaluation, the bBoard 
shall determine the date and time of such evaluation and shall so inform the 
dentist. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1646.4 and 1647.7, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1043.8. Renewal. 

A general anesthesia or consciousmoderate sedation permit shall be renewed 
biennially upon certification by the permit holder that he/she has met all 
applicable continuing education requirements in Section 1017 and continuing 
competency requirements for the particular permit in Section 1017.1, payment 
of the required fee in Section 1021 and if required, successful completion of an 
onsite inspection and evaluation. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1646.1, 1646.2, 1646.5, 1646.6, 1647.2, 1647.3, 1647.5 
and 1647.8, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1043.8.1. Application for Pediatric Endorsement. 

(a) For the purposes of Sections 1646.2(c) and 1646.9 of the Code, submission 
of a completed application to the Board for a pediatric endorsement for a 
general anesthesia permit shall include the following information and 
documents: 

(1) Name, mailing address or address of record, physical address, dental or 
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medical license number, and applicant's general anesthesia permit number, 
if any; 

(2) A certificate of completion or other documentary evidence showing 
completion of a residency training program as required by Section 1646.2 of 
the Code for a dental licensee or Section 1646.9 of the Code for a physician 
or surgeon licensee; 

(3) A completed Form PE-1 (New 05/2021) "Documentation of Deep 
Sedation and General Anesthesia or Moderate Sedation Cases for Pediatric 
Endorsement," which is hereby incorporated by reference; 

(4) A certificate or other documentary evidence of current certification in 
Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) and Pediatric Advanced Life Support 
(PALS) as provided by the American Red Cross (ARC), the American Heart 
Association (AHA), or the American Safety and Health Institute (ASHI); 

(5) An application fee as set forth in Section 1021; and, 

(6) A certification by the applicant, under penalty of perjury, that the 
information on the application is true and correct. 

(b) For the purpose of Section 1647.3(d) of the Code, submission of a 
completed application to the Board for a pediatric endorsement for a moderate 
sedation permit for patients under thirteen (13) years of age shall include the 
following information and documents: 

(1) Name, mailing address or address of record, physical address, dental 
license number, and applicant's moderate sedation permit number, if any; 

(2) A certificate of completion or other documentary evidence showing 
completion of a residency training program as required by Section 1647.3 of 
the Code; 

(3) A completed Form PE-1 (New 05/2021); 

(4) A certificate or other documentary evidence of current certification in 
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) as provided by the American Red 
Cross (ARC), the American Heart Association (AHA), or the American Safety 
and Health Institute (ASHI); 

(5) An application fee as set forth in Section 1021; and, 

(6) A certification by the applicant, under penalty of perjury, that the 
information on the application is true and correct 
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(c) Upon request by the Board in any investigation of the information provided 
on Form PE-1 (New 05/2021), applicants shall also provide documentation or 
patient records for each deep sedation and general anesthesia or moderate 
sedation pediatric case listed on Form PE-1, including preoperative evaluation, 
medical history, monitoring of vital signs throughout the procedure, and 
condition at discharge. 

(d) Applicants shall submit legible copies of the information required by this 
section with pediatric patient identifying information redacted. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 27, 108, 1611.5, 1646.1. 1646.2, 1647.2, 1647.3 and 
1646.9, Business and Professions Code. 

Article 5.1. Pediatric Minimal Sedation 

$ 1043.9. Definitions. 

For purposes of this Article, the terms set forth below shall be defined as 
follows: 

(a) "Another sedation permit" means a current permit for deep sedation or 
general anesthesia, a current moderate sedation permit with pediatric 
endorsement, or a current permit described in subdivision (a)(2) of Section 
1647.31 of the Code. 

(b) "Outpatient basis" as used in Section 1647.31 of the Code means all 
settings where pediatric minimal sedation is being provided to dental patients 
with the exception of a treatment facility that is accredited by the Joint 
Commission or licensed by the California Department of Public Health as a 
"general acute care hospital" as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 1250 of 
the Health and Safety Code. 

(c) "Pediatric patient" means a patient under 13 years of age. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Section 1647.31, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1043.9.1. Requirements: Standards. 

(a) A licensed dentist who desires to administer or order the administration of 
pediatric minimal sedation on an outpatient basis is not required to apply to the 
Board for a pediatric minimal sedation permit if they possess another sedation 
permit from the Board. 

(b) For the purposes of Sections 1647.31 and 1647.32 of the Code, an 
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applicant for a pediatric minimal sedation permit shall submit a completed 
"Application for Pediatric Minimal Sedation Permit" Form PMSP-1 (New 
05/2021), which is hereby incorporated by reference, to the Board and shall be 
accompanied by the applicable fee as set by Section 1021. The application 
shall be accompanied by a "Certification of Pediatric Minimal Sedation 
Training" Form PMSP-2 (New 05/2021), which is hereby incorporated by 
reference. 

(c) The office in which the pediatric minimal sedation is administered shall meet 
the facilities and equipment standards set forth in Section 1043.9.2 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1647.31 and 1647.32, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1043.9.2. Facility and Equipment Standards. 

All equipment shall be maintained, tested, and inspected according to the 
manufacturers' specifications. A facility in which minimal sedation is 
administered to pediatric patients pursuant to this article shall meet the 
standards set forth herein. In an office where minimal sedation is to be 
provided to pediatric patients, the required equipment, medication, and 
resuscitative capabilities shall be appropriately sized for use on a pediatric 
population. 

(a) Facility and Equipment. A facility shall possess: 

(1) An operatory large enough to adequately accommodate the pediatric 
patient, and permit a team consisting of at least three individuals to freely 
move about the patient. 

(2) A table or dental chair that permits the patient to be positioned so the 
attending team can maintain the airway, quickly alter a patient's position in 
an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the management of 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

(3) A lighting system adequate to permit evaluation of the pediatric patient's 
skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system that is battery powered 
and of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any treatment that may be 
underway at the time of a general power failure. 

(4) An appropriate functional suctioning device that permits aspiration of the 
oral and pharyngeal cavities. A backup suction device that can function at 
the time of general power failure must also be available. 

(5) A positive-pressure oxygen delivery system capable of administering 
greater than 90% oxygen at a 10 liter/minute flow for at least sixty minutes 
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(650 liter "E" cylinder), even in the event of a general power failure. All 
equipment must be appropriate for use on and capable of accommodating 
the pediatric patients being seen at the permit holder's office. 

(6) Inhalation sedation equipment. If used in conjunction with oral sedation, it 
must have the capacity for delivering 100%, and never less than 25% 
oxygen concentration at a flow rate appropriate for a pediatric patient's size 
and have a fail-safe system. The equipment must be maintained and 
checked for accuracy at least annually. 

(b) An emergency cart or kit available and readily accessible that shall include 
the necessary and appropriate emergency drugs and size-appropriate 
equipment to resuscitate a nonbreathing and unconscious pediatric patient and 
provide continuous support while the pediatric patient is transported to a 
medical facility. Emergency drugs of the following types shall be available: 

(1) Epinephrine, 
(2) Bronchodilator, 
(3) Appropriate drug antagonists, 
(4) Antihistaminec, 
(5) Anticholinergic. 
(6) Anticonvulsant, 
(7) Oxygen, and 
(8) Dextrose or other antihypoglycemic. 

(c) Ancillary equipment must include the following: 

(1) Oral airways capable of accommodating pediatric patients of all sizes. 
(2) A sphygmomanometer with cuffs of appropriate size for pediatric patients 
of all sizes, 
(3) A precordial/pretracheal stethoscope. 
(4) A pulse oximeter. 

(d) A facility must maintain the following records: 

(1) An adequate medical history and physical evaluation, updated prior to 
each administration of pediatric minimal sedation. Such records shall 
include, but are not limited to, an assessment including an evaluation of the 
airway, the age, sex, weight, physical status (American Society of 
Anesthesiologists Classification), and rationale for sedation of the pediatric 
patient and written informed consent of the parent or legal guardian of the 
pediatric patient. 

(2) Pediatric minimal sedation records shall include baseline vital signs. If 
obtaining baseline vital signs is prevented by the pediatric patient's physical 
resistance or emotional condition, the reason or reasons must be 
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documented. The records shall also include intermittent quantitative 
monitoring and recording of oxygen saturation, heart and respiratory rates, 
blood pressure as appropriate for specific techniques, the name, dose and 
time of administration of all drugs administered including local and inhalation 
anesthetics, the length of the procedure, any complications of oral sedation, 
and a statement of the pediatric patient's condition at the time of discharge. 

(3) Documentation that all emergency equipment is checked to determine 
operability and safety for the patient consistent with the manufacturer's 
recommendation. 

(4) Documentation that all drugs maintained at the facility are checked at 
least once a quarter for expired drugs and an adequate supply of drugs 
based upon patient demographics for the patient population served, which 
includes the number of patients served at the facility and the age of patients 
served at the facility. For the purposes of compliance with this subsection, 
documentation of adequate supply shall include a written explanation of how 
the adequate supply was calculated by the facility. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614. Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1647.30 and 1647.32, Business and Professions Code. 

Article 5.5. Oral Conscious Sedation 

$ 1044. Definitions. 

For purposes of this Article and of Articles 2.85-and-2.86, of Chapter 4, of 
Division 2 of the Code, the terms set forth below shall be defined as follows: 

(a) "Outpatient basis" means "outpatient setting" as used in Health and Safety 
Code Sections 1248 and 1248.1 and means all settings where oral conscious 

sedation is being provided to dental patients with the exception of a treatment 
facility which-that is accredited by the Joint Commission on Health Care 
Organizations or licensed by the California Department of Public Health 
Services as a "general acute care hospital" as defined in subdivision (a) of 
Section 1250 of the Health and Safety Code. 

(b) A patient under oral conscious sedation shall be considered "sedated" for 
that period of time beginning with the administration of oral conscious sedation 
and continuing until that time when the dental procedures have been 
completed, and after the maximum effects of all agents have been experienced 
by the patient. 

(c) "Age-appropriate" means under 13 years of age for the oral conscious 
sedation certificate for minor patients and 13 years or older for the oral 
conscious sedation certificate for adult patients. 
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(d) For the purposes of adult oral conscious sedation, administering a drug to a 
patient in a dose that exceeds the maximum recommended dose as 
established and listed by the United States Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA) on the drug's FDA-approved professional labeling insert or packaging 
information shall be considered to exceed the single maximum dose that can 
be prescribed for home use. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1647.10 and 1647.18, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 1044.1. Requirements, Standards. 

An applicant for an oral conscious sedation certificate shall submit to the Board 
either an "Application for Oral Conscious Sedation for Minors Certificate" OCS-
1 (Rev. 01/05) or an completed "Application for Adult Oral Conscious Sedation 
Certificate" OCS-3 (Rev. 03/07) "Application for Use of Oral Conscious 
Sedation on Adult Patients" Form OCS-C (New 05/2021), which is hereby 
incorporated by reference, and shall be accompanied by the applicable fee as 
set by Section 1021. A dentist is not required to possess an oral conscious 
sedation certificate if the oral conscious sedation administered to his or her 
patient is directly administered and monitored by a dentist who possesses a 
general anesthesia permit, a consciousmoderate sedation permit, or an-oral 
conseisue Godation certificate for a minor patient or is administered by a 
licensed physician and surgeon who possesses a general anesthesia permit. A 
dentist who only possesses an adult oral conscious sedation certificate may not 
provide oral conscious sedation to-a minor patient. Notwithstanding the above, 
the office in which the oral conscious sedation is administered shall meet the 
facilities and equipment standards set forth in Section 1044.5. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1647.10, 1647.11, 1647.18 and 1647.19, Business and 
Professions Code. 

$ 1044.2. Board Approved Programs. 

(a) For purposes of Section 1647.12(b) and Section 1647.20(b) of the Code, a 
post-doctoral program in periodontics, a general practice residency or 
advanced education in a general dentistry post-doctoral program accredited by 
the Commission on Dental Accreditation that meets the didactic and clinical 
requirements of Section 1044.3 shall be deemed to be approved by the 
Bboard. A dentist must submit a copy of his or her certificate of completion 
from a Bboard approved educational program as defined in Section 1044.3 or 
diploma from a recognized dental residency or post-doctoral program as 
defined in this section. 
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Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1647.10, 1647.12, 1617.18 and 1647.20, Business and 
Professions Code. 

$ 1044.3. Board Approved Education. 

(a) The goal of an instructional program in oral medications and sedation is to 
provide the educational opportunity for dentists to receive training in the 
techniques and skills required to safely and effectively administer oral 
pharmacologic agents, alone or in combination with nitrous oxide-oxygen 
inhalation, for the purpose of obtaining conscious sedation in the miner or adult 
dental patient. 

(b) The educational program shall be approved by the Bboard and shall consist 
of satisfactory completion of at least 25 hours of instruction including a clinical 
component utilizing at least one age-appropriate patient. The program shall be 
directed solely toward either the administration of oral conscious sedation to 
adult patients or the administration of oral conscious sedation to minor patients. 
The program shall include but not be limited to, the following areas: 

(1) Historical, philosophical, and legal aspects of age-appropriate oral 
conscious sedation of dental patients, including the Business-and 
Professions-Code. 
(2) Indications and contraindications for the utilization of age-appropriate 
oral conscious sedation in dental patients. 
(3) Patient evaluation and selection through a review of the medical history, 

physical assessment, and medical consultation. 
(4) Definitions and characteristics for levels of sedation achieved with oral 
sedative agents, with special emphasis on the distinctions between 
consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, and general anesthesia as 
recognized by such organizations as the American Dental Association and 
the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and the bBoard 
(5) Review of respiratory and circulatory physiology and related anatomy, 
with special emphasis on, and clinical experience in, establishing and 
maintaining an age-appropriate patent airway in the patient. 
(6) Pharmacology of agents used in contemporary oral conscious sedation 
techniques, including drug interactions, incompatibilityes and side effects and 
adverse reactions. 
(7) Indications, contraindications, and technique considerations in the use of 
different contemporary age-appropriate oral conscious sedation modalities 
for dental patients. 
(8) Patient monitoring during all stages of the procedure by clinical 
observation and appropriate mechanical devices for responsiveness, airway 
patency, and recording of vital signs 
(9) Importance of and techniques for maintaining proper documentation of 
the procedure, including aspects of informed consent, pre- and post-
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operative instructions, dietary considerations, preoperative health 
evaluation, rationale for the procedure, baseline and intermittent vital signs, 
a detailed record of all oral and inhalation drugs administered, the patient 
response to the drugs, and recovery and discharge criteria. 
(10) Prevention, recognition and management of complications and life-
threatening situations that may arise during age-appropriate oral conscious 
sedation of the dental patient, including the principles of advanced life 
support. 

(c) A provider of a course in oral medications and sedation intending to meet 
the requirements of this section shall submit to the Bboard an application, on 
fForm OCS-6 (FRev. 07/07), "Application for Course Approval for Oral 
Conscious Sedation," incorporated herein by reference. The bBoard may 
approve or deny approval of any such course. Approval shall be granted after 
an evaluation of all components of the course has been performed and such 
evaluation indicates that the course meets the requirements of this section. 

(d) Approval by the bBoard of a course in oral medications and sedation shall 
remain in effect for a period of twenty-four months, unless withdrawn sooner, 
after which a new application for approval must be submitted to the Bboard. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1647.10, 1647.12 and-1647.20, Business and Professions 
Code. 

$ 1044.5. Facility and Equipment Standards. 

All equipment shall be maintained, tested, and inspected according to the 
manufacturers' specifications. A facility in which oral conscious sedation is 
administered to patients pursuant to this article shall also meet the standards 
set forth below. 

(a) Facility and Equipment. 

(1) An operatory large enough to adequately accommodate the patient and 
permit a team consisting of at least three individuals to freely move about 
the patient. 
(2) A table or dental chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the 
attending team can maintain the airway, quickly alter patient position in an 
emergency, and provide a firm platform for the management of 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 
3) A lighting system which is adequate to permit evaluation of the patient's 
skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system which is battery 
powered and of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any treatment 
which may be underway at the time of a general power failure. 
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(4) An appropriate functional suctioning device that permits aspiration of the 
oral and pharyngeal cavities. A backup suction device that can function at 
the time of general power failure must also be available. 
(5) A positive-pressure oxygen delivery system capable of administering 
greater than 90% oxygen at a 10 liter/minute flow for at least sixty minutes 
(650 liter "E" cylinder), even in the event of a general power failure. All 
equipment must be age-appropriate and capable of accommodating the 
patients being seen at the permit -holder's office. 
(6) Inhalation sedation equipment, if used in conjunction with oral sedation, 
must have the capacity for delivering 100%, and never less than 25%, 
oxygen concentration at a flow rate appropriate for an age appropriate 
patient's size, and have a fail-safe system. The equipment must be 
maintained and checked for accuracy at least annually. 

(b) Ancillary equipment, which must include the following; and be maintained in 
good condition: 

(1) Age-appropriate oral airways capable of accommodating patients of all 
sizes. 
(2) An age-appropriate sphygmomanometer with cuffs of appropriate size for 
patients of all sizes. 
(3) A precordial/pretracheal stethoscope. 
(4) A pulse oximeter. 

(c) The following records shall be maintained: 

(1) An adequate medical history and physical evaluation, updated prior to 
each administration of oral conscious sedation. Such records shall include, 
but are not limited to, an assessment including at least visual examination of 
the airway, the age, sex, weight, physical status (American Society of 
Anesthesiologists Classification), and rationale for sedation of the minor 
patient as well as written informed consent of the patient or, as appropriate, 
patient's conservator, or the informed consent of a person authorized to give 
such consent for the patient-parent or legal guardian of the patient. 

(2) Oral conscious sedation records shall include baseline vital signs. If 
obtaining baseline vital signs is prevented by the patient's physical 
resistance or emotional condition, the reason or reasons must be 
documented. The records shall also include intermittent quantitative 
monitoring and recording of oxygen saturation, heart and respiratory rates, 
blood pressure as appropriate for specific techniques, the name, dose and 
time of administration of all drugs administered including local and inhalation 
anesthetics, the length of the procedure, any complications of oral sedation, 
and a statement of the patient's condition at the time of discharge. 

(d) An emergency cart or kit shall be available and readily accessible and shall 
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include the necessary and appropriate drugs and age- and size-appropriate 
equipment to resuscitate a nonbreathing and unconscious patient and provide 
continuous support while the patient is transported to a medical facility. There 
must be documentation showing that all emergency equipment and drugs are 
checked and maintained on a prudent and regularly scheduled basis. 
Emergency drugs of the following types shall be available: 

(1) Epinephrine 
(2) Bronchodilator 
(3) Appropriate drug antagonists 
(4) Antihistaminec 
(5) Anticholinergic 
(6) Anticonvulsant 
(7) Oxygen 
(8) Dextrose or other antihypoglycemic 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1647.10, 1647.16, 1647.22 and 1647.24, Business and 
Professions Code. 

Chapter 3. Dental Auxiliaries 

Article 2. Educational Programs 

$ 1070.8. Approval of Dental Sedation Assistant Permit Courses. 

In addition to the requirements of Sections 1070 and 1070.1, the following 
criteria shall be met by a dental sedation assistant permit course to secure and 
maintain approval by the Board. As used in this Ssection, the following 
definitions apply: "IV" means intravenous, "AED" means automated external 
defibrillator, "CO2" means carbon dioxide, and "ECG" and "EKG" both mean 
electrocardiogram. 

(a)(1) The course director, designated faculty member, or instructional staff 
member may, in lieu of a license issued by the Board, possess a valid, active, 
and current license issued in California as a physician and surgeon. 

(2) The course director, designated faculty member, or instructional staff 
member responsible for clinical evaluation shall have completed a two-hour 
methodology course in clinical evaluation prior to conducting clinical 
evaluations of students. 

(3) Clinical instruction shall be given under direct supervision of the course 
director, designated faculty member, or instructional staff member who shall 
be the holder of a valid, active, and current general anesthesia or 
consciousmoderate sedation permit issued by the Board. Evaluation of the 
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condition of a sedated patient shall remain the responsibility of the director, 
designated faculty member, or instructional staff member authorized to 
administer consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 
anesthesia, who shall be at the patient's chairside while consciousmoderate 
sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia is being administered. 

(b) The course shall be of a sufficient duration for the student to develop 
minimum competence in all of the duties that dental sedation assistant 
permitholders are authorized to perform, but in no event less than 110 hours, 
including at least 40 hours of didactic instruction, at least 32 hours of combined 
laboratory and preclinical instruction, and at least 38 hours of clinical 
instruction. Clinical instruction shall require completion of all of the tasks 
described in subdivisionssubsections (j), (k), (1), (m), and (n) of this Section-
during no less than twenty (20) supervised cases utilizing consciousmoderate 
sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia. 

(c) The following are minimum requirements for equipment and armamentaria: 

(1) One pulse oximeter for each six students; one AED or AED trainer; one 
capnograph or teaching device for monitoring of end tidal CO2; blood 
pressure cuff and stethoscope for each six students; one pretracheal 
stethoscope for each six students; one electrocardiogram machine, one 
automatic blood pressure/pulse measuring system/machine, and one 
oxygen delivery system including oxygen tank; one IV start kit for each 
student; one venous access device kit for each student; IV equipment and 
supplies for IV infusions including hanging device infusion containers and 
tubing for each six students; one sharps container for each six students; 
packaged syringes, needles, needleless devices, practice fluid ampules and 
vials for each student; stopwatch or timer with second hand for each six 
students; one heart/lung sounds mannequin or teaching device; tonsillar or 
pharyngeal suction tip, endotracheal tube forceps, endotracheal tube and 
appropriate connectors, suction equipment for aspiration of oral and 
pharyngeal cavities, and laryngoscope in the ratio of at least one for each six 
students; any other monitoring or emergency equipment required by Cal. 
Code Regs., Title 16,-Section 1043 for the administration of general 
anesthesia, deep sedation, or consciousmoderate sedation; and a selection 
of instruments and supplemental armamentaria for all of the procedures that 
dental sedation assistant permitholders are authorized to perform according 
to Business-and Professions Code Section 1750.5 of the Code. 

(2) Each operatory used for preclinical or clinical training shall contain either 
a surgery table or a power-operated chair for treating patients in a supine 
position, an irrigation system or sterile water delivery system as they pertain 
to the specific practice, and all other equipment and armamentarium 
required to instruct in the duties that dental sedation assistant permitholders 
are authorized to perform according to Business and Professions Code 
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Section 1750.5 of the Code. 

(3) All students, faculty, and staff involved in the direct provision of patient 
care shall be certified in basic life support procedures, including the use of 
an automatic electronic defibrillator. 

(d) Areas of instruction shall include, at a minimum, the instruction specified in 
subdivisionssubsections (e) to (n), inclusive, as they relate to the duties that 
dental sedation assistant permitholders are authorized to perform. 

(e) General didactic instruction shall contain: 

(1) Patient evaluation and selection factors through review of medical 
history, physical assessment, and medical consultation. 
(2) Characteristics of anatomy and physiology of the circulatory, 
cardiovascular, and respiratory systems, and the central and peripheral 
nervous system. 
(3) Characteristics of anxiety management related to the surgical patient, 
relatives, and escorts, and characteristics of anxiety and pain reduction 
techniques. 
(4) Overview of the classification of drugs used by patients for cardiac 
disease, respiratory disease, hypertension, diabetes, neurological disorders, 
and infectious diseases. 
(5) Overview of techniques and specific drug groups utilized for sedation and 
general anesthesia. 
(6) Definitions and characteristics of levels of sedation achieved with general 
anesthesia and sedative agents, including the distinctions between 
consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, and general anesthesia. 
(7) Overview of patient monitoring during consciousmoderate sedation, deep 
sedation, and general anesthesia. 
8) Prevention, recognition, and management of complications. 
9) Obtaining informed consent. 

(f) With respect to medical emergencies, didactic instruction shall contain: 

(1) An overview of medical emergencies, including, but not limited to, airway 
obstruction, bronchospasm or asthma, laryngospasm, allergic reactions, 
syncope. cardiac arrest. cardiac dysrhythmia, seizure disorders, 
hyperglycemia and hypoglycemia, drug overdose, hyperventilation, acute 
coronary syndrome including angina and myocardial infarction, 
hypertension, hypotension, stroke, aspiration of vomitus, and congestive 
heart failure. 

(2) Laboratory instruction shall include the simulation and response to at 
least the following medical emergencies: airway obstruction, bronchospasm, 
emesis and aspiration of foreign material under anesthesia, angina pectoris, 
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myocardial infarction, hypotension, hypertension, cardiac arrest, allergic 
reaction, convulsions, hypoglycemia, syncope, and respiratory depression. 
Both training mannequins and other students or staff may be used for 
simulation. The student shall demonstrate proficiency in all simulated 
emergencies during training and shall then be eligible to complete a practical 
examination on this Ssection. 

(g) With respect to sedation and the pediatric patient, didactic instruction shall 
contain the following: 

(1) Psychological considerations. 
(2) Patient evaluation and selection factors through review of medical 
history, physical assessment, and medical consultation. 
(3) Definitions and characteristics of levels of sedation achieved with general 
anesthesia and sedative agents, with special emphasis on the distinctions 
between consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, and general 
anesthesia. 
(4) Review of respiratory and circulatory physiology and related anatomy, 
with special emphasis on establishing and maintaining a patient airway. 
(5) Overview of pharmacology agents used in contemporary sedation and 
general anesthesia. 
(6) Patient monitoring. 
(7) Obtaining informed consent. 
(8) Prevention, recognition, and management of complications, including 
principles of basic life support and resuscitation of pediatric patients. 

(h) With respect to physically, mentally, and neurologically compromised 
patients, didactic instruction shall contain the following: an overview of 
characteristics of Alzheimer's disease, autism, cerebral palsy, Down's 
syndrome, mental retardation, multiple sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, 
Parkinson's disease, schizophrenia, and stroke. 

(i) With respect to health history and patient assessment, didactic instruction 
shall include, at a minimum, the recording of the following: 

(1) Age, sex, weight, physical status as defined by the American Society of 
Anesthesiologists Physical Status Classification System, medication use, 
general health, any known or suspected medically compromising conditions, 
rationale for anesthesia or sedation of the patient, visual examination of the 
airway, and auscultation of the heart and lungs as medically required. 
(2) General anesthesia, deep sedation, or consciousmoderate sedation 
records that contain a time-oriented record with preoperative, multiple 
intraoperative, and postoperative pulse oximetry and blood pressure and 
pulse readings, frequency and dose of drug administration, length of 
procedure, complications of anesthesia or sedation, and a statement of the 
patient's condition at time of discharge. 
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(j) With respect to monitoring heart sounds with pretracheal/precordial 
stethoscope and EKG and use of AED: 

(1) Didactic instruction shall contain the following: 
(A) Characteristics of pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 
(B) Review of anatomy and physiology of circulatory system: heart, blood 
vessels, and cardiac cycle as it relates to EKG 
(C) Characteristics of rhythm interpretation and waveform analysis basics. 
(D) Characteristics of manual intermittent and automatic blood pressure 
and pulse assessment. 
(E) Characteristics and use of an AED. 
(F) Procedure for using a pretracheal/precordial stethoscope for 
monitoring of heart sounds. 
(G) Procedure for use and monitoring of the heart with an EKG machine, 
including electrode placement, and the adjustment of such equipment. 
(H) Procedure for using manual and automatic blood 
pressure/pulse/respiration measuring system. 

(2) Preclinical instruction: Utilizing another student or staff person, the 
student shall demonstrate proficiency in each of the following tasks during 
training and shall then be eligible to complete an examination on this 
Ssection. 

(A) Assessment of blood pressure and pulse both manually and utilizing 
an automatic system 
(B) Placement and assessment of an EKG. Instruction shall include the 
adjustment of such equipment. 
(C) Monitoring and assessment of heart sounds with a 
pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 
(D) Use of an AED or AED trainer. 

(3) Clinical instruction: Utilizing patients, the student shall demonstrate 
proficiency in each of the following tasks, under supervision of faculty or 
instructional staff as described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be 
eligible to complete an examination on this Ssection. 

(A) Assessment of blood pressure and pulse both manually and utilizing 
an automatic system. 
(B) Placement and assessment of an EKG. Instruction shall include the 
adjustment of such equipment. 
(C) Monitoring and assessment of heart sounds with a 
pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 

(k) With respect to monitoring lung/respiratory sounds with 
pretracheal/precordial stethoscope and monitoring oxygen saturation end tidal 
CO2 with pulse oximeter and capnograph: 

(1) Didactic instruction shall contain the following: 
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(A) Characteristics of pretracheal/precordial stethoscope, pulse oximeter 
and capnograph for respiration monitoring 
(B) Review of anatomy and physiology of respiratory system to include 
the nose, mouth, pharynx, epiglottis, larynx, trachea, bronchi, bronchioles, 
and alveolus. 
(C) Characteristics of respiratory monitoring/lung sounds: mechanism of 
respiration, composition of respiratory gases, oxygen saturation. 
(D) Characteristics of manual and automatic respiration assessment. 
(E) Procedure for using a pretracheal/precordial stethoscope for 
respiration monitoring. 
(F) Procedure for using and maintaining pulse oximeter for monitoring 
oxygen saturation. 
(G) Procedure for use and maintenance of capnograph. 
(H) Characteristics for monitoring blood and skin color and other related 
factors. 
(1) Procedures and use of an oxygen delivery system. 
(J) Characteristics of airway management to include armamentaria and 
use. 

(2) Preclinical instruction: Utilizing another student or staff person, the 
student shall demonstrate proficiency in each of the following tasks during 
training and shall then be eligible to complete an examination on this 
Ssection. 

(A) Assessment of respiration rates. 
(B) Monitoring and assessment of lung sounds and ventilation with a 
pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 
(C) Monitoring oxygen saturation with a pulse oximeter. 
(D) Use of an oxygen delivery system. 

(3) Clinical instruction: Utilizing patients, the student shall demonstrate 
proficiency in each of the following tasks, under supervision by faculty or 
instructional staff as described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be 
eligible to complete an examination on this Ssection. 

(A) Assessment of respiration rates. 
B) Monitoring and assessment of lung sounds and ventilation with a 
pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 
(C) Monitoring oxygen saturation with a pulse oximeter. 
(D) Use of an oxygen delivery system. 

(1) With respect to drug identification and draw: 
(1) Didactic instruction shall contain: 

(A) Characteristics of syringes and needles: use, types, gauges, lengths, 
and components. 
(B) Characteristics of drug, medication, and fluid storage units: use, type, 
components, identification of label including generic and brand names, 
strength, potential adverse reactions, expiration date, and 
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contraindications. 
(C) Characteristics of drug draw: armamentaria, label verification, ampule 
and vial preparation, and drug withdrawal techniques. 

(2) Laboratory instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in the 
withdrawal of fluids from a vial or ampule in the amount specified by faculty 
or instructional staff and shall then be eligible to complete a practical 
examination. 

(3) Clinical instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in the 
evaluation of vial or container labels for identification of content, dosage, and 
strength and in the withdrawal of fluids from a vial or ampule in the amount 
specified by faculty or instructional staff as described in Section 
1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be eligible to complete an examination on this 
Ssection. 

(m) With respect to adding drugs, medications, and fluids to IV lines: 
(1) Didactic instruction shall contain: 

(A) Characteristics of adding drugs, medications, and fluids to IV lines in 
the presence of a licensed dentist. 
(B) Armamentaria. 
(C) Procedures for adding drugs, medications, and fluids, including 
dosage and frequency. 
(D) Procedures for adding drugs, medications, and fluids by IV bolus. 
(E) Characteristics of patient observation for signs and symptoms of drug 
response. 

(2) Laboratory instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in 
adding fluids to an existing IV line on a venipuncture training arm or in a 
simulated environment, and shall then be eligible to complete a practical 
examination on this Ssection. 

(3) Clinical instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in adding 
fluids to existing IV lines in the presence of course faculty or instructional 
staff as described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be eligible to 
complete an examination on this Ssection. 

(n) With respect to the removal of IV lines: 
(1) Didactic instruction shall include overview and procedures for the 
removal of an IV line. 
(2) Laboratory instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency on a 
venipuncture training arm or in a simulated environment for IV removal, and 
shall then be eligible for a practical examination. 
(3) Clinical instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in 
removing IV lines in the presence of course faculty or instructional staff as 
described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be eligible to complete an 
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examination on this Ssection. 

(o) Each student shall pass a written examination that reflects the curriculum 
content, which may be administered at intervals throughout the course as 
determined by the course director. 

(p) To maintain approval, programs approved prior to the effective date of 
these regulations shall submit to the Board a completed "Notice of Compliance 
with New Requirements for Dental Sedation Assistant Permit Courses (New 
10/10)", hereby incorporated by reference, within ninety (90) days of the 
effective date of these regulations. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1750.4, 1750.5 and 1752.4, Business and Professions 
Code. 
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ADOPT 

GASIFORNIA E ILANESE CONBLAST SERVICES AND HOLISING AGENCY . GAVIN NEWSOM GRAMMA 

DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | www.dbc.ca.gov 

APPLICATION FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT 

FEES For Office Use Only For Office Use Only 

Application Fee: $524.00 
(Must be enclosed with application) 

Rec # 

Fee Pd 

Date 

APPLICATION FEES Cashiered_ 

ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
Entity# 

File # Date Received 

*This application for a permit to administer deep sedation or general anesthesia ("general anesthesia permit") must be 
completed in its entirety or the application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). Attach additional sheets if 
necessary. 
Any material misrepresentation of any information on the application is grounds for denial or subsequent revocation of 
the permit. 
Under Business and Professions Code sections 31 and 494.5, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 

(CDTFA) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay 
your state tax obligation. This application may be denied or your permit may be suspended if you have a state tax 
obligation, the state tax obligation is not paid, and your name appears on the State Board of Equalization, the CDTFA, or 
FTB certified list of 500 largest tax delinquenc 

(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE) 

1. SSN/ITIN: 2. BIRTH DATE (MM/DD/YYYY): 

3. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

4. MAILING ADDRESS (ADDRESS OF RECORD - ADDRESS MAY BE A P.O. BOX): 

5. PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION (PHYSICAL ADDRESS): 

6. EMAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL): 

7. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 

8. FAX NUMBER (OPTIONAL): 

9. DENTAL OR MEDICAL LICENSE NUMBER: 

FORM GAP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 



C 

10. APPLICANT RESIDENCY TRAINING. 

A. FOR DENTAL LICENSEES: 

HAVE YOU COMPLETED A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR A 
RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN ORAL OR MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY ACCREDITED BY THE 
AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION'S COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION? 

PLEASE SUBMIT WITH THIS APPLICATION A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION OR OTHER 
DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING COMPLETION OF ONE OF THE FOLLOWING; 

YES 

NO 

O 

0 

(1) A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN GENERAL ANESTHESIA ACCREDITED BY THE AMERICAN 
DENTAL ASSOCIATION COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION; OR 

(2) A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY ACCREDITED BY 
THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION'S COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION. 

B. FOR PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON LICENSEES: 

HAVE YOU COMPLETED A POSTGRADUATE RESIDENCY TRAINING PROGRAM IN 
ANESTHESIOLOGY THAT IS RECOGNIZED BY THE AMERICAN COUNCIL ON GRADUATE 
MEDICAL EDUCATION? 

IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO THIS QUESTION, YOU ARE ALSO REQUIRED TO SUBMIT A 
COPY OF THIS COMPLETED APPLICATION TO THE MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA SO 
THAT THE DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA MAY VERIFY WITH THAT AGENCY THAT YOU 
HAVE COMPLETED THE REQUIRED TRAINING (BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
SECTION 2079). 

YES 

NO 0 

11. IN ADDITION TO A GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT, ARE YOU APPLYING FOR A PEDIATRIC 
ENDORSEMENT TO ADMINISTER DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA TO A PATIENT 
UNDER 7? 

IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO THIS QUESTION, YOU MUST COMPLETE A SEPARATE 
APPLICATION FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT AND MEET THE REQUIREMENTS IN SECTION 
1043.8.1 OF TITLE 16 OF THE CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. YOU MAY APPLY FOR A 
PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT SIMULTANEOUSLY BY SUBMITTING BOTH APPLICATIONS AT THE 
SAME TIME. YOU MAY ALSO APPLY SEPARATELY FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT AT A 
LATER DATE BY COMPLETING THE APPLICATION AND MEETING THE REQUIREMENTS IN 
SECTION 1043.8.1. 

YES 

NO 00 

NOTICE: PLEASE SEE ATTACHED MONITORING REQUIREMENTS IN BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONS CODE, SECTIONS 1646.1 AND 1646.2, AND CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS, 
TITLE 16, SECTION 1043.0.1. 

PLEASE CHECK THIS BOX IF YOU WOULD LIKE THE PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION 
PROCESSED ALONG WITH THIS APPLICATION: 

12. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? 
YES 

NO 
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13. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLYDISCHARGED 
MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES? YES 

MILITARY HONORABLE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS NO OO 

NOTE: PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH A COPY OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO 
THIS APPLICATION: CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OR DISCHARGE FROM ACTIVE DUTY (DD-
214) OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING DATE AND TYPE OF DISCHARGE TO 
RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW. 

14. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE 
DENTISTRY IN ANOTHER U.S. STATE OR TERRITORY, AND YOUR SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC YES O 
PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES 

NOAND WAS ASSIGNED TO A DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA UNDER OFFICIAL ORDERS? IF 
YES, YOUR APPLICATION WILL RECEIVE AN EXPEDITED REVIEW. 

MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENTS 

NOTE: IF YOU MEET THE MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENT 
PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: 

CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE OR CERTIFIED DECLARATION/REGISTRATION OF DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY 
EVIDENCE OF LEGAL UNION WITH AN ACTIVE-DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES 
A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DENTAL LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR 
TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES. 
A COPY OF THE MILITARY ORDERS ESTABLISHING YOUR SPOUSE OR PARTNER'S DUTY 
STATION IN CALIFORNIA 

15. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: YES 

. YOU WERE ADMITTED TO THE UNITED STATES AS A REFUGEE PURSUANT TO 
NOSECTION 1157 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR 

YOU WERE GRANTED ASYLUM BY THE SECRETARY OF HOMELAND SECURITY 
OR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES PURSUANT TO SECTION 1158 OF 
TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR, 

YOU HAVE A SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA AND WERE GRANTED A STATUS PURSUANT TO 
SECTION 1244 OF THE PUBLIC LAW 110-181, PUBLIC LAW 109-163,OR SECTION 602(b) OF 
TITLE VI OF DIVISION F OF PUBLIC LAW 111-8 [RELATING TO IRAQI AND AFGHAN 
TRANSLATORS/INTERPRETERS OR THOSE WHO WORKED FOR OR ON BEHALF OF THE 
UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT]. 

IF YOU SELECTED YES, YOU MUST ATTACH EVIDENCE OF YOUR STATUS AS A 
REFUGEE, ASYLEE, OR SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDER AS PROVIDED BELOW. 
FAILURE TO DO SO 
MAY RESULT IN APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS. "EVIDENCE" SI IALL INCLUDE: 

FORM 1-94, ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE RECORD, WITH AN ADMISSION CLASS CODE 
SUCH AS "RE" (REFUGEE) OR "AY" (ASYLEE) OR OTHER INFORMATION 
DESIGNATING THE PERSON A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 

SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA THAT INCLUDES THE "SI" OR "SQ" 
PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (FORM 1-551), COMMONLY KNOWN AS A 

GREEN CARD," WITH A CATEGORY DESIGNATION INDICATING THAT THE 
PERSON WAS ADMITTED AS A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 
AN ORDER FROM A COURT OF COMPETENT JURISDICTION OR OTHER 
DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE THAT PROVIDES REASONABLE ASSURANCES TO THE BOARD 
THAT THE APPLICANT QUALIFIES FOR EXPEDITED LICENSURE PER BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 135.4. 
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FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS - ALL EQUIPMENT SHALL BE MAINTAINED 
TESTED, AND INSPECTED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS' SPECIFICATIONS. IN AN 
OFFICE WHERE ANESTHESIA SERVICES ARE TO BE PROVIDED TO PEDIATRIC PATIENTS, THE 
REQUIRED EQUIPMENT, MEDICATION, AND RESUSCITATIVE CAPABILITIES SHALL BE 
APPROPRIATELY SIZED FOR USE ON A PEDIATRIC POPULATION. 

16. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATING THEATER LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY YES 
ACCOMMODATE THE PATIENT ON A TABLE OR IN AN OPERATING CHAIR AND PERMIT AN 
OPERATING TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE INDIVIDUALS TO FREELY MOVE nNO
ABOUT THE PATIENT? 

17. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATING TABLE OR CHAIR THAT PERMITS THE PATIENT YES OTO BE POSITIONED SO THE OPERATING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY 
ALTER PATIENT POSITION IN AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE NO 
MANAGEMENT OF CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION? 

18. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A LIGHTING SYSTEM THAT IS ADEQUATE TO PERMIT YES 
EVALUATION OF THE PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING 
SYSTEM WHICH IS BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT NO 00
COMPLETION OF ANY OPERATION UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 

19. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE SUCTION EQUIPMENT THAT PERMITS ASPIRATION OF THE YES OORAL AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES AND A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE THAT CAN OPERATE 
AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? NO 

20. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM WITH ADEQUATE FULL FACE YES
MASKS AND APPROPRIATE CONNECTORS THAT IS CAPABLE OF ALLOWING THE 
ADMINISTERING OF GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW AT LEAST NO 
SIXTY MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER) TO THE PATIENT UNDER POSITIVE PRESSURE, 
TOGETHER WITH AN ADEQUATE BACKUP SYSTEM THAT CAN OPERATE AT THE TIME OF 
GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 

21. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A RECOVERY AREA THAT HAS AVAILABLE OXYGEN, ADEQUATE YES 
LIGHTING, SUCTION AND ELECTRICAL OUTLETS? THE RECOVERY AREA CAN BE THE 
OPERATING THEATER. NO 

22. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT MAINTAINED IN GOOD OPERATING YES OCONDITION, WHICH MUST INCLUDE ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 
NO 

(a) LARYNGOSCOPE COMPLETE WITH ADEQUATE SELECTION OF BLADES AND SPARE 
BATTERIES AND BULB. 

(b) ENDOTRACHEAL TUBES AND APPROPRIATE CONNECTORS. 
(c) EMERGENCY AIRWAY EQUIPMENT (ORAL AIRWAYS, LARYNGEAL MASK AIRWAYS OR 

COMBITUBES, CRICOTHYROTOMY DEVICE) 
(d) TONSILLAR OR PHARYNGEAL TYPE SUCTION TIPS ADAPTABLE TO ALL OFFICE OUTLETS. 
(@) ENDOTRACHEAL TUBE FORCEPS. 
(f SPHYGMOMANOMETER AND STETHOSCOPE. 
(g) ELECTROCARDIOSCOPE AND DEFIBRILLATOR. 
(h) ADEQUATE EQUIPMENT FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF AN INTRAVENOUS INFUSION. 
(1) PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE. 
() PULSE OXIMETER 
(k) CAPNOGRAPH AND TEMPERATURE DEVICE. PATIENTS RECEIVING DEEP SEDATION OR 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA SHALL HAVE VENTILATION 
CONTINUOUSLY MONITORED DURING THE PROCEDURE BY TWO OF THE 
FOLLOWING METHODS: 
() AUSCULTATION OF BREATH SOUNDS USING A PRECORDIAL STETHOSCOPE. 
(ii) MONITORING FOR THE PRESENCE OF EXHALED CARBON DIOXIDE WITH 

CAPNOGRAPHY. 
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RECORDS - DO YOU MAINTAIN THE FOLLOWING RECORDS? 

23. ADEQUATE MEDICAL HISTORY AND PHYSICAL EVALUATION RECORDS UPDATED PRIOR TO 
YESEACH ADMINISTRATION OF DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA. SUCH RECORDS 

SHALL INCLUDE, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, THE RECORDING OF THE AGE, SEX, WEIGHT, 
NOPHYSICAL STATUS (AMERICAN SOCIETY OF ANESTHESIOLOGISTS CLASSIFICATION), 

MEDICATION USE, ANY KNOWN OR SUSPECTED MEDICALLY COMPROMISING CONDITIONS, 
RATIONALE FOR SEDATION OF THE PATIENT, AND VISUAL EXAMINATION OF THE AIRWAY, AND 
AUSCULTATION OF THE HEART AND LUNGS. 

24. GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR DEEP SEDATION RECORDS, WHICH SHALL INCLUDE A TIME-
ORIENTED RECORD WITH PREOPERATIVE, MULTIPLE INTRAOPERATIVE, AND YES 
POSTOPERATIVE PULSE OXIMETRY (EVERY 5 MINUTES INTRAOPERATIVELY AND EVERY 
15 MINUTES POSTOPERATIVELY FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR DEEP SEDATION) AND NO 
BLOOD PRESSURE AND PULSE READINGS (BOTH EVERY 5 MINUTES INTRAOPERATIVELY 
FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR DEEP SEDATION), DRUGS, AMOUNTS ADMINISTERED AND 
TIME ADMINISTERED, LENGTH OF THE PROCEDURE, ANY COMPLICATIONS OF 
ANESTHESIA OR SEDATION AND A STATEMENT OF THE PATIENT'S CONDITION AT TIME OF 

DISCHARGE. 

25. RECORDS INCLUDING THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER RESPONSIBLE FOR SEDATION 
OVERSIGHT, THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER DELIVERING SEDATION, THE CATEGORY YES O 
OF THE PROVIDER MONITORING THE PATIENT DURING SEDATION, WHETHER THE PERSON 
SUPERVISING THE SEDATION PERFORMED ONE OR MORE OF THE PROCEDURES. NO 

26. WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT OF THE PATIENT, OR, AS APPROPRIATE, PATIENT'S 
CONSERVATOR, OR THE INFORMED CONSENT OF A PERSON AUTHORIZED TO GIVE SUCH YES 
CONSENT FOR THE PATIENT, OR IF THE PATIENT IS A MINOR, HIS OR HER PARENT OR 
GUARDIAN, PURSUANT TO BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 1682(e). NO 

27. DRUGS - DO YOU MAINTAIN EMERGENCY DRUGS OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES AT ALL 
TIMES IN CONNECTION WITH THE ADMINISTRATION OF DEEP SEDATION OR GENERAL YES 
ANESTHESIA? 

NO 
. EPINEPHRINE (EPI) . ANTICHOLINGERGIC 
. VASOPRESSOR (OTHER THAN EPI) . ANTIARRHYTHMIC 
. BRONCHODILATOR . CORONARY ARTERY VASODILATOR 
. MUSCLE RELAXANT ANTIHYPERTENSIVE 
INTRAVENOUS MEDICATION FOR . ANTICONVULSANT 

TREATMENT OF CARDIOPULMONARY . OXYGEN 
ARREST . 50% DEXTROSE OR OTHER ANTIHYPOGLYCEMIC 

. APPROPRIATE DRUGS 
ANTAGONIST 

. ANTIHISTAMINEC 

28. EMERGENCIES - ARE YOU COMPETENT TO TREAT ALL OF THE FOLLOWING 
EMERGENCIES? YES 

. AIRWAY OBSTRUCTION . ALLERGIC REACTION NO 
. BRONCHOSPASM CONVULSIONS 

. EMESIS AND ASPIRATION OF . HYPOGLYCEMIA 
FOREIGN MATERIAL UNDER NCOPE 
ANESTHESIA . RESPIRATORY DEPRESSION 

. ANGINA PECTORIS 
. MYOCARDIAL INFARCTION 
. HYPOTENSION 
. HYPERTENSION 
CARDIAC ARREST 

29. STAFF- ARE DENTAL OFFICE PERSONNEL DIRECTLY INVOLVED WITH THE CARE OF YES 

PATIENTS UNDERGOING DEEP SEDATION OR GENERAL ANESTHESIA CERTIFIED IN BASIC 
CARDIAC LIFE SUPPORT (CPR)? NO 
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30. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES OF ALL LOCATIONS OF PRACTICE WHERE YOU ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF DEEP SEDATION OR GENERAL ANESTHESIA. IF YOU ARE A PHYSICIAN AND 
SURGEON APPLYING FOR THIS PERMIT, PROVIDE THE NAMES OF ANY HOSPITALS WHERE YOU HAVE 
MEMBERSHIP ON THE MEDICAL STAFF. 

IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON THE BACK OF THIS PAGE. 

Certification - I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, 
including any attachments, is true and correct. 

Date Signature of Applicant 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS: Except for the email address and fax number, the information requested 
herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Board of California (Board), 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, 
Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300, in accordance with Business and Professions Code (BPC) 
sections1600 et seq. The Board collects the personal information requested on the following form as authorized by BPC 
sections 27, 30, 31, 114.5, 115.4, 135.4. 480, 494.5, 1646.1, 1646.2, 1646.9, 1715, and Title 16, California Code of 
Regulations sections 1043.1, 1043.3, and 1043.4. The Board uses this information to identify and evaluate applicants for 
licensure, issue and renew licenses, and enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation. 

Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. 
Disclosure of your Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory and collection Is 
authorized by BPC sections 29.5, 30, 31, and 494.5, and Pub. L 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. $ 405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security 
number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family 
support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, measurement of employment outcomes of students who 
participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community Colleges as required by BPC 
section 30, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing 
is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you may be reported to the 
Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a penalty of $100. 

Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt 
from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. The Board makes every effort to 

protect the personal information you provide us; however, it may be disclosed in response to a Public Records Act request 
as allowed by the Information Practices Act, to another government agency as required by state or federal law or Civil 
Code section 1798.24; or in response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. Your name and 
address listed on this application will be disclosed to the public upon request if and when you become licensed. 

FORM GAP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 



ADOPT 
STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen St.. Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | www.dbc.ca.gov 

APPLICATION FOR MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT 

FEES For Office Use Only For Office Use Only 

Application Fee: $524.00 
(Must be enclosed with application) 

Rec 

Fee Pd 

Date 

APPLICATION FEES Cashiered 

ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
Entity# 

File # Date Received 

"This application must be completed in its entirety or the application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR 
section 1004). Attach additional sheets if necessary. 
Any material misrepresentation of any information on the application is grounds for denial or subsequent 
revocation of the permit. 
* Under Business and Professions Code sections 31 and 494.5, the California Department of Tax and Fee 
Administration (CDTFA) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer information with the 
Board. You are required to pay your state tax obligation. This application may be denied or your permit 
may be suspended if you have a state tax obligation, the state tax obligation is not paid, and your name 
appears on the State Board of Equalization, the CDTFA, or FTB certified list of 500 largest tax 
delinquencyes. 

(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE) 

1. SSN/ITIN: 2. BIRTH DATE (MM/DD/YYYY): 

3. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

4. MAILING ADDRESS (ADDRESS OF RECORD -- ADDRESS MAY BE A P.O. BOX): 

5. PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION (PHYSICAL ADDRESS): 

6. EMAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL): 

7. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 

8. FAX NUMBER (OPTIONAL): 

FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 

www.dbc.ca.gov


C 
9. DENTAL LICENSE NUMBER: 

YES10. MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING. 

NOHAVE YOU SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED TRAINING IN MODERATE SEDATION? FOR PURPOSES 
OF THIS SECTION, TRAINING CONSISTS OF ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 

(1) AT LEAST 60 HOURS OF INSTRUCTION; 

(2) SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF AT LEAST 20 CASES OF ADMINISTRATION OF 
MODERATE SEDATION FOR A VARIETY OF DENTAL PROCEDURES.; AND, 

(3) COMPLIES WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE GUIDELINES FOR TEACHING PAIN 
CONTROL AND SEDATION TO DENTISTS AND DENTAL STUDENTS OF THE 
AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, 
CERTIFICATION OF COMPETENCE IN RESCUING PATIENTS FROM A DEEPER LEVEL 
OF SEDATION THAN INTENDED, AND MANAGING THE AIRWAY, INTRAVASCULAR OR 
INTRAOSSEOUS ACCESS, AND REVERSAL MEDICATIONS. 

IF YES, PLEASE SUBMIT A COMPLETED "CERTIFICATION OF MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING" 
(MSP-2 (New 05/2021) WITH THIS APPLICATION. 
11. IN ADDITION TO THE MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT, ARE YOU APPLYING FOR A PEDIATRIC 

YES 

ENDORSEMENT TO ADMINSTER MODERATE SEDATION TO A PEDIATRIC PATIENT UNDER 13 
NOYEARS OF AGE? 

IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO THIS QUESTION, YOU MUST COMPLETE A SEPARATE APPLICATION 
FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT AND MEET THE REQUIREMENTS IN SECTION 1043.8.1 OF 
IIILE 16 OF THE CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. YOU MAY APPLY FOR A PEDIATRIC 
ENDORSEMENT SIMULTANEOUSLY BY SUBMITTING BOTH APPLICATIONS AT THE SAME TIME. 
YOU MAY ALSO APPLY SEPARATELY FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT AT A LATER DATE BY 
COMPLETING THE APPLICATION AND MEETING THE REQUIREMENTS IN SECTION 1043.8.1. 

NOTICE: PLEASE SEE ATTACHED MONITORING REQUIREMENTS IN BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONS CODE, SECTIONS 1647.2 AND 1647.3, AND CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS, 
TITLE 16, SECTION 1043.8.1. 

PLEASE CHECK THIS BOX IF YOU WOULD LIKE THE PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION 
PROCESSED ALONG WITH THIS APPLICATION: 

YES
12. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? 

NO 

YES 
13. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLY DISCHARGED 

MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES? NO 0 080 
MILITARY HONORABLE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS 

NOTE: PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH A COPY OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO 
THIS APPLICATION: CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OR DISCHARGE FROM ACTIVE DUTY (DD-214) 
OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE 
SHOWING DATE AND TYPE OF DISCHARGE TO RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW. 

per agency 

request 

8 /15 / 27 
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14. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE YES 
DENTISTRY IN ANOTHER U.S. STATE OR TERRITORY, AND YOUR SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC 
PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES NO 
AND WAS ASSIGNED TO A DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA UNDER OFFICIAL ORDERS? IF 
YES, YOUR APPLICATION WILL RECEIVE AN EXPEDITED REVIEW. 

MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENTS 

NOTE: IF YOU MEET THE MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENT 
PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: 

CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE OR CERTIFIED DECLARATION/REGISTRATION OF DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY 
EVIDENCE OF LEGAL UNION WITH AN ACTIVE-DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES 

A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DENTAL LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR 
TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES. 
A COPY OF THE MILITARY ORDERS ESTABLISHING YOUR SPOUSE OR PARTNER'S DUTY 
STATION IN CALIFORNIA 

YES 
15. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: 

NOYOU WERE ADMITTED TO THE UNITED STATES AS A REFUGEE PURSUANT TO 
SECTION 1157 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; 

YOU WERE GRANTED ASYLUM BY THE SECRETARY OF HOMELAND SECURITY 
OR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES PURSUANT TO SECTION 1158 OF 
TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR, 

YOU HAVE A SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA AND WERE GRANTED A STATUS PURSUANT TO 
SECTION 1244 OF THE PUBLIC LAW 110-181, PUBLIC LAW 109-163,OR SECTION 602(b) OF 
TITLE VI OF DIVISION F OF PUBLIC LAW 111-8, [RELATING TO IRAQI AND AFGHAN 
TRANSLATORS/INTERPRETERS OR THOSE WHO WORKED FOR OR ON BEHALF OF THE 
UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT]. 

IF YOU SELECTED YES, YOU MUST ATTACH EVIDENCE OF YOUR STATUS AS A 
REFUGEE, ASYLEE, OR SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDER AS PROVIDED BELOW. 
FAILURE TO DO SO 
MAY RESULT IN APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS. "EVIDENCE" SHALL INCLUDE: 

FORM 1-94, ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE RECORD, WITH AN ADMISSION CLASS CODE 
SUCH AS "RE" (REFUGEE) OR "AY" (ASYLEE) OR OTHER INFORMATION 
DESIGNATING THE PERSON A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 

SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA THAT INCLUDES THE "SI" OR "SQ" 
PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (FORM 1-551), COMMONLY KNOWN AS A 

GREEN CARD," WITH A CATEGORY DESIGNATION INDICATING THAT THE 
PERSON WAS ADMITTED AS A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 
AN ORDER FROM A COURT OF COMPETENT JURISDICTION OR OTHER 
DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE THAT PROVIDES REASONABLE ASSURANCES TO THE BOARD 
THAT THE APPLICANT QUALIFIES FOR EXPEDITED LICENSURE PER BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 135.4. 

FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 



FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS - ALL EQUIPMENT SHALL BE MAINTAINED, 
TESTED, AND INSPECTED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS' SPECIFICATIONS. IN AN 
OFFICE WHERE ANESTHESIA SERVICES ARE TO BE PROVIDED TO PEDIATRIC PATIENTS, THE 
REQUIRED EQUIPMENT, MEDICATION, AND RESUSCITATIVE CAPABILITIES SHALL BE 
APPROPRIATELY SIZED FOR USE ON A PEDIATRIC POPULATION. 

YES O16. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATING THEATER LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY 
ACCOMMODATE THE PATIENT ON A TABLE OR IN AN OPERATING CHAIR AND PERMIT AN NO 
OPERATING TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE INDIVIDUALS TO FREELY MOVE 
ABOUT THE PATIENT? 

YES 
17. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATING TABLE OR CHAIR THAT PERMITS THE PATIENT 

TO BE POSITIONED SO THE OPERATING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY NO 
ALTER PATIENT POSITION IN AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE 
MANAGEMENT OF CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION? 

YES 
18. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A LIGHTING SYSTEM THAT IS ADEQUATE TO PERMIT 

EVALUATION OF THE PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING NO 
SYSTEM WHICH IS BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT 
COMPLETION OFANY OPERATION UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 

19. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE SUCTION EQUIPMENT THAT PERMITS ASPIRATION OF THE ORAL |YES 
AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES AND A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE THAT CAN OPERATE AT THE NO 
TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 

YES 
20. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM WITH ADEQUATE FULL FACE 

MASKS AND APPROPRIATE CONNECTORS THAT IS CAPABLE OF ALLOWING THE NO 
ADMINISTERING OF GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW AT LEAST 
SIXTY MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER) TO THE PATIENT UNDER POSITIVE PRESSURE, 
TOGETHER WITH AN ADEQUATE BACKUP SYSTEM THAT CAN OPERATE AT THE TIME OF 
GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 

YES 
21. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A RECOVERY AREA THAT HAS AVAILABLE OXYGEN, 

ADEQUATE LIGHTING, SUCTION AND ELECTRICAL OUTLETS? THE RECOVERY AREA CAN NO 
BE THE OPERATING THEATER. 

YES 
22. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT MAINTAINED IN GOOD OPERATING 

CONDITION, WHICH MUST INCLUDE ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: NO 

a) EMERGENCY AIRWAY EQUIPMENT (ORAL AIRWAYS, LARYNGEAL MASK AIRWAYS OR 
COMBITUBES, CRICOTHYROTOMY DEVICE). 

(b) TONSILLAR OR PHARYNGEAL TYPE SUCTION TIPS ADAPTABLE TO ALL OFFICE 
OUTLETS 

) SPHYGMOMANOMETER AND STETHOSCOPE. 
(d) ADEQUATE EQUIPMENT FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF AN INTRAVENOUS INFUSION. 
(e) PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE. 

PULSE OXIMETER(f) 
(g) CAPNOGRAPH AND TEMPERATURE DEVICE. PATIENTS RECEIVING MODERATE 

SEDATION SHALL HAVE VENTILATION CONTINUOUSLY MONITORED DURING THE 
PROCEDURE BY TWO OF THE FOLLOWING THREE METHODS: 

(i) AUSCULTATION OF BREATH SOUNDS USING A PRECORDIAL STETHOSCOPE. 
(ii) MONITORING FOR THE PRESENCE OF EXHALED CARBON DIOXIDE WITH 

CAPNOGRAPHY. 
(ili) VERBAL COMMUNICATION WITH A PATIENT UNDER MODERATE SEDATION. 

FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 



C 
RECORDS - DO YOU MAINTAIN THE FOLLOWING RECORDS? 

23. ADEQUATE MEDICAL HISTORY AND PHYSICAL EVALUATION RECORDS UPDATED PRIOR TO YES 

EACH ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION. SUCH RECORDS SHALL INCLUDE, BUT ARE 
NONOT LIMITED TO, THE RECORDING OF THE AGE, SEX, WEIGHT, PHYSICAL STATUS (AMERICAN 

SOCIETY OF ANESTHESIOLOGISTS CLASSIFICATION), MEDICATION USE, ANY KNOWN OR 
SUSPECTED MEDICALLY COMPROMISING CONDITIONS, RATIONALE FOR SEDATION OF THE 
PATIENT, AND VISUAL EXAMINATION OF THE AIRWAY 

24. MODERATE SEDATION RECORDS, WHICH SHALL INCLUDE A TIME-ORIENTED RECORD WITH YES 
PREOPERATIVE, MULTIPLE INTRAOPERATIVE, AND POSTOPERATIVE PULSE OXIMETRY 
EVERY 5 MINUTES INTRAOPERATIVELY), DRUGS, AMOUNTS ADMINISTERED AND TIME NO 
ADMINISTERED, LENGTH OF THE PROCEDURE, ANY COMPLICATIONS OF SEDATION AND A 
STATEMENT OF THE PATIENT'S CONDITION AT TIME OF DISCHARGE. 

25. RECORDS INCLUDING THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER RESPONSIBLE FOR SEDATION YES 

OVERSIGHT, THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER DELIVERING SEDATION, THE CATEGORY 
OF THE PROVIDER MONITORING THE PATIENT DURING SEDATION, AND WHETHER THE NO 
PERSON SUPERVISING THE SEDATION PERFORMED ONE OR MORE OF THE PROCEDURES 

26. WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT OF THE PATIENT, OR, AS APPROPRIATE, PATIENT'S YES 
CONSERVATOR, OR THE INFORMED CONSENT OF A PERSON AUTHORIZED TO GIVE SUCH 
CONSENT FOR THE PATIENT, OR IF THE PATIENT IS A MINOR, HIS OR HER PARENT OR NO 

GUARDIAN, PURSUANT TO BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 1682(e). 

27. DRUGS - DO YOU MAINTAIN EMERGENCY DRUGS OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES AT ALL TIMES YES 
IN CONNECTION WITH THE ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION? 

NO 
. EPINEPHRINE (EPI) . ANTICONVULSANT 
. VASOPRESSOR (OTHER THAN EPI) . OXYGEN 
. BRONCHODILATOR - 50% DEXTROSE OR OTHER 
. APPROPRIATE DRUG ANTIHYPOGLYCEMIC 

ANTAGONIST 
. ANTIHISTAMINEC 
. ANTICHOLINGERGIC 
. CORONARY ARTERY VASODILATOR 

28. EMERGENCIES - ARE YOU COMPETENT TO TREAT ALL OF THE FOLLOWING YES 

EMERGENCIES? 

. AIRWAY OBSTRUCTION 
. BRONCHOSPASM 
. EMESIS AND ASPIRATION OF 

FOREIGN MATERIAL UNDER 
ANESTHESIA 

. ANGINA PECTORIS 
. MYOCARDIAL INFARCTION 
. HYPOTENSION 
. HYPERTENSION 
. CARDIAC ARREST 

NO 
. ALLERGIC REACTION 

CONVULSIONS 
HYPOGLYCEMIA 
SYNCOPE 

. RESPIRATORY DEPRESSION 

29. STAFF- ARE DENTAL OFFICE PERSONNEL DIRECTLY INVOLVED WITH THE CARE OF YES 
PATIENTS UNDERGOING MODERATE SEDATION CERTIFIED IN BASIC CARDIAC LIFE 
SUPPORT (CPR)? NO 

FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 



30. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES OF ALL LOCATIONS OF PRACTICE WHERE YOU ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION. ALL OFFICES SHALL MEET THE STANDARDS SET FORTH 
IN THE BOARD'S REGULATIONS IN ARTICLE 5 (COMMENCING WITH SECTION 1043) OF TITLE 16 OF THE 
CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. 

IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON THE BACK OF THIS PAGE. 

Certification - I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, 
including any attachments, is true and correct. 

Date Signature of Applicant 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS: Except for the email address and fax number, the 
information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Board of California (Board), 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300, in 
accordance with Business and Professions Code (BPC)sections 1600 et seq. The Board collects the 

personal information requested on the following form as authorized by BPC sections 27, 30, 31, 114.5, 
115.4, 135.4, 480, 494.5, 1647.2, 1647.3, 1715, and Title 16, California Code of Regulations sections 
1043.1, 1043.3, and 1043.4. The Board uses this information to identify and evaluate applicants for permit 
or licensure, issue and renew licenses, and enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation. 

Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as 
incomplete. Disclosure of your Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is 
mandatory and collection is authorized by BPC sections 29.5, 30, 31, and 494.5,and Pub. L 94-455 (42 
U.S.C.A. $ 405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement 
purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of 
the Family Code, measurement of employment outcomes of students who participate in career technical 
education programs offered by the California Community Colleges as required by BPC section 30, or for 
verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing is 
reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you may be reported 
to the Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a penalty of $100. 

Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the 
records are exempt from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. 
The Board makes every effort to protect the personal information you provide us; however, it may be 
disclosed in response to a Public Records Act request as allowed by the Information Practices Act, to 
another government agency as required by state or federal law or Civil Code section 1798.24; or in 
response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. Your name and address listed 
on this application will be disclosed to the public upon request if and when you become licensed 

FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 



STATE OF CALIFORNIA BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY . GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR 

DEL _ BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | www.dbc.ca.gov 

CERTIFICATION OF MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING 

ADOPT 
Notice to Applicants 

This completed form must be submitted to the Dental Board of California (Board) with your application for a moderate sedation permit 
as required by Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1043.1 or your application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR 
section 1004). The information requested on this form is mandatory pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 1647.3 and 
Title 16 CCR section 1043.1. The information provided will be used to determine qualification for a moderate sedation permit. The 
information may be provided to other governmental agencies, or in response to a court order, subpoena, or public records request. 
You have a right of access to records containing personal information unless the records are exempted from disclosure. Individuals 
may obtain information regarding the location of their records by contacting the Board's Executive Officer at 2005 Evergreen Street, 
Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300. 

(APPLICANT TO COMPLETE QUESTIONS 1-3 AND EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION TO COMPLETE QUESTION 4) 
1. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

2. LICENSE NUMBER: 

3. NAME OF SCHOOL/EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION: 

4. MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING VERIFICATION: 

THIS DENTIST IS APPLYING FOR A MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT TO ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION IN A DENTAL OFFICE IN CALIFORNIA. IN ORDER TO QUALIFY FOR A 
PERMIT, THE APPLICANT IS REQUIRED TO PROVIDE PROOF OF COMPLETION OF TRAINING IN MODERATE 
SEDATION. PLEASE CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOXES BELOW RELATING TO THE TRAINING THE ABOVE-NAMED 
APPLICANT COMPLETED AT YOUR EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION. 

THE APPLICANT LISTED ON THIS FORM SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED THIS INSTITUTION'S EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM IN 
MODERATE SEDATION THAT INCLUDES ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 

AT LEAST 60 HOURS OF INSTRUCTION 

SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF AT LEAST 20 CASES OF ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION 
FOR A VARIETY OF DENTAL PROCEDURES. 

COMPLIANCE WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE GUIDELINES FOR TEACHING PAIN CONTROL AND SEDATION 
TO DENTISTS AND DENTAL STUDENTS OF THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION, INCLUDING, BUT NOT 
LIMITED TO, CERTIFICATION OF COMPETENCE IN RESCUING PATIENT FROM A DEEPER LEVEL OF SEDATION 
THAN INTENDED, AND MANAGING THE AIRWAY, INTRAVASCULAR OR INTRAOSSEOUS ACCESS, AND 
REVERSAL MEDICATIONS 

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IN THIS SECTION OF THE FORM IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND 

CONFIRM THAT, ACCORDING TO THIS INSTITUTION'S RECORDS, (NAME OF 
STUDENT) SATISFACTORILY COMPLETED THE ABOVE-REFERENCED TRAINING AT (NAME 
OF INSTITUTION). THIS STUDENT WAS ENROLLED IN A (NAME OF 
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM) PROGRAM WHEN OBTAINING MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING FROM 

(MONTH/DAY/YEAR) TO 

(MONTH/DAY/YEAR). 

SIGNATURE DATE 

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM SEAL 
IF APPLICABLE PRINTED NAME/TITLE TELEPHONE 

FORM MSP-2 (NEW 05/2021) 
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DOCUMENTATION OF DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR MODERATE SEDATION CASES FOR 
PEDIATRIC 

This document shall be completed in its entirety as part of the initial application for a pediatric endorsement (for both general 
anesthesia and moderate sedation permits) or as a condition of the renewal application for a general anesthesia permit that 
includes a pediatric endorsement as provided in Section 1017.1 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (16 CCR) or 
your application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). The requirements for a completed initial application for a 
pediatric endorsement to a general anesthesia permit or a moderate sedation permit are listed in 16 CCR section 1043.8.1. 
Attach additional sheets to this form as necessary. Any material misrepresentation of any information on this form is grounds 
for denial or subsequent revocation of the permit. 

The information requested on this form is mandatory pursuant to Business and Professions Code sections 1646.2 and 1647.3 
and Title 16 CCR section 1043.8.1. The information provided will be used to determine qualifications for a pediatric 
endorsement to a general anesthesia or moderate sedation permit. The information may be provided to other governmental 
agencies, or in response to a court order, subpoena, or public records request. You have a right of access to records 
containing personal information unless the records are exempted from disclosure. Individuals may obtain information 
regarding the location of their records by contacting the Board's Executive Officer at 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, 
Sacramento, CA 92815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300. 

Notice for General Anesthesia Permit Applicants Seeking Pediatric Endorsement or Renewal of Endorsement: 

All applicants must meet the patient monitoring and staff qualification requirements listed in Section 1646.1 of the Business 
and Professions Code. 

Each applicant must provide proof of at least 20 cases of deep sedation or general anesthesia to patients under seven years 
of age in the 24-month time period directly preceding application for a pediatric endorsement to establish competency, 
both at the time of initial application and at renewal. The applicant or permitholder shall maintain and be able to provide proof 
of these cases upon request by the board for up to three permit renewal periods. 

Applicants for a pediatric endorsement who otherwise qualify for the pediatric endorsement but lack sufficient cases of 
pediatric sedation to patients under seven years of age may administer deep sedation and general anesthesia to patients 
under seven years of age under the direct supervision of a general anesthesia permitholder with a pediatric endorsement. 
The applicant may count these cases toward the 20 cases required to qualify for the applicant's pediatric endorsement. 
(Business and Professions Code section 1646.2.) 

Notice for Moderate Sedation Permit Applicants Seeking Pediatric Endorsement or Renewal of Endorsement: 

All applicants must meet the patient monitoring and staff qualification requirements listed in Section 1647.2 of the Business 
and Professions Code. 

Each applicant must provide proof of successful completion of at least 20 cases of moderate sedation to patients under 
thirteen years of age to establish competency in pediatric moderate sedation, both at the time of the initial application and at 
renewal. The applicant or permitholder shall maintain and shall provide proof of these cases upon request by the board for up 
to three permit renewal periods. 

In order to provide moderate sedation to children under seven years of age, a dentist shall establish and maintain current 
competency for this pediatric population by completing at least 20 cases of moderate sedation for children under seven years 
of age in the 24-month period immediately preceding application for the pediatric endorsement and for each permit 
renewal period. 

Applicants for a pediatric endorsement who otherwise qualify for the pediatric endorsement but lack sufficient cases of 
moderate sedation to patients under thirteen years of age may administer moderate sedation to patients under thirteen years 
of age under the direct supervision of a general anesthesia or moderate sedation permitholder with a pediatric endorsement. 
The applicant may count these cases toward the 20 required in order to qualify for the applicant's pediatric endorsement. 

Moderate sedation permit holders with a pediatric endorsement seeking to provide moderate sedation to children under 
seven years of age, but who lack sufficient cases of moderate sedation to patients under seven years of age pursuant to 
paragraph (3) of subdivision (d), may administer moderate sedation to patients under seven years of age under the direct 
supervision of a permitholder who meets those qualifications. (Business and Professions Code section 1647.3.) 

FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
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FIRST MIDDLE1. APPLICANT'S LEGAL NAME: LAST 

2. MEDICAL OR DENTAL LICENSE NUMBER: 

3. SPECIFY THE TYPE OF PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT YOU ARE REQUESTING 

DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA FOR PEDIATRIC PATIENTS UNDER THE AGE OF 
SEVEN. 

(FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT APPLICATION) 

MODERATE SEDATION FOR PEDIATRIC PATIENTS UNDER THE AGE OF THIRTEEN. 
(FOR MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT APPLICATION) 

4. FOR APPLICANTS FOR A MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT ONLY, PLEASE COMPLETE THIS SECTION (see requirements in 
the notice statement above for providing moderate sedation to children under seven years of age): 

5. FOR ALL APPLICANTS, PLEASE PROVIDE ALL THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION ON THIS FORM OR IN ATTACHMENTS TO 
THIS FORM BY CASE NUMBER: 

(1) Pediatric patient's sex, age, and weight; 
(2) Date of general anesthesia or moderate sedation procedure; 
(3) Type of dental procedure performed and duration of general anesthesia or moderate sedation; 
(4) A description of the method, amount, and specific general anesthesia or moderate sedation agent administered; 
(5) A statement on how the pediatric patient was monitored and by whom; and 
(6) Pediatric patient's condition at discharge. 

A ARE YOU SEEKING TO PROVIDE MODERATE SEDATION TO CHILDREN UNDER THIRTEEN YEARS OF AGE? 

YES NO 

B. IF YES TO QUESTION 5.A., PLEASE CHECK ALL THAT APPLY: 

ICOMPLETED AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER THIRTEEN YEARS OF AGE 
AS NOTED ON THIS FORM OR RELATED ATTACHMENTS 

I COMPLETED AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER THIRTEEN YEARS OF AGE 
UNDER DIRECT SUPERVISION BY ANOTHER PERMITHOLDER AS NOTED ON THIS FORM OR RELATED 
ATTACHMENTS 

I COMPLETED AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER THIRTEEN YEARS OF AGE 
BOTH INDEPENDENTLY AND UNDER DIRECT SUPERVISION BY ANOTHER PERMITHOLDER AS NOTED ON THIS 
FORM OR RELATED ATTACHMENTS 

6. A. ARE YOU SEEKING TO PROVIDE MODERATE SEDATION TO CHILDREN UNDER SEVEN YEARS OF AGE? 

YES NO 

B. IF YES TO QUESTION 6.A., PLEASE CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: 

I COMPLETED AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER SEVEN YEARS OF AGE AS 
NOTED ON THIS FORM OR RELATED ATTACHMENTS 

I DID NOT COMPLETE AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER SEVEN 
YEARS OF AGE INDEPENDENTLY BUT I ADMINISTER MODERATE SEDATION TO PATIENTS UNDER SEVEN YEARS 
OF AGE UNDER THE DIRECT SUPERVISION OF A PERMITHOLDER WHO MEETS THOSE QUALIFICATIONS. 
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APPLICANTS MUST PROVIDE THE FO. WING FOR EACH CASE OCCURRING WIT 24 MONTHS IMMEDIATELY 
PRECEDING APPLICATION FOR THE PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT. 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS) TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE 

DS 
GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 

MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE:

CASE 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: EEP SEDATION (DS), TYK JF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 

GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE 

DS 

GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PA PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TY OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANE 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
5 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

PROCEDURE: 
DS 
GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: EEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 

MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
8 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: EEP SEDATION (DS). TYR F PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 

MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
9 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 

GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
10 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS) TYK OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 

GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
11 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
12 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), IF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 

GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
CASE ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

13 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 

MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
14 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AI DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: EEP SEDATION (DS) TYP F PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 

GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
15 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 

MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
16 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS) TY OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
CASE ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

17 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 
GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
18 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
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DATE OF PROCEDURE: EP SEDATION (DS), TYPL, F PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE 

DS 

GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
19 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE:DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 
MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
PROCEDURE: 

DS 

GA 
MS 

PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT:PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 

BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO 
ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

CASE 
20 

PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 

Certification - I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, including all 
attachments, is true and correct. 

Date Signature of Applicant 
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ADOPT 
STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA
Ca 2005 Evergreen St.. Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | www.dbc.ca.gov 

APPLICATION FOR PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION PERMIT 

FEES For Office Use Only For Office Use Only 

Application Fee: $459.00 Rec # 
(Must be enclosed with application) 

FeePd 

Date 

APPLICATION FEES 
Cashiered 

ARE NON-REFUNDABLE Entity# 

File # Date Received 

This application must be completed in its entirety or the application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). Attach 
additional sheets if necessary. 
"Any material misrepresentation of any information on the application is grounds for denial or subsequent revocation of the 
permit. 
* Under Business and Professions Code sections 31 and 494.5, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 
(CDTFA) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay your state 
tax obligation. This application may be denied or your permit may be suspended if you have a state tax obligation, the state tax 
obligation is not paid, your name appears on the State Board of Equalization. the CDTFA. or FTB certified list of 500 largest tax 
delinquencyes. and 
"Please include your "Certification of Pediatric Minimal Sedation Training" (Form PMSP-2 (New 05/2021) and fee with this 
application. 

(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE) 
1. SSNATIN: 2. BIRTH DATE (MM/DD/YYYY): 

3. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

4. MAILING ADDRESS (ADDRESS OF RECORD - ADDRESS MAY BE A P.O. BOX): 

5. PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION (PHYSICAL ADDRESS): 

6. EMAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL): 

7. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 

8. FAX NUMBER (OPTIONAL): 

UM 
per agency 

request 

8 15 32FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
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9. DENTAL LICENSE NUMBER: 

YES10. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? 

NO 

11. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLY DISCHARGED 
MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES? YES 

MILITARY HONORABLE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS NO 

NOTE: PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH A COPY OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO 
THIS APPLICATION: CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OR DISCHARGE FROM ACTIVE DUTY (DD-
214) OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING DATE AND HONORABLE DISCHARGE 
TO RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW. 

12. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE 
YESDENTISTRY IN ANOTHER U.S. STATE OR TERRITORY, AND YOUR SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC 

PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES 
NOAND WAS ASSIGNED TO A DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA UNDER OFFICIAL ORDERS? IF 

YES, YOUR APPLICATION WILL RECEIVE AN EXPEDITED REVIEW. 

MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENTS 

NOTE: IF YOU MEET THE MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENT 
PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: 

CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE OR CERTIFIED DECLARATION/REGISTRATION OF DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY 
EVIDENCE OF LEGAL UNION WITH AN ACTIVE-DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES 

A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DENTAL LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR 
TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES. 

A COPY OF THE MILITARY ORDERS ESTABLISHING YOUR SPOUSE OR PARTNER'S 
DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA 
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13. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: YES 
YOU WERE ADMITTED TO THE UNITED STATES AS A REFUGEE PURSUANT TO 

NCSECTION 1157 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; 
YOU WERE GRANTED ASYLUM BY THE SECRETARY OF HOMELAND SECURITY 

OR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES PURSUANT TO SECTION 1158 
OFTITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR, 

YOU HAVE A SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA AND WERE GRANTED A STATUS PURSUANT 
TO SECTION 1244 OF THE PUBLIC LAW 110-181, PUBLIC LAW 109-163,OR SECTION 
602(b) OF TITLE VI OF DIVISION F OF PUBLIC LAW 111-8, [RELATING TO IRAQI AND 
AFGHAN TRANSLATORS/INTERPRETERS OR THOSE WHO WORKED FOR OR ON 
BEHALF OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT]. 

IF YOU SELECTED YES, YOU MUST ATTACH EVIDENCE OF YOUR STATUS AS A 
REFUGEE, ASYLEE, OR SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDER AS PROVIDED BELOW. 
FAILURE TO DO SO MAY RESULT IN APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS. "EVIDENCE" 
SHALL INCLUDE: 

FORM 1-94, ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE RECORD, WITH AN ADMISSION CLASS CODE 
SUCH AS "RE" (REFUGEE) OR "AY" (ASYLEE) OR OTHER INFORMATION 
DESIGNATING THE PERSON A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 

SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA THAT INCLUDES THE "SI" OR "SQ" 
PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (FORM 1-551), COMMONLY KNOWN AS A "GREEN CARD," 
WITH A CATEGORY DESIGNATION INDICATING THAT THE PERSON WAS ADMITTED AS 
A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 

AN ORDER FROM A COURT OF COMPETENT JURISDICTION OR OTHER 
DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE THAT PROVIDES REASONABLE ASSURANCES TO THE 
BOARD THAT THE APPLICANT QUALIFIES FOR EXPEDITED LICENSURE PER 
BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 135.4. 
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FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS - ALL EQUIPMENT SHALL BE MAINTAINED, TESTED, AND 
INSPECTED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS' SPECIFICATIONS. IN AN OFFICE WHERE MINIMAL 
SEDATION IS ADMINISTERED TO PEDIATRIC PATIENTS, THE REQUIRED EQUIPMENT, MEDICATION, AND 
RESUSCITATIVE CAPABILITIES SHALL BE APPROPRIATELY SIZED FOR A PEDIATRIC POPULATION. 

14. DOES THE FACTILITY HAVE: 

(1) AN OPERATORY LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY ACCOMMODATE THE PEDIATRIC YES 

PATIENT AND PERMIT A TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE INDIVIDUALS TO 
FREELY MOVE ABOUT THE PATIENT. NO 

(2) A TABLE OR DENTAL CHAIR THAT PERMITS THE PATIENT TO BE POSITIONED SO THE 
ATTENDING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY ALTER PATIENT POSITION IN 
AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF 
CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION. 

(3) A LIGHTING SYSTEM ADEQUATE TO PERMIT EVALUATION OF THE PEDIATRIC 
PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING SYSTEM THAT IS 
BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT COMPLETION OF 
ANY TREATMENT THAT MAY BE UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF A GENERAL POWER 
FAILURE. 

(4) AN APPROPRIATE FUNCTIONAL SUCTIONING DEVICE THAT PERMITS ASPIRATION OF 
THE ORAL AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES. A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE THAT CAN 
FUNCTION AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE MUST ALSO BE AVAILABLE. 

(5) A POSITIVE-PRESSURE OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM CAPABLE OF ADMINISTERING 
GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW FOR AT LEAST SIXTY 
MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER), EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A GENERAL POWER 
FAILURE. ALL EQUIPMENT MUST BE APPROPRIATE FOR USE ON AND CAPABLE OF 
ACCOMMODATING THE PEDIATRIC PATIENTS BEING SEEN AT THE PERMIT-HOLDER'S 
OFFICE. 

(6) INHALATION SEDATION EQUIPMENT, WHICH IF USED IN CONJUNCTION WITH ORAL 
SEDATION, IT MUST HAVE THE CAPACITY FOR DELIVERING 100%, AND NEVER LESS 
THAN 25%, OXYGEN CONCENTRATION AT A FLOW RATE APPROPRIATE FOR A 
PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S SIZE AND HAVE A FAIL-SAFE SYSTEM. THE EQUIPMENT MUST 
BE MAINTAINED AND CHECKED FOR ACCURACY AT LEAST ANNUALLY. 

(7) ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT, WHICH MUST INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING, AND BE 
MAINTAINED IN GOOD OPERATING CONDITION: 

(a) ORAL AIRWAYS CAPABLE OF ACCOMMODATING PEDIATRIC PATIENTS OF ALL 
SIZES. 

(b) A SPHYGMOMANOMETER WITH CUFFS OF APPROPRIATE SIZE FOR PEDIATRIC 
PATIENTS OF ALL SIZES 

(c) A PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE. 

(d) A PULSE OXIMETER. 
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15. DO YOU MAINTAIN THE FOLLOWING RECORDS? 

(a) AN ADEQUATE MEDICAL HISTORY AND PHYSICAL EVALUATION UPDATED PRIOR TO 
EACH ADMINISTRATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION. SUCH RECORDS SHALL 
INCLUDE, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, AN ASSESSMENT INCLUDING ANEVALUATION 
OF THE AIRWAY, THE AGE, SEX, WEIGHT, PHYSICAL STATUS (AMERICAN SOCIETY 
OF ANESTHESIOLOGISTS CLASSIFICATION), AND RATIONALE FOR SEDATION OF 
THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT AND WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT OF THE PARENT OR 
LEGAL GUARDIAN OF THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT. 

(b) PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION RECORDS THAT INCLUDE BASELINE VITAL SIGNS. IF 
OBTAINING BASELINE VITAL SIGNS IS PREVENTED BY THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S 
PHYSICAL RESISTANCE OR EMOTIONAL CONDITION, THE REASON OR REASONS 
MUST BE DOCUMENTED. THE RECORDS SHALL ALSO INCLUDE INTERMITTENT 
QUANTITATIVE MONITORING AND RECORDING OF OXYGEN SATURATION, HEART 
AND RESPIRATORY RATES, BLOOD PRESSURE AS APPROPRIATE FOR SPECIFIC 
TECHNIQUES, THE NAME, DOSE AND TIME OF ADMINISTRATION OF ALL DRUGS 
ADMINISTERED INCLUDING LOCAL AND INHALATION ANESTHETICS, THE LENGTH OF 
THE PROCEDURE, ANY COMPLICATIONS OF ORAL SEDATION, AND A STATEMENT 
OF THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT THE TIME OF DISCHARGE. 

(c) DOCUMENTATION THAT ALL EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT IS CHECKED TO DETERMINE 
OPERABILITY AND SAFETY FOR THE PATIENT CONSISTENT WITH MANUFACTURER'S 
RECOMMENDATION. 

(d) DOCUMENTATION THAT ALL DRUGS MAINTAINED AT THE FACILITY ARE CHECKED 
AT LEAST ONCE A QUARTER FOR EXPIRED DRUGS AND AN ADEQUATE SUPPLY OF 
DRUGS FOR THE PATIENT POPULATION SERVED. 

16. DO YOU HAVE AVAILABLE AND READILY ACCESSIBLE AN EMERGENCY KIT OR CART 
THAT INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING ITEMS? 

(a)THE NECESSARY AND APPROPRIATE EMERGENCY DRUGS AND SIZE-APPROPRIATE 
EQUIPMENT TO RESUSCITATE A NONBREATHING AND UNCONSCIOUS PEDIATRIC 
PATIENT AND PROVIDE CONTINUOUS SUPPORT WHILE THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT IS 
TRANSPORTED TO A MEDICAL FACILITY. 

(b) EMERGENCY DRUGS OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES: 

(1) EPINEPHRINE, 

(2) BRONCHODILATOR, 

(3) APPROPRIATE DRUG ANTAGONISTS, 

(4) ANTIHISTAMINEC, 

(5) ANTICHOLINERGIC, 

(6) ANTICONVULSANT, 

(7) OXYGEN, AND, 

(8) DEXTROSE OR OTHER ANTIHYPOGLYCEMIC 

17. STAFF: ARE YOU AND AT LEAST ONE STAFF MEMBER TRAINED IN THE MONITORING AND 
RESUSCITATION OF PEDIATRIC PATIENTS? 

(TRAINED STAFF ARE REQUIRED TO BE PRESENT DURING THE ADMINISTRATION OF 
MINIMAL SEDATION PER BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 1647.32.) 

18. DID YOU OBTAIN A WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT FROM THE PARENT OR GUARDIAN OF 
THE MINOR PATIENT PRIOR TO EACH ADMINISTRATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL 
SEDATION? 

FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
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NO 
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NO 
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19. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES OF ALL LOCATIONS OF PRACTICE WHERE YOU ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION. ALL OFFICES SHALL MEET THE STANDARDS SET 
FORTH IN REGULATIONS ADOPTED BY THE BOARD AT TITLE 16, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 
SECTION 1043.9.2. 

IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON THE BACK OF THIS PAGE. 

Certification - I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, 
including any attachments, is true and correct. 

Date Signature of Applicant 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS: Except for the email address and fax number, the information requested 
herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Board of California (Board), 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550 
Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300, in accordance with Business and Professions Code (BPC) 

sections 1600 et seq. The Board collects the personal information requested on the following form as authorized by BPC 
sections 27, 30, 31, 114.5, 115.4, 135.4, 480, 494.5, 1647.31, 1647.32, 1647.33, 1715, and Title 16, California Code of 
Regulations sections 1043.9.1 and 1043.9.2. The Board uses this information to identify and evaluate applicants for 
permit or licensure, issue and renew licenses, and enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation. 

Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. 
Disclosure of your Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory and collection is 
authorized by BPC sections 29.5, 30, 31, and 494.5, and Pub. L 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. $ 405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security 
number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family 
support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, measurement of employment outcomes of students who 
participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community Colleges as required by BPC 
section 30, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing 
is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you may be reported to the 
Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a penalty of $100. 

Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt 
from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. The Board makes every effort to 
protect the personal information you provide us; however, it may be disclosed in response to a Public Records Act request 
as allowed by the Information Practices Act, to another government agency as required by state or federal law or Civil 
Code section 1798.24; or in response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. Your name and 
address listed on this application will be disclosed to the public upon request if and when you become licensed. 

FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 



STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
BUSNESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY . GAVIN NEWSOM. GOADOPTDEN BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95015 

EPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | www.dbc.ca.gov 

CERTIFICATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION TRAINING 

Notice to Applicants 
This completed form must be submitted to the Dental Board of California (Board) with your application for a pediatric minimal 
sedation permit as required by Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1043.9.1 or your application will not be 
processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). The information requested on this form is mandatory pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code section 1647.32 and Title 16 CCR section 1043.9.1. The information provided will be used to determine 
qualification for a pediatric minimal sedation permit. The information may be provided to other governmental agencies, or in 
response to a court order, subpoena, or public records request. You have a right of access to records containing personal 
Information unless the records are exempted from disclosure. Individuals may obtain information regarding the location of their 
records by contacting the Board's Executive Officer at 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive 
Officer, 916-263-2300. 

(APPLICANT TO COMPLETE QUESTIONS 1-3 AND EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION TO COMPLETE QUESTION 4) 
1. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

2. LICENSE NUMBER: 

3. NAME OF SCHOOL/EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION 

4. MINIMAL SEDATION TRAINING VERIFICATION: 

THIS DENTIST IS APPLYING FOR A PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDTION PERMIT TO ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION IN A DENTAL OFFICE IN CALIFORNIA. IN ORDER TO 
QUALIFY FOR A PERMIT, THE APPLICANT IS REQUIRED TO PROVIDE PROOF OF COMPLETION OF TRAINING IN 
PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION PI FASE CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOXES BELOW RELATING TO THE TRAINING 
THE ABOVE-NAMED APPLICANT COMPLETED AT YOUR EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION. 

THE APPLICANT LISTED ON THIS FORM SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED THIS INSTITUTION'S EDUCATIONAL 
PROGRAM IN MINIMAL SEDATION THAT INCLUDES EITHER OF THE FOLLOWING: 

AT LEAST 24 HOURS OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION INSTRUCTION IN ADDITION TO ONE CLINICAL CASE 
AND TRAINING IN PEDIATRIC MONITORING, AIRWAY MANAGEMENT, AND RESUSCITATION AND PATIENT 
RESCUE FROM MODERATE SEDATION, OR, 

A COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION (CODA) APPROVED RESIDENCY IN PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY. 

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IN THIS SECTION OF THE FORM IS TRUE AND CORRECT 

AND CONFIRM THAT, ACCORDING TO THIS INSTITUTION'S RECORDS, (NAME OF 
APPLICANT) SATISFACTORILY COMPLETED THE ABOVE REFERENCED TRAINING AT 
(NAME OF INSTITUTION). THIS STUDENT WAS ENROLLED IN A_ (NAME OF 
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM) PROGRAM WHEN OBTAINING MINIMAL SEDATION TRAINING ON THE FOLLOWING 
DATES: 

SIGNATURE DATE 

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM SEAL PRINTED NAME/TITLE TELEPHONE 
IF APPLICABLE) 

FORM PMSP-2 (NEW 05/2021) 

www.dbc.ca.gov


ADOPT 

DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | www.dbc.ca.gov 

APPLICATION FOR USE OF ORAL CONSCIOUS 
SEDATION ON ADULT PATIENTS 

FEES For Office Use Only For Office Use Only 

Application Fee: $459.00 
(Must be enclosed with application) Rec # 

FeePd 

Date 

APPLICATION FEES Cashiered 

ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
Entity# 

File # Date Received 

This application must be completed in its entirety or the application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). Attach 
additional sheets if necessary. 
"Any material misrepresentation of any information on the application is grounds for denial or subsequent revocation of the 
permit. 
Under Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 31 and 494.5, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 
(CDTFA) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer Information with the Board. You are required to pay your state 
tax obligation. This application may be denied or your permit may be suspended if you have a state tax obligation, the state tax 
obligation is not paid, and your name appears on the State Board of Equalization, the CDTFA, or FTB certified list of 500 largest 
tax delinquencyes. 

(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE) 

1. SSN/ITIN: 2. BIRTH DATE (MM/DD/YYYY): 

3. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

4. MAILING ADDRESS (ADDRESS OF RECORD - MAY BE A P.O. BOX): 

5. PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION (PHYSICAL ADDRESS): 

6. EMAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL): 

7. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 

8. FAX NUMBER (OPTIONAL): 

FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 

www.dbc.ca.gov


9. DENTAL LICENSE NUMBER: 

10. QUALIFICATION - INDICATE UNDER WHICH METHOD LISTED BELOW YOU QUALIFY FOR AN ORAL CONSCIOUS 
SEDATION CERTIFICATE FOR ADULTS AND ATTACH APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTATION AS SET FORTH BELOW. 

SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF A POSTGRADUATE PROGRAM IN ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY 
APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION OR A COMPARABLE ORGANIZATION 
APPROVED BY THE BOARD AS PROVIDED IN TITLE 16, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS (CCR) 
SECTION 1044.2. APPLICANT MUST PROVIDE A COPY OF HIS OR HER DIPLOMA. 

SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF A PERIODONTICS OR GENERAL PRACTICE RESIDENCY OR ADVANCED 
EDUCATION IN A GENERAL DENTISTRY POST-DOCTORAL PROGRAM ACCREDITED BY THE COMMISSION 
ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION THAT MEETS THE DIDACTIC AND CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS OF CCR 
SECTION 1044.3. APPLICANT MUST PROVIDE A COPY OF HIS OR HER DIPLOMA. 

SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF A BOARD-APPROVED EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM ON ORAL MEDICATIONS 
AND SEDATION MEETING THE REQUIREMENTS IN CCR SECTION 1044.3. 

DOCUMENTATION OF 10 SUCCESSFUL CASES OF ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERFORMED BY THE 
APPLICANT ON ADULT PATIENTS IN ANY THREE-YEAR PERIOD ENDING NO LATER THAN DECEMBER 31, 
2005 AS PROVIDED IN BPC SECTION 1647.20(d)). ATTACH FORM OCS-4 WITH COPY OF TREATMENT
RECORDS. 

11. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? YES 10 
NO 

12. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLYDISCHARGED 
YESMEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES? 

NOMILITARY HONORABLE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS 

NOTE: PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH A COPY OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS 
APPLICATION: CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OR DISCHARGE FROM ACTIVE DUTY (DD-214), OR 
OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING DATE AND HONORABLE DISCHARGE TO 
RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW. 

13. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE 
YESDENTISTRY IN ANOTHER U.S. STATE OR TERRITORY, AND YOUR SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC 

PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES NO
AND WAS ASSIGNED TO A DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA UNDER OFFICIAL ORDERS? 
IF YES, YOUR APPLICATION WILL RECEIVE AN EXPEDITED REVIEW. 

MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENTS 

NOTE: IF YOU MEET THE MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENT 
PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: 

CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE OR CERTIFIED DECLARATION/REGISTRATION OF DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY 
EVIDENCE OF LEGAL UNION WITH AN ACTIVE-DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES 
A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DENTAL LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR 
TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES. 
A COPY OF THE MILITARY ORDERS ESTABLISHING YOUR SPOUSE OR PARTNER'S DUTY 
STATION IN CALIFORNIA 

FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 



14. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: YES 

YOU WERE ADMITTED TO THE UNITED STATES AS A REFUGEE PURSUANT TO 
SECTION 1157 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR NO 00 

YOU WERE GRANTED ASYLUM BY THE SECRETARY OF HOMELAND SECURITY 
OR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES PURSUANT TO SECTION 1158 OF 
TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR, 

YOU HAVE A SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA AND WERE GRANTED A STATUS PURSUANT TO 
SECTION 1244 OF THE PUBLIC LAW 110-181, PUBLIC LAW 109-163,OR SECTION 602(b) OF 
TITLE VI OF DIVISION F OF PUBLIC LAW 111-8, [RELATING TO IRAQI AND AFGHAN 
TRANSLATORS/INTERPRETERS OR THOSE WHO WORKED FOR OR ON BEHALF OF THE 
UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT]. 

IF YOU SELECTED YES, YOU MUST ATTACH EVIDENCE OF YOUR STATUS AS A 
REFUGEE, ASYLEE, OR SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDER AS PROVIDED BELOW. 
FAILURE TO DO SO 
MAY RESULT IN APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS. "EVIDENCE" SHALL INCLUDE: 

FORM 1-94, ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE RECORD, WITH AN ADMISSION CLASS CODE 
SUCH AS "RE" (REFUGEE) OR "AY" (ASYLEE) OR OTHER INFORMATION 
DESIGNATING THE PERSON A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 

SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA THAT INCLUDES THE "SI" OR "SQ" 
PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (FORM 1-551), COMMONLY KNOWN AS A "GREEN CARD," 

WITH A CATEGORY DESIGNATION INDICATING THAT THE 
PERSON WAS ADMITTED AS A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 
AN ORDER FROM A COURT OF COMPETENT JURISDICTION OR OTHER 
DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE THAT PROVIDES REASONABLE ASSURANCES TO THE BOARD 
THAT THE APPLICANT QUALIFIES FOR EXPEDITED LICENSURE PER BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 135.4. 

FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 



FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS - ALL EQUIPMENT SHALL BE MAINTAINED, 
TESTED, AND INSPECTED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS' SPECIFICATIONS 

15. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATORY LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY YES 
MODATE THE PATIENT AND PERMIT A TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE 

INDIVIDUALS TO FREELY MOVE ABOUT THE PATIENT? NO 

16. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A TABLE OR DENTAL CHAIR WHICH PERMITS THE PATIENT TO YES 
BE POSITIONED SO THE ATTENDING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY ALTER 
PATIENT POSITION IN AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE NO 
MANAGEMENT OF CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION? 

17. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A LIGHTING SYSTEM WHICH IS ADEQUATE TO PERMIT YES 
EVALUATION OF THE PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING 
SYSTEM WHICH IS BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT NO 
COMPLETION OF ANY TREATMENT WHICH MAY BE UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF A GENERAL 
POWER FAILURE? 

18. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A FUNCTIONAL SUCTIONING DEVICE THAT PERMITS YES 
ASPIRATION OF THE ORAL AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES AND A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE 
THAT CAN FUNCTION AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? NO 

19. A. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A POSITIVE-PRESSURE OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM YES 
CAPABLE OF ADMINISTERING GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW 
FOR A LEAST SIXTY MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER) EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A NO 
GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 

YES 

B. IS ALL EQUIPMENT AT THE FACILITY AGE-APPROPRIATE AND CAPABLE OF 
NOACCOMMODATING THE PATIENTS BEING SEEN AT THE PERMIT-HOLDER'S OFFICE? 

YES 
20. A. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE INHALATION SEDATION EQUIPMENT, AND IF USED IN 

CONJUNCTION WITH ORAL SEDATION, DOES IT HAVE THE CAPACITY FOR DELIVERING NO 
100%, AND NEVER LESS THAN 25%, OXYGEN CONCENTRATION AT A FLOW RATE 
APPROPRIATE FOR AN AGE-APPROPRIATE PATIENT'S SIZE, AND HAVE A FAIL-SAFE 
SYSTEM? 

YES 
B. IF THE ANSWER ABOVE IS YES, IS THE EQUIPMENT MAINTAINED AND CHECKED FOR 

ACCURACY AT LEAST ANNUALLY? NO 

21. DO YOU HAVE ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT? FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS QUESTION, YES 
"ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT" MUST INCLUDE ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 

AGE-APPROPRIATE ORAL AIRWAYS CAPABLE OF ACCOMMODATING PATIENTS OF NO 
ALL SIZES 
AGE-APPROPRIATE SPHYGMOMANOMETER WITH CUFFS OF APPROPRIATE SIZE 
FOR PATIENTS OF ALL SIZES 
PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE.. 
PULSE OXIMETER 

0 

00 

00 

FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 



RECORDS - DO YOU MAINTAIN THE FOLLOWING RECORDS? 

22. ADEQUATE MEDICAL HISTORY AND PHYSICAL EVALUATION UPDATED PRIOR TO EACH 
ADMINISTRATION OF ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION. SUCH RECORDS SHALL INCLUDE, BUT YES 
ARE NOT LIMITED TO, AN ASSESSMENT INCLUDING AT LEAST VISUAL EXAMINATION OF 
THE AIRWAY, THE AGE, SEX, WEIGHT, PHYSICAL STATUS (AMERICAN SOCIETY OF NO 00 
ANESTHESIOLOGISTS CLASSIFICATION), AND RATIONALE FOR SEDATION OF THE PATIENT 
AS WELL AS WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT OF THE PATIENT, PATIENT'S CONSERVATOR, 
OR THE INFORMED CONSENT OF A PERSON AUTHORIZED TO GIVE SUCH CONSENT FOR 
THE PATIENT. 

23. ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION RECORDS INCLUDING BASELINE VITAL SIGNS. IF 
OBTAINING BASELINE VITAL SIGNS IS PREVENTED BY THE PATIENT'S PHYSICAL YES O 
RESISTANCE OR EMOTIONAL CONDITION, THE REASON OR REASONS MUST BE 

NODOCUMENTED. THE RECORDS SHALL ALSO INCLUDE INTERMITTENT QUANTITATIVE 
MONITORING AND RECORDING OF OXYGEN SATURATION, HEART AND RESPIRATORY 
RATES, BLOOD PRESSURE AS APPROPRIATE FOR SPECIFIC TECHNIQUES, THE NAME, 
DOSE AND TIME OF ADMINISTRATION OF ALL DRUGS ADMINISTERED INCLUDING LOCAL 
AND INHALATION ANESTHETICS, THE LENGTH OF THE PROCEDURE, ANY 
COMPLICATIONS OF ORAL SEDATION, AND A STATEMENT OF THE PATIENT'S CONDITION 
AT THE TIME OF DISCHARGE. 

24. DO YOU MAINTAIN DOCUMENTATION SHOWING THAT ALL EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT AND YES 
DRUGS ARE CHECKED AND MAINTAINED ON A PRUDENT AND REGULARLY SCHEDULED 
BASIS? NO 

25. DO YOU HAVE AVAILABLE AND READILY ACCESSIBLE AN EMERGENCY KIT OR CART YES 
THAT INCLUDES THE ITEMS LISTED AS FOLLOWS? 

NO 
(A) THE NECESSARY AND APPROPRIATE DRUGS AND AGE- AND SIZE-APPROPRIATE 

EQUIPMENT TO RESUSCITATE A NONBREATHING AND UNCONSCIOUS PATIENT AND 
PROVIDE CONTINUOUS SUPPORT WHILE THE PATIENT IS TRANSPORTED TO A 
MEDICAL FACILITY 

(B) EMERGENCY DRUGS OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES: 

. EPINEPHRINE 
. BRONCHODILATOR 
. APPROPRIATE DRUG ANTAGONISTS 
. ANTIHISTAMINEC 
. ANTICHOLINERGIC 
. ANTICONVULSANT 
. OXYGEN 
. DEXTROSE OR OTHER ANTIHYPOGLYCEMIC 

26. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES OF ALL LOCATIONS OF PRACTICE WHERE YOU ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION. ALL OFFICES SHALL MEET THE STANDARDS SET 
FORTH IN REGULATIONS ADOPTED BY THE BOARD AT TITLE 16, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 
SECTION 1044.5. 

IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON THE BACK OF THIS PAGE. 

FORM OCS-C(NEW 05/2021) 



Certification - I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, 
including any attachments, is true and correct. 

Date: Signature of Applicant 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS: Except for the email address and fax number, the information requested 
herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Board of California (Board), 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, 
Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300, in accordance with Business and Professions Code 
(BPC)sections 1600 et seq. The Board collects the personal information requested on the following form as authorized by 
BPC sections 27, 30, 31, 114.5, 115.4, 135.4, 480, 494.5, 1647.19, 1647.20, 1715, and Title 16, California Code of 
Regulations sections 1044.1 and 1044.5. The Board uses this information to identify and evaluate applicants for permit or 
licensure, issue and renew licenses, and enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation.

and 

Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. 
Disclosure of your Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory, and collection is 
authorized by BPC sections 29.5, 30, 31, and 494.5, and Pub. L 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. $ 405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security 
number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family 
support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, measurement of employment outcomes of students who 

participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community Colleges as required by BPC 
section 30, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing 
is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you may be reported to the 
Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a penalty of $100. 

Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt 
from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. The Board makes every effort to 
protect the personal information you provide us; however, it may be disclosed in response to a Public Records Act request 
as allowed by the Information Practices Art, to another government agency as required by state or federal law or Civil 
Code section 1798.24; or in response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. Your name and 
address listed on this application will be disclosed to the public upon request if and when you become licensed. 

per agency 

request 

FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 8/15/22 



STATE OF CALIFORNIA - STATE AND CONSUMER SERVICES AGENCY ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor 

DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
1432 HOWE AVENUE, SUITE 85. SACRAMENTO, CA 95825-3241 

TELEPHONE. (916) 263-2300 
FAX. (916) 263-2140Consumer 

Allairs [Adopt] 
APPLICATION FOR ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION 
FOR MINORS CERTIFICATE Receipt No. RC 

Sections 1647.10-1647.17 Business and Professions Code; 
Title 16 California Code of Regulations Sections 1044 - 1044.5 

Amount 

Certificate No 

Initials. 

Non Refundable FEE: $200 
(must be enclosed with application) 

Section 1021 Title 16 California Code of Regulations 

Issued 

Name 

Address of Record (Mail) 
Street and Number 

City a Code 

Address of Practice if different 
Street and Number 

City ZIP Code 

Telephone number 
FAX number 

Email address 

Birthdate REPEALDental License Number 

QUALIFICATION - Indicate under which method listed below you qualify for an oral conscious 
sedation certificate for minors and attach appropriate documentation. 

Successful completion of a postgraduate program in oral and maxillofacial surgery, pediatric 
dentistry, or periodontics approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation or a comparable 
organization approved by the Board. 

Successful completion of a general practice residency or other advanced education in a general 
dentistry program approved by the Board. 

Successful completion of a Board-approved educational program on oral medications and 
sedation. Applicant must provide completed Form OCS-2 to document completion. 

Form OCS-1 Rev. 1/05 



By initialing below and completing the application you are certifying that any location where you 
administer oral conscious sedation to minor patients meets the Board's requirements set forth in 
regulation and in this application. 

FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT 
1 . An operatory large enough to adequately accommodate the patient and permit a team consisting of at least 

three individuals to freely move about the patient. 
Initial 

2. A table or dental chair that permits the patient to be positioned so the attending team can maintain the 
airway, quickly alter patient position in an emergency and that provides a firm platform for the management 
of cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

Initial 

3. A lighting system that is adequate to permit evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a 
backup lighting system that is battery-powered and of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any 

treatment that may be underway at the time of a general power failure. 
Initial 

4. An appropriate functional suctioning device that permits aspiration of theoil and pharyngeal cavities. A 
backup suction device that can function at the time of general power allure must also be available. 

hitial 

5, A positive-pressure oxygen delivery system capable of adminis oring greater than 90% oxygen at a 10 
liter/minute flow for at least sixty minutes (650 liter "E" cylinder), even is the event of a general power 
failure. All equipment must be capable of accommodating minor patents of all ages and sizes. 

Initial 

6. Inhalation sedation equipment, if used in conjunction with oral sedation, must have the capacity for 
delivering 1009%, and never less than 25%, myger concentration at a flow rate appropriate for a minul 
patient's size and have a fail-safe system. equipment must be maintained and checked for accuracy 
at least annually. 

Initial 
7. Ancillary equipment maintained in good operating condition, which must include all of the following: 

(a) Oral airways capable of accommodating minor patients of all ages and sizes. 
(b) Sphygmomanometer wilk cats of appropriate size for minor patients of all ages and sizes. 
(c) Precordial/pretrach an telescope, 

Initial(d) Pulse oximeter. 

RECORDS 
1. Adequate medical history and physical evaluation records updated prior to each administration of oral 

conscious sedation that show at a minimum: 
(a) Name, age, sex and weight. 
(b) ASA Risk Assessment (American Society of Anesthesiologists Classification) 
(c) Rationale for sedation of the minor patient Initial 

2. Oral Conscious Sedation records which show: 
(a) Baseline vital signs. If obtaining baseline vital signs is prevented by the patient's physical 

resistance or emotional condition, the reason or reasons must be documented. 
(b) Intermittent quantitative monitoring of oxygen saturation, heart and respiratory rates and blood 

pressure as appropriate for specific techniques. 
(c) Drugs administered, amounts administered and time or times administered, including local and 

inhalation anesthetics. 
(d) Length of the procedure. 
e) Any complication of oral sedation. 
(f) Statement of patient's condition at the time of discharge. Initial 

3. Written informed consent of the parent or guardian. Initial 

Form OCS-1 Rev. 1/05 2 



EMERGENCY CART OR KIT 

1. Equipment and drugs appropriate for the age and size of the patients to resuscitate a non breathing and 
unconscious minor patient and provide continuous support while the patient is transported to a medical 
facility. 

2. Vasopressor 
Corticosteroid 

4. Bronchodilator 
5. Appropriate drug antagonists 

. Antihistaminec 
7. Anticholinergic 
8. Anticonvulsant 
9. Oxygen 
10. Dextrose or other antihypoglycemic 
11. Documentation that all emergency equipment and drugs are checked and maintained on a prudent and 

regularly scheduled basis. 

Initial 

EMERGENCIES All persons directly involved with the care of minor patients mustbe certified in basic cardiac 
life support (CPR) and recertified biennially. 

Initial 

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code 1647.14(b), a dentist who administers, or who orders the 
administration of oral conscious sedation for a minor patient small be physically present in the treatment facility 
while the patient is sedated and shall be present until discharge . the patient from the facility. 

InitialProvide the addressec of all locations of practice whenyou order or administer oral conscious sedation to 
minor patients. All offices must meet the standards set forth by the Dental Board of California in regulations 
adopted by the Board. 

REP
IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON BACK OF THIS PAGE. 

Certification - I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct and I hereby request a certificate to administer or order the administration of oral conscious 
sedation of minors in my office setting(s) as specified by the Dental Practice Act and regulations adopted by the 
Board. Falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response on this application or any attachment hereto is 
sufficient basis for denying or revoking this certificate. 

Signature of Applicant 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS 
The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by Dental Board of California. 1432 Howe Ave. Suite 85. Sacramento. CA 

95825. Executive Officer. 916-263-2300. in accordance with Business & Professions Code. $1600 et seq. Failure to provide all or 
any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Each individual has the right to review the 
personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt from disclosure. Applicants are advised that the names(s] and 
address(es) submitted may. under limited circumstances. be made public. 

Form OCS-1 Rev. 1/05 



REPEALED 



C 
STATE OF CALIFORNIA - STATE AND CONSUMER SERVICES AGENCY ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor 

DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
1432 HOWE AVENUE, SUITE 85, SACRAMENTO, CA 95825-3241 

TELEPHONE: (916) 263-2300 
FAX: (916) 263-2140Consumer 

Affairs [REPEAL] 

APPLICATION FOR ADULT ORAL CONSCIOUS 
SEDATION CERTIFICATE Receipt No. Re 

Sections 1647.18-1647.26 Business and Professions Code; 
Amount Initials 

Non Refundable FEE: $200 Certificate No 
(must be enclosed with application) 

Section 1021 Title 16 California Code of Regulations Issued 

Name 

Address of Record (Mail) 
Street and Number 

City ZIP Code 

Address of Practice if different 
Street and Number 

City ZIP Code 

Telephone number ( FAX 

Email address 

Birthdate Dental License Number 

QUALIFICATION -Indicate under which method listed below you qualify for an oral conscious 
sedation certificate for adults and attach appropriate documentation. 

successful completion of a postgraduate program in oral and maxillofacial surgery approved by 
the Commission on Dental Accreditation or a comparable organization approved by the Board. 
Applicant must provide a copy of his or her diploma. 

Successful completion of a periodontics or general practice residency or advanced education in a 
general dentistry post-doctoral program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 
that meets the didactic and clinical requirements of Section 1044.3 of the Business and 
Professions Code. Applicant must provide a copy of his or her diploma. 

Successful completion of a Board-approved educational program on oral medications and 
sedation. Applicant must provide a copy of his or her certificate of completion. 

Documentation of 10 successful cases 1647.20(d). Attach Form OCS-4 with copy of treatment 
records. 

Form OCS-3 Rev. 03/07 1 
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Pursuant to Business and Professions Code 1647.22(b), a dentist who administers, or who 
orders the administration of oral conscious sedation for an adult patient shall be physically 
present in the treatment facility while the patient is sedated and shall be present until 
discharge of the patient from the facility: 

Provide the addresses of all locations of practice where you order or administer oral conscious sedation to adult 
patients. 

IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON BACK OF THIS PAGE. 

Certification - I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct and I hereby request a certificate to administer or order the administration of adult oral conscious 
sedation in my office setting(s) as specified by the Dental Practice Act. I understand that falsification or 
misrepresentation of any item or response on this application or any attachment is grounds for denying my 
application for a certificate. 

Signature of Applicant 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS 
The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by Dental Board of California, 1432 Howe Ave, Suite 85, Sacramento, CA 95825, 
Executive Officer, in accordance with Business & Professions Code, $1600 erseq. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information 
will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the 
agency unless the records are exempt from disclosure, Applicants are advised that the names(s) and address(es) submitted will be release to the 
public upon request and may be posted on the Internet 

RE 
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	per agency request 8/ 1 / 22 
	State of California Department of Consumer Affairs Title 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations 
	Division 10. Dental Board of California 
	SB 501 Anesthesia and Sedation Order of Adoption 
	Amend sections 1016 and 1017 of Article 4 of Chapter 1, section 1018.1 of Article 5 of Chapter 1, section 1021 of Article 6 of Chapter 1, sections 1043, 1043.1, 1043.2, 1043.3, 1043.4, 1043.5, 1043.6, 1043.7, and 1043.8 of Article 5, sections 1044, 1044.1, 1044.2, 1044.3, and 1044.5 of Article 5.5 of Chapter 2, and section 1070.8 of Article 2 of Chapter 3, and add 
	section 1017.1 of Article 4 of Chapter 1, section 1043.8.1 of Article 5 of Chapter 2 and sections 1043.9, 1043.9.1, and 1043.9.2 of Article 5.1 of Chapter 2 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows: 
	Chapter 1. General Provisions Applicable to All Licensees 
	Article 4. Continuing Education 
	$ 1016. Continuing Education Courses and Providers. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Definition of Terms: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Course of Study Defined. "Course of study" means an orderly learning experience in an area of study pertaining to dental and medical health, preventive dental services, diagnosis and treatment planning, clinical procedures, basic health sciences, dental practice management and administration, communication, ethics, patient management or the Dental Practice Act and other laws specifically related to dental practice. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Coursework Defined. The term "Coursework" used herein refers to materials presented or used for continuing education and shall be designed and delivered in a manner that serves to directly enhance the licensee's knowledge, skill and competence in the provision of service to patients or the community. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Courses of study for continuing education credit shall include: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Mandatory courses required by the Board for license renewal to include a Board-approved course in Infection Control, a Board-approved course in the California Dental Practice Act and completion of certification in Basic Life Support. 

	A)
	A)
	 At a minimum, course content for a Board-approved course in Infection 


	Control shall include all content of Section 1005 and the application of the regulations in the dental environment. 
	Dental Board of California 
	Order of Adoption 
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	(B)
	(B)
	(B)
	 At a minimum, course content for the Dental Practice Act [Division 2, Chapter 4 of the Code (beginning with $1600)] shall instruct on acts in violation of the Dental Practice Act and attending regulations, and other statutory mandates relating to the dental practice. This includes utilization and scope of practice for auxiliaries and dentists; laws governing the prescribing of drugs; citations, fines, revocation and suspension of a license, and license renewal; and the mandatory reporter obligations set fo

	(C)
	(C)
	 The mandatory requirement for certification in Basic Life Support shall be met 


	by completion of either: () An American Heart Association (AHA) or American Red Cross (ARC) course in Basic Life Support (BLS) or, 
	(ii) A BLS course taught by a provider approved by the American Dental Association's Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP) or the Academy of General Dentistry's Program Approval for Continuing Education (PACE). For the purposes of this section, a Basic Life Support course shall include all of the following: 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Instruction in both adult and pediatric CPR, including 2-rescuer scenarios; 

	2.
	2.
	 Instruction in foreign-body airway obstruction: 

	3.
	3.
	 Instruction in relief of choking for adults, child and infant; 

	4.
	4.
	 Instruction in the use of automated external defibrillation with CPR; and; 

	5.
	5.
	 A live, in-person skills practice session, a skills test and a written examination; The course provider shall ensure that the course meets the required criteria. 


	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 Courses in the actual delivery of dental services to the patient or the community, such as: 

	A)
	A)
	 Courses in preventive services, diagnostic protocols and procedures (including physical evaluation, radiography, dental photography) comprehensive treatment planning, charting of the oral conditions, informed consent protocols 


	and recordkeeping. 
	(B)
	(B)
	(B)
	 Courses dealing primarily with nutrition and nutrition counseling of the patient. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Courses in esthetic, corrective and restorative oral health diagnosis and treatment. 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Courses in dentistry's role in individual and community health emergencies, disasters, and disaster recovery. 

	(E)
	(E)
	 Courses that pertain to the legal requirement governing the licensee in the areas of auxiliary employment and delegation of responsibilities; the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA); actual delivery of care. 

	(F)
	(F)
	 Courses pertaining to federal, state and local regulations, guidelines or 
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	statutes regarding workplace safety, fire and emergency, environmental safety, waste disposal and management, general office safety, and all training 
	requirements set forth by the California Division of Occupational Safety and 
	Health (Cal-DOSH) including the Bloodborne Pathogens Standard. 
	(G)
	(G)
	(G)
	 Courses pertaining to the administration of general anesthesia, consciousmoderate sedation, oral conscious sedation or medical emergencies. 

	(H)
	(H)
	 Courses pertaining to the evaluation, selection, use and care of dental instruments, sterilization equipment, operatory equipment, and personal protective attire. 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Courses in dependency issues and substance abuse such as alcohol and drug use as it relates to patient safety, professional misconduct, ethical considerations or malpractice. 

	(J)
	(J)
	 Courses in behavioral sciences, behavior guidance, and patient management in the delivery of care to all populations including special needs, pediatric and sedation patients when oriented specifically to the clinical care of the patient. 

	(K)
	(K)
	 Courses in the selection, incorporation, and use of current and emerging technologies. 

	(L)
	(L)
	 Courses in cultural competencies such as bilingual dental terminology, cross-cultural communication, provision of public health dentistry, and the dental professional's role in provision of care in non-traditional settings when oriented specifically to the needs of the dental patient and will serve to enhance the patient experience. 

	(M)
	(M)
	 Courses in dentistry's role in individual and community health programs. 

	(N)
	(N)
	 Courses pertaining to the legal and ethical aspects of the insurance industry, to include management of third party payer issues, dental billing practices, patient and provider appeals of payment disputes and patient management of 


	billing matters. 
	(3)
	(3)
	(3)
	 Courses in the following areas are considered to be primarily of benefit to the licensee and shall be limited to a maximum of 20% of a licensee's total required course unit credits for each license or permit renewal period: 

	A)
	A)
	 Courses to improve recall and scheduling systems, production flow, communication systems and data management. 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Courses in organization and management of the dental practice including office computerization and design, ergonomics, and the improvement of practice administration and office operations. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Courses in leadership development and team development. 

	D)
	D)
	 Coursework in teaching methodology and curricula development. 

	(E)
	(E)
	 Coursework in peer evaluation and case studies that include reviewing clinical evaluation procedures, reviewing diagnostic methods, studying radiographic data, study models and treatment planning procedures. 

	(F)
	(F)
	 Courses in human resource management and employee benefits. 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Courses considered to be of direct benefit to the licensee or outside the scope of dental practice in California include the following, and shall not be recognized for continuing education credit: 
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	(A)
	(A)
	(A)
	 Courses in money management, the licensee's personal finances or personal business matters such as financial planning, estate planning, and personal investments. 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Courses in general physical fitness, weight management or the licensee's personal health. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Presentations by political or public figures or other persons that do not deal primarily with dental practice or issues impacting the dental profession. 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Courses designed to make the licensee a better business person or designed to improve licensee personal profitability, including motivation and marketing. 

	(E)
	(E)
	 Courses pertaining to the purchase or sale of a dental practice, business or 


	office; courses in transfer of practice ownership, acquisition of partners and associates, practice valuation, practice transitions, or retirement. 
	(F)
	(F)
	(F)
	 Courses pertaining to the provision of elective facial cosmetic surgery as defined by the Dental Practice Act in Section 1638.1, unless the licensee has a special permit obtained from the Board to perform such procedures pursuant to Section 1638.1 of the Code. 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Completion of a course does not constitute authorization for the attendee to perform any services that he or she is not legally authorized to perform based on his or her license or permit type. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Registered Provider Application and Renewal 

	(1)
	(1)
	 An applicant for registration as a provider shall submit an "Application for Continuing Education Provider (Rev. 05/09)" that is hereby incorporated by reference. The application shall be accompanied by the fee required by section 1021. The applicant or, if the applicant is not an individual but acting on behalf of a business entity, the individual authorized by the business to act on its behalf shall certify that he or she will only offer courses and issue certificates for courses that meet the requiremen

	(2)
	(2)
	 To renew its registration, a provider shall submit a "Continuing Education Registered Provider Permit Renewal Application (12/15/08)" that is hereby incorporated by reference. The application shall be accompanied by the fee required by section 1021 and a biennial report listing each of the course titles offered, the 11-digit registration number issued to each course, the number of units issued for each course, the dates of all courses offered, the name and qualifications of each instructor, a summary of th


	during the last renewal period. 
	(d)
	(d)
	(d)
	 Standards for Registration as an Approved Provider 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Each course of study shall be conducted on the same educational standards of scholarship and teaching as that required of a true university discipline and shall be supported by those facilities and educational resources necessary to comply with this requirement. Every instructor or presenter of a continuing education course shall possess education or experience for at least two years in 
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	the subject area being taught. Each course of study shall clearly state educational objectives that can realistically be accomplished within the framework of the course. Teaching methods for each course of study shall be described (e.g., lecture, seminar, audiovisual, clinical, simulation, etc.) on all provider reports. 
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 The topic of instruction and course content shall conform to this section. 

	3)
	3)
	 An opportunity to enroll in such courses of study shall be made available to all dental licensees. 

	(e)
	(e)
	 Enforcement, Provider Records Retention and Availability of Provider Records 

	(1)
	(1)
	 The bBoard may not grant prior approval to individual courses unless a course is required as a mandatory license renewal course. The minimum course content of all mandatory continuing education courses for all registered providers 


	is set out in subsections (b)(1)(A-C). Providers shall be expected to adhere to these minimum course content requirements or risk registered provider status. Beginning January 1, 2006, all registered providers shall submit their course content outlines for Infection Control and California Dental Practice Act to the bBoard staff for review and approval. If a provider wishes to make any significant changes to the content of a previously approved mandatory course, the provider 
	shall submit a new course content outline to the Board. A provider may not offer 
	the mandatory course until the Board approves the new course outline. All new applicants for providor status shall submit course content vullines for mandatory education courses at the time of application and prior to instruction of mandatory education courses. 
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 Providers must possess and maintain the following: 

	(A)
	(A)
	(A)
	 Speaker curriculum vitae; 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Course content outline; 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Educational objectives or outcomes; 

	D)
	D)
	 Teaching methods utilized; 

	E)
	E)
	 Evidence of registration numbers and units issued to each course; 

	(F)
	(F)
	 Attendance records and rosters 



	(3)
	(3)
	(3)
	 The bBoard may randomly audit a provider for any course submitted for credit by a licensee in addition to any course for which a complaint is received. If an audit is conducted, the provider shall submit to the Board the following information and documentation: 

	(A)
	(A)
	(A)
	 Speaker curriculum vitae; 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Course content outline; 

	C)
	C)
	 Educational objectives or outcomes; 

	D)
	D)
	 Teaching methods utilized; 

	(E)
	(E)
	 Evidence of registration numbers and units issued to each course; and 

	F)
	F)
	 Attendance records and rosters. 



	(4)
	(4)
	 All provider records described in this article shall be retained for a period of 
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	no less than three provider renewal periods. 
	(f)
	(f)
	(f)
	 Withdrawal of Provider Registration 

	(1)
	(1)
	 The bBoard retains the right and authority to audit or monitor courses given by any provider. The bBoard may withdraw or place restrictions on a provider's registration if the provider has disseminated any false or misleading information in connection with the continuing education program, fails to comply with regulations, misrepresents the course offered, makes any false statement on its application or otherwise violates any provision of the Dental Practice Act or the regulations adopted thereunder. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Any provider whose registration is withdrawn or restricted shall be granted a hearing before the executive officer or his or her designee prior to the effective date of such action. The provider shall be given at least ten days notice of the grounds for the proposed action and the time and place of such hearing. 

	(g)
	(g)
	 Provider Issuance of Units of Credit for Attendance One unit of credit shall be granted for every hour of contact instruction and may be issued in half-hour increments. Such increments shall be represented by the use of a decimal point in between the first two numbers of the 11-digit registration number of the course. This credit shall apply to either academic or clinical instruction. Eight units shall be the maximum continuing education credits granted in one day. 

	(h)
	(h)
	 Additional Provider Responsibilities 

	(1)
	(1)
	 A provider shall furnish a written certification of course completion to each licensee certifying that the licensee has met the attendance requirements of the course. Such certification shall not be issued until completion of the course and shall contain the following: 

	A)
	A)
	 The licensee's, name and license or permit number, the provider's name, the 11-digit course registration number in the upper left hand corner of the certificate, date or dates attended, the number of units earned, and a place for the licensee to sign and date verifying attendance. 

	(B)
	(B)
	 An authorizing signature of the provider or the providing entity and a statement that reads: "All of the information contained on this certificate is truthful and accurate." 

	(C)
	(C)
	 A statement on each certification that reads: "Completion of this course does 


	not constitute authorization for the attendee to perform any services that he or she is not legally authorized to perform based on his or her license or permit type." 
	(2) If an individual whose license or permit has been cancelled, revoked, or voluntarily surrendered attends and completes a continuing education course, the provider or attendee may document on the certificate of course completion the license or permit number the individual held before the license or permit was cancelled, revoked, or 
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	voluntarily surrendered. 
	(3) When two or more registered providers co-sponsor a course, only one provider 
	number shall be used for that course and that provider must assume full responsibility for compliance with the requirements of this article. 
	(4)
	(4)
	(4)
	 Only Board-approved providers whose course content outlines for Infection Control and California Dental Practice Act have been submitted and approved by the Board may issue continuing education certifications to participants of these courses. 

	(5)
	(5)
	 The instructor of a course who holds a current and active license or permit to practice issued by the Board may receive continuing education credit for up to 20% of their total required units per renewal period for the course or courses they teach for a provider other than themselves. 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Upon request, a provider shall issue a duplicate certification to a licensee whose name appears on the provider's original roster of course attendees. A provider may not issue a duplicate certification to a licensee whose name is not on the original roster of course attendees. The provider, not the licensee shall clearly mark on the certificate the word "duplicate." 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Providers shall place the following statement on all certifications, course 


	advertisements, brochures and other publications relating to all course offerings. "This course meets the Dental Board of California's requirements for _(number of)_units of continuing education." 
	(i)
	(i)
	(i)
	 Out of State Courses and Courses Offered by Other Authorized and Non-Authorized Providers 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Notwithstanding subdivision (b) of Section 1016, licensees who attend continuing education courses given by providers approved by the American Dental Association's Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP) or the Academy of General Dentistry's Program Approval for Continuing Education (PACE) and who obtain a certification of attendance from the provider or sponsor shall be given credit towards his or her total continuing education requirement for renewal of his or her license with 


	the exception of mandatory continuing education courses, if the course meets the requirements of continuing education set forth in this section. 
	(b) A licensee who attends a course or program that meets all content requirements for continuing education pursuant to these regulations, but was presented outside California by a provider not approved by the Board, may petition the Board for consideration of the course by submitting information on course content, course duration and evidence from the provider of course completion. When the necessary requirements have been fulfilled, the bBoard may issue a written certificate of course completion for the a
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	Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1645, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 1645, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1017. Continuing Education Units Required for Renewal of a License or Permit. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 As a condition of renewal, all licensees are required to complete continuing education as follows: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Two units of continuing education in Infection Control specific to California regulations as defined in section 1016(b)(1)(A). 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Two units of continuing education in the California Dental Practice Act and its related regulations as defined in section 1016(b)(1)(B) 

	(3)
	(3)
	 A maximum of four units of a course in Basic Life Support as specified in section 1016(b)(1)(C). 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Mandatory continuing education units count toward the total units required to renew a license or permit; however, failure to complete the mandatory courses will result in non-renewal of a license or permit. Any continuing education units accumulated before April 8, 2010 that meet the requirements in effect on the date the units were accumulated will be accepted by the Board for license or permit renewals taking place on or after April 8, 2010. 


	() All licensees shall accumulate the continuing education units equal to the number of 
	units indicated below during the biennial license or permit renewal period assigned by 
	the Board on each license or permit. All licensees shall verify to the Board that he or 
	she who has been issued a license or permit to practice for a period less than two 
	years shall begin accumulating continuing education credits within the next biennial 
	renewal period occurring after the issuance of a new license or permit to practice. 
	(1)
	(1)
	(1)
	 Dentists: 50 units. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Registered dental hygienists: 25 units. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Registered dental assistants: 25 units. 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Dental Sedation Assistant Permit Holders: 25 units. 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Orthodontic Assistant Permit Holders: 25 units. 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Registered dental hygienists in extended functions: 25 units. 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Registered dental assistants in extended functions: 25 units. 

	(8)
	(8)
	 Registered dental hygienists in alternative practice: 35 units. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 Each dentist licensee who holds a general anesthesia permit shall complete, as a condition of permit renewal, continuing education requirements pursuant to Section 1646.5 of the Business and Professions Code at least once every two years, and either 

	(1)
	(1)
	 an advanced cardiac life support course which is approved by the American Heart Association and which includes an examination on the materials presented in the course or (2) any other advanced cardiac life support course which is identical in all respects, except for the omission of materials that relate solely to hospital emergencies or neonatology, to the course entitled "2005 American Heart Association Guidelines for 
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	Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care" published by the American Heart Association December 13, 2005 which is incorporated herein by reference. 
	(e)
	(e)
	(e)
	 Each dentist licensee who holds a consciousmoderate sedation permit shall complete at least once every two years a minimum of 15 total units of coursework related to the administration of consciousmoderate sedation and to medical emergencies, as a condition of permit renewal, in continuing education requirements pursuant to Section 1647.5 of the of the Business and Professions Code. Refusal to execute the required assurance shall result in non-renewal of the permit. 

	(f)
	(f)
	 Each dentist licensee who holds an oral conscious sedation permit for minors, as a condition of permit renewal, shall complete at least once every two years a minimum of 7 total units of coursework related to the subject area in continuing education requirements pursuant to Section 1647.13 of the Business and Professions Code. 

	(9)
	(9)
	 Each dentist licensee who holds an oral conscious sedation permit for adults, as a condition of permit renewal, shall complete at least once every two years a minimum of 7 total units of coursework related to the subject area in continuing education requirements pursuant to Section 1647.21 of the of the Business and Professions 


	Code. 
	(h)
	(h)
	(h)
	 Notwithstanding any other provisions of this code, tape recorded courses, home study materials, video courses, and computer courses are considered correspondence courses, and will be accepted for credit up to, but not exceeding, 50% of the licensee's total required units. 

	(i)
	(i)
	 In the event that a portion of a licensee's units have been obtained through non-live instruction, as described in Section (h) above, all remaining units shall be obtained through live interactive course study with the option to obtain 100% of the total required units by way of interactive instruction courses. Such courses are defined as live lecture, live telephone conferencing, live video conferencing, live workshop demonstration, or live classroom study. 


	() Licensees who participate in the following activities shall be issued continuing education credit for up to 20% of their total continuing education unit requirements for license renewal: 
	(1) Participation in any Dental Board of California or Western Regional 
	Examination Board (WREB) administered examination including attendance at calibration training, examiner orientation sessions, and examinations. 
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 Participation in any site visit or evaluation relating to issuance and maintenance of a general anesthesia, consciousmoderate sedation or oral conscious sedation permit. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Participation in any calibration training and site evaluation training session relating to general anesthesia, consciousmoderate sedation or oral conscious sedation permits. 
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	(4)
	(4)
	(4)
	 Participation in any site visit or evaluation of an approved dental auxiliary program or dental auxiliary course. 

	(k)
	(k)
	 The Board shall issue to participants in the activities listed in subdivision (j) a certificate that contains the date, time, location, authorizing signature, 11-digit course registration number, and number of units conferred for each activity consistent with all certificate requirements herein required for the purposes of records retention and auditing. 


	() The license or permit of any person who fails to accumulate the continuing education units set forth in this section or to assure the bBoard that he or she will accumulate such units, shall not be renewed until such time as the licensee complies 
	with those requirements. 
	(m)
	(m)
	(m)
	 A licensee who has not practiced in California for more than one year because the licensee is disabled need not comply with the continuing education requirements of this article during the renewal period within which such disability falls. Such licensee shall certify in writing that he or she is eligible for waiver of the continuing education requirements. A licensee who ceases to be eligible for such waiver shall notify the Board of such and shall comply with the continuing education requirements for subs

	(n)
	(n)
	 A licensee shall retain, for a period of three renewal periods, the certificates of courac completion issued to him or her at the time he or she attended a continuing education course and shall forward such certifications to the Board only upon request 


	by the Board for audit purposes. A licensee who fails to retain a certification shall contact the provider and obtain a duplicate certification. 
	(o) Any licensee who furnishes false or misleading information to the Board regarding 
	his or her continuing education units may be subject to disciplinary action. The Board may audit a licensee continuing education records as it deems necessary to ensure that the continuing education requirements are met. 
	(p)
	(p)
	(p)
	 A licensee who also holds a special permit for general anesthesia, consciousmoderate sedation, oral conscious sedation of a minor or of an adult, may apply the continuing education units required in the specific subject areas to their dental license renewal requirements. 

	(q)
	(q)
	 A registered dental assistant or registered dental assistant in extended functions who holds a permit as an orthodontic assistant or a dental sedation assistant shall not be required to complete additional continuing education requirements beyond that which is required for licensure renewal in order to renew either permit. 

	(r)
	(r)
	 Pertaining to licencees holding more than one license or permit, the license or permit that requires the largest number of continuing education units for renewal shall equal the licesee's full renewal requirement. Dual licensure, or licensure with permit, 
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	shall not require duplication of continuing education requirements. 
	(s)
	(s)
	(s)
	 Current and active licensees enrolled in a full-time educational program in the field of dentistry, including dental school program, residency program, postdoctoral specialty program, dental hygiene school program, dental hygiene in alternative practice program, or registered dental assisting in extended functions program approved by the Board or the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation shall be granted continuing education credits for completed curriculum during that renewal period. In the event of audi

	t)
	t)
	 Current and active dental sedation assistant and orthodontic assistant permit holders enrolled in a full-time dental hygiene school program, dental assisting program, or registered dental assisting in extended functions program approved by the Board or the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation shall be granted continuing education credits for completed curriculum during that renewal period. In the event of audit, assisting permit holders shall be required to present school transcripts to the committee or 


	Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1645, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1645, 1646.5 and 1647.5, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1017.1. Processing Times. [Repealed] Continued Competency Requirements for Renewal of Permits with Pediatric Endorsements. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 As a condition of renewal, each licensee who holds a general anesthesia permit with a pediatric endorsement shall provide documentation to the Board showing completion of at least twenty (20) cases of general anesthesia or deep sedation to pediatric patients as provided in Section 1043.8.1, subsections (c)-(d). 

	(b)
	(b)
	 As a condition of renewal, each dentist licensee who holds a moderate sedation permit with a pediatric endorsement shall confirm to the Board in writing the following as part of the permit renewal requirements in Section 1043.8 ("application"): 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Whether the licensee completed at least twenty (20) cases of moderate sedation for children under thirteen (13) years of age in the 24-month time period immediately preceding application for their current permit renewal either 


	independently and/or under the direct supervision of another permit holder; 
	(2) Whether the licensee completed at least twenty (20) cases of moderate sedation for children under seven years of age in the 24-month time period immediately preceding application for their current permit renewal either 
	independently and/or under the direct supervision of another permit holder, and; 
	(3) If applicable, if the licensee lacks sufficient cases, whether the licensee is administering moderate sedation to patients under seven years of age only 
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	under the direct supervision of a permit holder who meets the qualifications of Section 1647.3 of the Code. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code Reference: Sections 1646.2, and 1647.3, Business and Professions Code. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code; and Section 15376, Government Code. Reference: Sections 15347 et seq., Government Code. 
	Article 5. Criteria for Evaluating Rehabilitation/Substantial Relationship 
	$ 1018.1. Criteria for Appointment as Agent of the Board. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 For purposes of this article, an Agent of the Board is a licensed dental professional or other licensed health care professional, whom the Board has authorized to perform delegable duties or functions. The Board may appoint an Agent to serve in one or more of the following capacities: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Conduct on-site evaluations to assess the competency of the general anesthesia and consciousmoderate sedation permit holders; 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Aid in the administration of examinations to determine the competency of applicants for licensure; 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Review written statements, dental records, radiographs and other documents to evaluate the quality of care delivered by licensees who are the subject of complaints received by the Board; 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Serve on the Examination Committee; 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Serve on the Diversion Evaluation Committee; 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Testify in criminal court and administrative hearings as an expert witness; 

	7)
	7)
	 Serve on ad hoc committees created by the Board; and or 

	8)
	8)
	 Perform any other function which the Board is authorized to delegate to an Agent. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 An Agent shall: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Hold a valid and current license in good standing issued by the Board or, if necessary to perform the functions delegated, by another healing arts board under the Department of Consumer Affairs; 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Not be the subject of an on going occupational or professional investigation, unresolved complaint, or pending disciplinary action; 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Not hold a license which is currently on probation, or which has been on probation within two years prior to appointment by the Board. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 The Board may temporarily remove the delegation of authority to an Agent, or may remove an Agent directly from his or her appointment for acts which include but are not limited to: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Be the subject of an ongoing investigation, or unresolved complaint, or a pending disciplinary action; 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Have his or her professional license placed on probation by the Board or other licensing agency; 
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	(3)
	(3)
	(3)
	 Allow his or her license to become delinquent or be cancelled; 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Be convicted of a crime substantially related to the practice of dentistry; 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Perform his/her Board-delegated functions in a negligent, incompetent or dishonorable manner. 


	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 10 and 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
	Article 6. Fees 
	$ 1021. Examination, Permit and License Fees for Dentists. 
	The following fees are set for dentist examination and licensure by the bBoard, and for other licensee, registrant, or applicant types specified below**: 
	(a) Initial application for those applicants qualifying pursuant to Section 1632(c)(2) of $400 the Business and Professions Code (the Code) 
	$800 
	(b) Initial application for those applicants qualifying pursuant to Section 1634.1 of the Code 
	$400 
	(c) Initial application for those applicants qualifying pursuant to Section 1632(c)(1) of the Code 
	$525 
	(d) Initial application fee for those applicants applying pursuant to Section 1635.5 of the Code 
	$650* 
	(e) Initial ILicense 
	$650 
	(f)
	(f)
	(f)
	 Biennial !License Renewal fee 

	(g)
	(g)
	 Biennial ILicense Renewal fee for those qualifying pursuant to Section 1716.1 ofthe cCode shall be one half of the renewal fee prescribed by subsection (f). 

	(h)
	(h)
	 Delinquency fee -+License Renewal - The delinquency fee for license renewal shallbe the amount prescribed by sSection 1724(f) of the Code. 


	$50 
	(i)
	(i)
	(i)
	 Substitute Certificate 

	(j)
	(j)
	 Application for an Aadditional Office Ppermit 


	$350 
	(k) Biennial Renewal of Aadditional Office Ppermit 
	$250 
	1) Late Change of pPractice Registration 
	$50 
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	(m) Fictitious Nname Ppermit 
	The fee prescribed by Section 1724.5 of the Code 
	$325 
	(n)
	(n)
	(n)
	 Fictitious Nname Permit Renewal 

	(o)
	(o)
	 Delinquency fee -Efictitious Nname Permit Renewal. The delinquency fee for 


	Ffictitious Nname Ppermits shall be one-half of the Ffictitious Nname Ppermit renewal fee 
	$410 
	(p) Continuing Eeducation Rregistered Pprovider fee 
	$500524 
	(q) Application for General Aanesthesia or conscious Moderate Ssedation Ppermit 
	(q) Application for General Aanesthesia or conscious Moderate Ssedation Ppermit 
	$168459 

	(r) Oral Conscious Sedation Certificate Renewal-Application for Pediatric Minimal Sedation Permit 
	$325 
	(s) General Aanesthesia (for dentist and physician licensees) or consciousModerate Ssedation Ppermit Renewal fee 
	$182 
	(t) Pediatric Minimal Sedation Permit Renewal fee 
	$2,000 
	(tu) General Aanesthesia or consciousModerate Scodation Oon-site linspection and Eevaluation fee 
	$1,000 
	(uy) Application for a Special Permit 
	$125 
	(ww) Special Permit Renewal 
	$850 
	(wx) Initial Application for an Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery Permit 
	$800 
	(xy) Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery Permit Renewal 
	$500 
	(yz) Application for an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Permit 
	$650 
	(zaa) Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Permit Renewal 
	$325 
	(aab) Continuing Education Registered Provider Renewal 
	$50 
	(abc) License Certification 
	$125 
	(acd) Application for Law and Ethics Examination 
	(acd) Application for Law and Ethics Examination 
	$368459 

	(ade) Application for Use of Adult or miner Oeral Cconscious Ssedation on Adult Patients certificate 
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	$168 (af) Adult Oral Conscious Sedation Certificate Renewal (ag) Application for Pediatric Endorsement for General Anesthesia Permit (for dentist $532 and physician licensees) 
	$532 (ah) Application for Pediatric Endorsement for Moderate Sedation Permit *Fee pro-rated based on applicant's birth date. ** Examination, licensure, and permit fees for dentistry may not all be included in this section, and may appear in the Business and Professions-Code. Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614, 1635.5, 1634.2(c), 1724 and 1724.5, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1632, 1634.1, 1646.2, 1646.6, 1647.3, 1647.8, 4647.12, 1647.1520, 1647.23, 1647.32, 1647.33, 1715, 1716.1, 1718
	Chapter 2. Dentists Article 5. General Anesthesia and (Moderate) Conscious Sedation $ 1043. Definitions. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 For purposes of this article, "direct supervision" of deep sedation or general anesthesia means the permit holder permittee is in the immediate presence of a patient while deep sedation or general anesthesia is being administered to that patient and that the permit holder permittee or a member of the permit holder's permittee's staff directly monitors the patient at all times. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 For purposes of this article, "outpatient" means a patient treated in a treatment facility which-that is not accredited by the Joint Commission on Health Care Organizations or licensed by the California Department of Public Health Services-as a "general acute care hospital" as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 1250 of the Health & Safety Code. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 For purposes of section 1682(a) of the Code: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 a patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia shall be considered "sedated" for that period of time beginning with the first 


	administration of deep sedation or general anesthetic agents until that time when the patient is again conscious with a full return of protective reflexes, including the ability to respond purposely to physical stimulation and/or verbal command, when no additional agents will be administered, the 
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	dental procedures have been completed, and after the maximum effects of all agents have been experienced by the patient; 
	(2) a patient under consciousmoderate sedation shall be considered 'sedated" for that period of time beginning with the first administration of consciousmoderate sedation agents until that time when no additional 
	agents will be administered, the dental procedures have been completed, and after the maximum effects of all agents have been experienced by the patient. 
	d)
	d)
	d)
	 For purposes of sSection 1682(b) of the Code, a patient shall be deemed to be "recovering from" consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia from the time the patient is no longer "sedated" as that term is defined in subsection (c) above until the dentist has evaluated the patient and has determined the patient is responsive, alert, has stable vital signs and is ambulatory and/or capable of being safely transported. 

	e)
	e)
	 For purposes of this article, "applicant" refers to applicants without permits, as well as permit holders subject to re-evaluation. 


	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1646.1 and 1682, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.1. Permit Application Requirements. 
	(a) A licensed dentist does not need a general anesthesia or conscious moderate sedation permit if the deep sedation, general anesthesia, or conscious-moderate sedation administered in that dentist's office is directly administered by a licensed dentist or physician and surgeon who possesses a 
	general anesthesia or conscious moderate sedation permit, whichever is applicable to the type of anesthesia or sedation services being provided. 
	(b)
	(b)
	(b)
	 For the purposes of Sections 1646.2 and 1646.9 of the Code, Aan applicant for a permit to administer deep sedation or general anesthesia OF order the administration of general anesthesia by a nurse anesthetist must be a licensed dentist in California whe: shall submit a completed "Application for General Anesthesia Permit" Form GAP-1 (New 05/2021) to the Board, which is hereby incorporated by reference. The application shall be accompanied by the application fee set forth in Section 1021. 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Has completed a residency program in general anesthesia of not less than one calendar year, that is approved by the board; OF 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Has completed a graduate program in oral and maxillofacial surgery which has been approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 If the applicant wishes to administer or order the administration of deep 
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	sedation or general anesthesia to patients under seven years of age, the applicant shall apply for a pediatric endorsement to their general anesthesia permit as set forth in Section 1043.8.1 and receive approval from the Board. 
	(ed) For the purposes of Section 1647.2 and 1647.3 of the Code, Aan applicant for a permit to administer or order the administration of conscious-moderate sedation must be a licensed dentist in California whe meets the requirements set forth in section 1647.3 of the codeshall submit a completed "Application for 
	Moderate Sedation Permit" Form MSP-1 (New 05/2021), which is hereby incorporated by reference. The application shall be accompanied by the following: 
	(1)
	(1)
	(1)
	 A completed "Certification of Moderate Sedation Training" Form MSP-2 (New 05/2021), which is hereby incorporated by reference; and 

	(2)
	(2)
	 The application fee set forth in Section 1021. 

	(e)
	(e)
	 If the applicant wishes to administer or order the administration of moderate sedation to patients under thirteen years of age, the applicant shall apply for a pediatric endorsement to their moderate sedation permit as set forth in Section 1043.8.1 and receive approval from the Board. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 The processing times for a general anesthesia or conscious sedation permit are setforth in section 1061. 


	Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1646.2, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1646.1, 1646.9, 1647.2, 1647.3 and 2827, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.2. Composition of Onsite Inspection and Evaluation Teams. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 An evaluation team shall consist of two or more persons chosen and approved by the bBoard for the first evaluation, or in the event that an applicant has failed an evaluation. For each subsequent evaluation, only one evaluator shall be required. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 The evaluators must meet one of the criteria in subdivision (b) of section 


	1043.1 the Application for General Anesthesia Permit (Form GAP-1 New 
	05/2021) for general anesthesia or the criteria in sSection 1647.3 of the Code 
	for conscious-moderate sedation and must have utilized general anesthesia, 
	deep sedation, or conscious-moderate sedation, whichever is applicable, in a dental practice setting for a minimum of three years immediately preceding their application to be an evaluator, exclusive of any general anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious-moderate sedation training. 
	(c) At least one of the evaluators must have experience in evaluation of 
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	dentists administering general anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious moderate sedation. At least one member of the team must have substantial experience in the administration of the method of delivery of general 
	anesthesia, deep sedation, or moderate sedation used by the dentist being 
	evaluated. 
	(d) Evaluators shall possess a current, active, and unrestricted license from the Board or the Medical Board of California for applicants qualifying under Section 1646.9 of the Code. For purposes of this section, "unrestricted" means not subject to any disciplinary action such as revocation, suspension, or probation. 
	(de) The bBoard may appoint a licensee member of the bBoard to serve as a consultant at any evaluation. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 1646.4, and 1647.7, and 1646.9, Business and 
	Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.3. Onsite Inspections. 
	All offices in which general anesthesia, deep sedation, or consciousmoderate sedation is conducted under the terms of this article shall, unless otherwise indicated, meet the standards set forth below. In addition. an office may in the discretion of the bBoard be required to undergo an onsite inspection. For the applicant who administers in both an outpatient setting and at an accredited facility, the onsite inspection must be conducted in an outpatient setting. The evaluation of an office shall consist of 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Office Facilities and Equipment. All equipment shall be maintained, tested, and inspected according to the manufacturers' specifications. In an office where anesthesia services are to be provided to pediatric patients, the required equipment, medication, and resuscitative capabilities shall be appropriately sized for use on a pediatric population. The following office facilities and equipment shall be available-and shall be maintained in good operating condition: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 An operating theatre large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on a table or in an operating chair and permit an operating team consisting of at least three individuals to freely move about the patient. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team can maintain the airway, quickly alter patient position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the management of cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 A lighting system which is adequate to permit evaluation of the patient's Page 18 of 41
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	skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system which is battery powered and of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway at the time of general power failure. 
	(4)
	(4)
	(4)
	 Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities. A backup suction device which can operate at the time of general power failure must also be available. 

	(5)
	(5)
	 An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face masks and appropriate connectors that is capable of allowing the administering of greater than 90% oxygen at a 10 liter/minute flow at least sixty minutes (650 liter "E" cylinder) to the patient under positive pressure, together with an adequate backup system which can operate at the time of general power 


	failure. 
	(6)
	(6)
	(6)
	 A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction, and electrical outlets. The recovery area can be the operating theatre. 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Ancillary equipment: 

	(A)
	(A)
	 Laryngoscope complete with adequate selection of blades and spare batteries and bulb. (This equipment is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 

	(R)
	(R)
	 Endotracheal tubes and appropriate connectors. (This equipment is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Emergency airway equipment (oral airways, laryngeal mask airways or combitubes, cricothyrotomy device). 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Tonsillar or pharyngeal type suction tip adaptable to all office outlets. 

	(E)
	(E)
	 Endotracheal tube forceps. (This equipment is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 

	(F)
	(F)
	 Sphygmomanometer and stethoscope. 

	(G)
	(G)
	 Electrocardioscope and defibrillator. (This equipment is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 

	(H)
	(H)
	 Adequate equipment for the establishment of an intravenous infusion. 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Precordial/pretracheal stethoscope. 

	(J)
	(J)
	 Pulse oximeter. 

	(K)
	(K)
	 Capnograph and temperature device. A capnograph and temperature 


	measuring device are required for the intubated patient receiving general anesthesia. (The equipment is not required for conscious sedation.) Patients receiving moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 
	anesthesia shall have ventilation continuously monitored during the procedure by two of the following three methods: 
	(i)
	(i)
	(i)
	 Auscultation of breath sounds using a precordial stethoscope. 

	(i)
	(i)
	 Monitoring for the presence of exhaled carbon dioxide with capnography 
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	(i)
	(i)
	(i)
	 Verbal communication with a patient under moderate sedation. This method shall not be used for a patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Records. The following records shall be maintained: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Adequate medical history and physical evaluation records updated prior to each administration of general anesthesia or conscious sedation moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia. Such records shall include, but are not limited to the recording of the age, sex, weight, 


	physical status (American Society of Anesthesiologists Classification), 
	medication use, any known or suspected medically compromising conditions, rationale for sedation of the patient, and visual examination of the airway, and for general anesthesia or deep sedation only, auscultation of 
	the heart and lungs as medically required. 
	(2) Moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia-General 
	Anesthesia and/or conscious sedation records, which shall include a time-oriented record with preoperative, multiple interaoperativeintraoperative, and postoperative pulse oximetry (every 5 minutes intraoperatively and every 15 minutes postoperatively for general anesthesia or deep sedation) and blood 
	pressure and pulse readings, (both every 5 minutes intraoperatively for general anosthesia or deep sedation), drugs, amounts administered and time administered, length of the procedure, any complications of anesthesia or sedation and a statement of the patient's condition at time of discharge. 
	(3) Records shall include the category of the provider responsible for sedation oversight, the category of the provider delivering sedation, the category of the provider monitoring the patient during sedation, and whether the person supervising the sedation performed one or more of the procedures. Categories of providers are defined in Section 1680(z)(3) of the 
	Code. 
	(34)
	(34)
	(34)
	 Written informed consent of the patient or, as appropriate, patient's conservator, or the informed consent of a person authorized to give such consent for the patient, or if the patient is a minor, his or her parent or guardian, pursuant to Section 1682(e) of the Code. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Drugs. Emergency drugs of the following types shall be available: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Epinephrine 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Vasopressor (other than epinephrine) 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Bronchodilator 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Muscle relaxant (This is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Intravenous medication for treatment of cardiopulmonary arrest (This is 
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	not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 
	(6)
	(6)
	(6)
	 Appropriate drug antagonist 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Antihistaminec 

	(8)
	(8)
	 Anticholinergic 

	(9)
	(9)
	 Antiarrhythmic (This is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 

	(10)
	(10)
	 Coronary artery vasodilator 

	(11)
	(11)
	 Antihypertensive (This is not required for consciousmoderate sedation.) 

	(12)
	(12)
	 Anticonvulsant 

	(13)
	(13)
	 Oxygen 

	(14)
	(14)
	 50% dextrose or other antihypoglycemic 

	(d)
	(d)
	 Prior to an onsite inspection and evaluation, the dentist shall provide a complete list of his/her emergency medications to the evaluator. 


	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1646.2, 1646.3, 1647.3 and 1647.6, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.4. Evaluation Standards. 
	The evaluation of an applicant for a permit shall consist of two parts: 
	(a) Demonstration of a General Anesthesia or Docp Sedation. A dental procedure utilizing general anesthesia or deep sedation administered by the applicant must be observed and evaluated. Any anesthesia or deep sedation technique that is routinely employed can be demonstrated. The patient shall be monitored while anesthetized or sedated and during recovery from anesthesia 
	or sedation in the manner prescribed by sSection 1682 of the Code. 
	The applicant for a permit must demonstrate that he or she has knowledge of the uses of the equipment required by sSection 1043.3(a) and is capable of using that equipment. 
	(b) Demonstration of a ConsciousModerate Sedation. A dental procedure utilizing consciousmoderate sedation administered by the applicant must be observed and evaluated. Any consciousmoderate sedation technique that is routinely employed can be demonstrated. The patient shall be monitored while 
	sedated and during recovery from sedation in the manner prescribed by 
	sSection 1682 of the Code. The applicant for a permit must demonstrate that he or she has knowledge of the uses of the equipment required by sSection 1043.3(a) and is capable of using that equipment. 
	(c) Simulated Emergencies. Knowledge of and a method of treatment must be physically demonstrated by the dentist and his or her operating team for the following emergencies: 
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	(1)
	(1)
	(1)
	 Airway obstruction 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Bronchospasm 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Emesis and aspiration of foreign material under anesthesia 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Angina pectoris 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Myocardial infarction 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Hypotension 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Hypertension 

	(8)
	(8)
	 Cardiac arrest 

	(9)
	(9)
	 Allergic reaction 

	(10)
	(10)
	 Convulsions 

	(11)
	(11)
	 Hypoglycemia 

	(12)
	(12)
	 Syncope 

	(13)
	(13)
	 Respiratory depression 


	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1646.4 and 1647.7, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.5. Cancellation of an Onsite Inspection and Evaluation. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Whenever a consciousmoderate sedation or general anesthesia permittee permit holder or applicant cancels an onsite inspection and evaluation, that permittee permit holder or applicant shall provide the bBoard with a written reason for the cancellation. If the first cancellation occurs 14 calendar days or more before the date of the scheduled inspection and evaluation. the fee paid shall be applied toward the next scheduled inspection and evaluation. If the cancellation occurs less than 14 calendar days bef

	(b)
	(b)
	 If a permittee permit holder or applicant cancels the inspection and evaluation for a second time, all fees are forfeited and the permit shall be automatically suspended or denied unless a new fee has been paid and an onsite inspection and evaluation has been completed within 30 calendar days from the date of the second cancellation. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 If a permittee permit holder or applicant cancels the scheduled onsite inspection and evaluation for a third time, all fees are forfeited and that cancellation shall be deemed a refusal to submit to an inspection and evaluation, and in accordance with Sections 1646.4 and 1647.7 of the Code, the permit shall be automatically revoked or denied as of the date of the third cancellation. 


	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1646.4 and 1646.7, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.6. Grading of Inspection and Evaluation. 
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	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 The inspection and evaluation shall be graded on a pass/fail system. The grade shall be determined by the bBoard, based upon a recommendation of the evaluators, who shall make independent evaluations and recommendations. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 The evaluation team shall recommend one of the following grades: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Passed Evaluation. Permit holder or applicant met all required 


	components of the onsite inspection and evaluation, as provided in Sections 1043.3 and 1043.4; or 
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 Conditional Approval for failing to have appropriate equipment, proper documentation of controlled substances, or proper recordkeeping as provided in Section 1043.3(b). "Conditional approval" means the permit holder or applicant must submit written proof of correcting the deficiencies to the Board within fifteen (15) days of receiving notice of the deficiencies by showing the action taken by the permit holder or applicant, including retention of proper equipment or documentation, to correct the deficiencie

	(3)
	(3)
	 Failed Simulated Emergency. Permit holder or applicant failed one or 


	more simulated emergency scenario(s) described in Section 1043.4(c), as required for the on-site inspection and evaluation; or 
	(4) Failed Evaluation. Permit holder or applicant failed due to multiple deficient components required for the on-site inspection and evaluation or failed to comply with the conditions for issuance of a conditional approval, as provided in subsection (b)(2) of this section. 
	(bc) An applicant who has failed the evaluation may appeal that decision to the board and request a reevaluation. This appeal must be made in writing to the board stating the grounds for the appeal within thirty (30) days after the date on which the evaluation results were mailed. However, pPursuant to sSections 1646.4(a), 1646.9(d) and 1647.7(a) of the Code, the permit of any permit holder or applicant who has failed an onsite inspection and evaluation shall be automatically suspended 30 days after the dat
	the applicant of the failure unless, within that time period, the permit holder or applicant has retaken and passed an onsite inspection and evaluation. Upon receipt of the appeal request and an additional evaluation fee, the board will schedule an independent reevaluation of the appellant. If an permit holder or applicant has failed two evaluations, the bBoard will decide the matter and may grant or deny a permit or request further evaluation of the appellant with a board member or other board appointed re
	permit holder or applicant must successfully complete remedial education in a 
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	subject within the scope of the onsite inspection and evaluation as determined by the Board prior to being reevaluated if a third onsite inspection and evaluation is granted or prior to the issuance of a new permit 
	(ed) An permit holder or applicant who has failed the inspection and evaluation solely on the basis of a failure to demonstrate knowledge and ability in recognition and treatment of any or all of the simulated emergencies may be reevaluated only on the simulated emergencies provided the reevaluation is within 30 days. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1646.4, 1646.9 and 1647.7, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.7. Manner of Giving Notice of Evaluation. 
	Upon receipt of either an application for a general anesthesia permit or a consciousmoderate sedation permit or where the bBoard determines in any other case that there shall be an onsite inspection and evaluation, the bBoard shall determine the date and time of such evaluation and shall so inform the dentist. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1646.4 and 1647.7, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.8. Renewal. 
	A general anesthesia or consciousmoderate sedation permit shall be renewed biennially upon certification by the permit holder that he/she has met all applicable continuing education requirements in Section 1017 and continuing competency requirements for the particular permit in Section 1017.1, payment of the required fee in Section 1021 and if required, successful completion of an onsite inspection and evaluation. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1646.1, 1646.2, 1646.5, 1646.6, 1647.2, 1647.3, 1647.5 and 1647.8, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.8.1. Application for Pediatric Endorsement. 
	(a) For the purposes of Sections 1646.2(c) and 1646.9 of the Code, submission of a completed application to the Board for a pediatric endorsement for a general anesthesia permit shall include the following information and 
	documents: 
	(1) Name, mailing address or address of record, physical address, dental or 
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	medical license number, and applicant's general anesthesia permit number, if any; 
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 A certificate of completion or other documentary evidence showing completion of a residency training program as required by Section 1646.2 of the Code for a dental licensee or Section 1646.9 of the Code for a physician or surgeon licensee; 

	(3)
	(3)
	 A completed Form PE-1 (New 05/2021) "Documentation of Deep 


	Sedation and General Anesthesia or Moderate Sedation Cases for Pediatric Endorsement," which is hereby incorporated by reference; 
	(4)
	(4)
	(4)
	 A certificate or other documentary evidence of current certification in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) and Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) as provided by the American Red Cross (ARC), the American Heart Association (AHA), or the American Safety and Health Institute (ASHI); 

	(5)
	(5)
	 An application fee as set forth in Section 1021; and, 

	(6)
	(6)
	 A certification by the applicant, under penalty of perjury, that the information on the application is true and correct. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 For the purpose of Section 1647.3(d) of the Code, submission of a completed application to the Board for a pediatric endorsement for a moderate sedation permit for patients under thirteen (13) years of age shall include the following information and documents: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Name, mailing address or address of record, physical address, dental license number, and applicant's moderate sedation permit number, if any; 

	(2)
	(2)
	 A certificate of completion or other documentary evidence showing 


	completion of a residency training program as required by Section 1647.3 of the Code; 
	(3)
	(3)
	(3)
	 A completed Form PE-1 (New 05/2021); 

	(4)
	(4)
	 A certificate or other documentary evidence of current certification in Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) as provided by the American Red Cross (ARC), the American Heart Association (AHA), or the American Safety and Health Institute (ASHI); 

	(5)
	(5)
	 An application fee as set forth in Section 1021; and, 

	(6)
	(6)
	 A certification by the applicant, under penalty of perjury, that the information on the application is true and correct 
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	C 
	(c)
	(c)
	(c)
	 Upon request by the Board in any investigation of the information provided on Form PE-1 (New 05/2021), applicants shall also provide documentation or patient records for each deep sedation and general anesthesia or moderate sedation pediatric case listed on Form PE-1, including preoperative evaluation, medical history, monitoring of vital signs throughout the procedure, and condition at discharge. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 Applicants shall submit legible copies of the information required by this section with pediatric patient identifying information redacted. 


	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 27, 108, 1611.5, 1646.1. 1646.2, 1647.2, 1647.3 and 1646.9, Business and Professions Code. 
	Article 5.1. Pediatric Minimal Sedation 
	$ 1043.9. Definitions. 
	For purposes of this Article, the terms set forth below shall be defined as 
	follows: 
	(a) "Another sedation permit" means a current permit for deep sedation or general anesthesia, a current moderate sedation permit with pediatric endorsement, or a current permit described in subdivision (a)(2) of Section 
	1647.31 of the Code. 
	(b)
	(b)
	(b)
	 "Outpatient basis" as used in Section 1647.31 of the Code means all settings where pediatric minimal sedation is being provided to dental patients with the exception of a treatment facility that is accredited by the Joint Commission or licensed by the California Department of Public Health as a "general acute care hospital" as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 1250 of the Health and Safety Code. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 "Pediatric patient" means a patient under 13 years of age. 


	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Section 1647.31, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.9.1. Requirements: Standards. 
	(a) A licensed dentist who desires to administer or order the administration of pediatric minimal sedation on an outpatient basis is not required to apply to the 
	Board for a pediatric minimal sedation permit if they possess another sedation permit from the Board. 
	(b) For the purposes of Sections 1647.31 and 1647.32 of the Code, an 
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	applicant for a pediatric minimal sedation permit shall submit a completed 
	"Application for Pediatric Minimal Sedation Permit" Form PMSP-1 (New 
	05/2021), which is hereby incorporated by reference, to the Board and shall be accompanied by the applicable fee as set by Section 1021. The application shall be accompanied by a "Certification of Pediatric Minimal Sedation Training" Form PMSP-2 (New 05/2021), which is hereby incorporated by reference. 
	(c) The office in which the pediatric minimal sedation is administered shall meet the facilities and equipment standards set forth in Section 1043.9.2 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1647.31 and 1647.32, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1043.9.2. Facility and Equipment Standards. 
	All equipment shall be maintained, tested, and inspected according to the manufacturers' specifications. A facility in which minimal sedation is administered to pediatric patients pursuant to this article shall meet the standards set forth herein. In an office where minimal sedation is to be provided to pediatric patients, the required equipment, medication, and resuscitative capabilities shall be appropriately sized for use on a pediatric 
	population. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Facility and Equipment. A facility shall possess: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 An operatory large enough to adequately accommodate the pediatric patient, and permit a team consisting of at least three individuals to freely move about the patient. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 A table or dental chair that permits the patient to be positioned so the attending team can maintain the airway, quickly alter a patient's position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the management of cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 A lighting system adequate to permit evaluation of the pediatric patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system that is battery powered and of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any treatment that may be underway at the time of a general power failure. 

	(4)
	(4)
	 An appropriate functional suctioning device that permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities. A backup suction device that can function at the time of general power failure must also be available. 

	(5)
	(5)
	 A positive-pressure oxygen delivery system capable of administering greater than 90% oxygen at a 10 liter/minute flow for at least sixty minutes 
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	(650 liter "E" cylinder), even in the event of a general power failure. All equipment must be appropriate for use on and capable of accommodating 
	the pediatric patients being seen at the permit holder's office. 
	(6)
	(6)
	(6)
	 Inhalation sedation equipment. If used in conjunction with oral sedation, it must have the capacity for delivering 100%, and never less than 25% oxygen concentration at a flow rate appropriate for a pediatric patient's size and have a fail-safe system. The equipment must be maintained and checked for accuracy at least annually. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 An emergency cart or kit available and readily accessible that shall include the necessary and appropriate emergency drugs and size-appropriate equipment to resuscitate a nonbreathing and unconscious pediatric patient and provide continuous support while the pediatric patient is transported to a medical facility. Emergency drugs of the following types shall be available: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Epinephrine, 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Bronchodilator, 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Appropriate drug antagonists, 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Antihistaminec, 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Anticholinergic. 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Anticonvulsant, 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Oxygen, and 

	(8)
	(8)
	 Dextrose or other antihypoglycemic. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Ancillary equipment must include the following: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Oral airways capable of accommodating pediatric patients of all sizes. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 A sphygmomanometer with cuffs of appropriate size for pediatric patients of all sizes, 

	(3)
	(3)
	 A precordial/pretracheal stethoscope. 

	(4)
	(4)
	 A pulse oximeter. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 A facility must maintain the following records: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 An adequate medical history and physical evaluation, updated prior to each administration of pediatric minimal sedation. Such records shall include, but are not limited to, an assessment including an evaluation of the airway, the age, sex, weight, physical status (American Society of Anesthesiologists Classification), and rationale for sedation of the pediatric patient and written informed consent of the parent or legal guardian of the pediatric patient. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Pediatric minimal sedation records shall include baseline vital signs. If obtaining baseline vital signs is prevented by the pediatric patient's physical resistance or emotional condition, the reason or reasons must be 
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	documented. The records shall also include intermittent quantitative monitoring and recording of oxygen saturation, heart and respiratory rates, blood pressure as appropriate for specific techniques, the name, dose and time of administration of all drugs administered including local and inhalation anesthetics, the length of the procedure, any complications of oral sedation, and a statement of the pediatric patient's condition at the time of discharge. 
	(3) Documentation that all emergency equipment is checked to determine 
	operability and safety for the patient consistent with the manufacturer's recommendation. 
	(4) Documentation that all drugs maintained at the facility are checked at least once a quarter for expired drugs and an adequate supply of drugs based upon patient demographics for the patient population served, which includes the number of patients served at the facility and the age of patients served at the facility. For the purposes of compliance with this subsection, documentation of adequate supply shall include a written explanation of how the adequate supply was calculated by the facility. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614. Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1647.30 and 1647.32, Business and Professions Code. 
	Article 5.5. Oral Conscious Sedation 
	$ 1044. Definitions. 
	For purposes of this Article and of Articles , of Chapter 4, of Division 2 of the Code, the terms set forth below shall be defined as follows: 
	2.85-and-2.86

	(a) "Outpatient basis" means "outpatient setting" as used in Health and Safety 
	Code Sections 1248 and 1248.1 and means all settings where oral conscious sedation is being provided to dental patients with the exception of a treatment facility which-that is accredited by the Joint Commission on Health Care Organizations or licensed by the California Department of Public Health Services as a "general acute care hospital" as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 1250 of the Health and Safety Code. 
	(b) A patient under oral conscious sedation shall be considered "sedated" for 
	that period of time beginning with the administration of oral conscious sedation and continuing until that time when the dental procedures have been completed, and after the maximum effects of all agents have been experienced by the patient. 
	(c) "Age-appropriate" means under 13 years of age for the oral conscious sedation certificate for minor patients and 13 years or older for the oral conscious sedation certificate for adult patients. 
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	(d) For the purposes of adult oral conscious sedation, administering a drug to a 
	patient in a dose that exceeds the maximum recommended dose as established and listed by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on the drug's FDA-approved professional labeling insert or packaging 
	information shall be considered to exceed the single maximum dose that can be prescribed for home use. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1647.10 and 1647.18, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1044.1. Requirements, Standards. 
	An applicant for an oral conscious sedation certificate shall submit to the Board either an "Application for Oral Conscious Sedation for Minors Certificate" OCS-1 (Rev. 01/05) or an completed "Application for Adult Oral Conscious Sedation Certificate" OCS-3 (Rev. 03/07) "Application for Use of Oral Conscious Sedation on Adult Patients" Form OCS-C (New 05/2021), which is hereby incorporated by reference, and shall be accompanied by the applicable fee as set by Section 1021. A dentist is not required to posse
	dentist who only possesses an adult oral conscious sedation certificate may not 
	provide oral conscious sedation to-a minor patient. Notwithstanding the above, 
	the office in which the oral conscious sedation is administered shall meet the 
	facilities and equipment standards set forth in Section 1044.5. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 1647.10, 1647.11, 1647.18 and 1647.19, Business and 
	Professions Code. 
	$ 1044.2. Board Approved Programs. 
	(a) For purposes of Section 1647.12(b) and Section 1647.20(b) of the Code, a post-doctoral program in periodontics, a general practice residency or advanced education in a general dentistry post-doctoral program accredited by 
	the Commission on Dental Accreditation that meets the didactic and clinical 
	requirements of Section 1044.3 shall be deemed to be approved by the 
	Bboard. A dentist must submit a copy of his or her certificate of completion 
	from a Bboard approved educational program as defined in Section 1044.3 or 
	diploma from a recognized dental residency or post-doctoral program as defined in this section. 
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	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1647.10, 1647.12, 1617.18 and 1647.20, Business and Professions Code. 
	$ 1044.3. Board Approved Education. 
	(a) The goal of an instructional program in oral medications and sedation is to provide the educational opportunity for dentists to receive training in the techniques and skills required to safely and effectively administer oral 
	pharmacologic agents, alone or in combination with nitrous oxide-oxygen inhalation, for the purpose of obtaining conscious sedation in the miner or adult dental patient. 
	(b) The educational program shall be approved by the Bboard and shall consist of satisfactory completion of at least 25 hours of instruction including a clinical component utilizing at least one age-appropriate patient. The program shall be 
	directed solely toward either the administration of oral conscious sedation to adult patients or the administration of oral conscious sedation to minor patients. The program shall include but not be limited to, the following areas: 
	(1) Historical, philosophical, and legal aspects of age-appropriate oral 
	conscious sedation of dental patients, including the Business-and Professions-Code. 
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 Indications and contraindications for the utilization of age-appropriate oral conscious sedation in dental patients. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Patient evaluation and selection through a review of the medical history, physical assessment, and medical consultation. 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Definitions and characteristics for levels of sedation achieved with oral sedative agents, with special emphasis on the distinctions between consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, and general anesthesia as recognized by such organizations as the American Dental Association and the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and the bBoard 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Review of respiratory and circulatory physiology and related anatomy, with special emphasis on, and clinical experience in, establishing and maintaining an age-appropriate patent airway in the patient. 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Pharmacology of agents used in contemporary oral conscious sedation techniques, including drug interactions, incompatibilityes and side effects and adverse reactions. 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Indications, contraindications, and technique considerations in the use of different contemporary age-appropriate oral conscious sedation modalities for dental patients. 

	(8)
	(8)
	 Patient monitoring during all stages of the procedure by clinical observation and appropriate mechanical devices for responsiveness, airway patency, and recording of vital signs 

	(9)
	(9)
	 Importance of and techniques for maintaining proper documentation of the procedure, including aspects of informed consent, pre- and post-
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	operative instructions, dietary considerations, preoperative health evaluation, rationale for the procedure, baseline and intermittent vital signs, a detailed record of all oral and inhalation drugs administered, the patient response to the drugs, and recovery and discharge criteria. 
	(10)
	(10)
	(10)
	 Prevention, recognition and management of complications and life-threatening situations that may arise during age-appropriate oral conscious sedation of the dental patient, including the principles of advanced life support. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 A provider of a course in oral medications and sedation intending to meet the requirements of this section shall submit to the Bboard an application, on fForm OCS-6 (FRev. 07/07), "Application for Course Approval for Oral 


	Conscious Sedation," incorporated herein by reference. The bBoard may 
	approve or deny approval of any such course. Approval shall be granted after an evaluation of all components of the course has been performed and such evaluation indicates that the course meets the requirements of this section. 
	(d) Approval by the bBoard of a course in oral medications and sedation shall 
	remain in effect for a period of twenty-four months, unless withdrawn sooner, after which a new application for approval must be submitted to the Bboard. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1647.10, 1647.12 , Business and Professions Code. 
	and-1647.20

	$ 1044.5. Facility and Equipment Standards. 
	All equipment shall be maintained, tested, and inspected according to the manufacturers' specifications. A facility in which oral conscious sedation is administered to patients pursuant to this article shall also meet the standards set forth below. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Facility and Equipment. 

	(1)
	(1)
	 An operatory large enough to adequately accommodate the patient and 


	permit a team consisting of at least three individuals to freely move about the patient. 
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 A table or dental chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the attending team can maintain the airway, quickly alter patient position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform for the management of cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

	3)
	3)
	 A lighting system which is adequate to permit evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system which is battery powered and of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any treatment which may be underway at the time of a general power failure. 
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	(4)
	(4)
	(4)
	 An appropriate functional suctioning device that permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities. A backup suction device that can function at the time of general power failure must also be available. 

	(5)
	(5)
	 A positive-pressure oxygen delivery system capable of administering greater than 90% oxygen at a 10 liter/minute flow for at least sixty minutes (650 liter "E" cylinder), even in the event of a general power failure. All equipment must be age-appropriate and capable of accommodating the patients being seen at the permit -holder's office. 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Inhalation sedation equipment, if used in conjunction with oral sedation, must have the capacity for delivering 100%, and never less than 25%, oxygen concentration at a flow rate appropriate for an age appropriate 


	patient's size, and have a fail-safe system. The equipment must be maintained and checked for accuracy at least annually. 
	(b)
	(b)
	(b)
	 Ancillary equipment, which must include the following; and be maintained in good condition: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Age-appropriate oral airways capable of accommodating patients of all sizes. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 An age-appropriate sphygmomanometer with cuffs of appropriate size for patients of all sizes. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 A precordial/pretracheal stethoscope. 

	(4)
	(4)
	 A pulse oximeter. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 The following records shall be maintained: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 An adequate medical history and physical evaluation, updated prior to each administration of oral conscious sedation. Such records shall include, but are not limited to, an assessment including at least visual examination of the airway, the age, sex, weight, physical status (American Society of Anesthesiologists Classification), and rationale for sedation of the minor patient as well as written informed consent of the patient or, as appropriate, patient's conservator, or the informed consent of a person au

	(2)
	(2)
	 Oral conscious sedation records shall include baseline vital signs. If obtaining baseline vital signs is prevented by the patient's physical resistance or emotional condition, the reason or reasons must be documented. The records shall also include intermittent quantitative monitoring and recording of oxygen saturation, heart and respiratory rates, blood pressure as appropriate for specific techniques, the name, dose and time of administration of all drugs administered including local and inhalation anesth

	(d)
	(d)
	 An emergency cart or kit shall be available and readily accessible and shall 
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	include the necessary and appropriate drugs and age- and size-appropriate equipment to resuscitate a nonbreathing and unconscious patient and provide continuous support while the patient is transported to a medical facility. There 
	must be documentation showing that all emergency equipment and drugs are 
	checked and maintained on a prudent and regularly scheduled basis. 
	Emergency drugs of the following types shall be available: 
	(1)
	(1)
	(1)
	 Epinephrine 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Bronchodilator 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Appropriate drug antagonists 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Antihistaminec 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Anticholinergic 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Anticonvulsant 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Oxygen 

	(8)
	(8)
	 Dextrose or other antihypoglycemic 


	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 1647.10, 1647.16, 1647.22 and 1647.24, Business and 
	Professions Code. 
	Chapter 3. Dental Auxiliaries 
	Article 2. Educational Programs 
	$ 1070.8. Approval of Dental Sedation Assistant Permit Courses. 
	In addition to the requirements of Sections 1070 and 1070.1, the following criteria shall be met by a dental sedation assistant permit course to secure and maintain approval by the Board. As used in this Ssection, the following definitions apply: "IV" means intravenous, "AED" means automated external defibrillator, "CO2" means carbon dioxide, and "ECG" and "EKG" both mean 
	electrocardiogram. 
	(a)(1) The course director, designated faculty member, or instructional staff 
	member may, in lieu of a license issued by the Board, possess a valid, active, 
	and current license issued in California as a physician and surgeon. 
	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 The course director, designated faculty member, or instructional staff member responsible for clinical evaluation shall have completed a two-hour methodology course in clinical evaluation prior to conducting clinical evaluations of students. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Clinical instruction shall be given under direct supervision of the course director, designated faculty member, or instructional staff member who shall be the holder of a valid, active, and current general anesthesia or consciousmoderate sedation permit issued by the Board. Evaluation of the 
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	condition of a sedated patient shall remain the responsibility of the director, designated faculty member, or instructional staff member authorized to administer consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia, who shall be at the patient's chairside while consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia is being administered. 
	(b) The course shall be of a sufficient duration for the student to develop minimum competence in all of the duties that dental sedation assistant permitholders are authorized to perform, but in no event less than 110 hours, including at least 40 hours of didactic instruction, at least 32 hours of combined 
	laboratory and preclinical instruction, and at least 38 hours of clinical 
	instruction. Clinical instruction shall require completion of all of the tasks described in subdivisionssubsections (j), (k), (1), (m), and (n) of this Section-during no less than twenty (20) supervised cases utilizing consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia. 
	(c)
	(c)
	(c)
	 The following are minimum requirements for equipment and armamentaria: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 One pulse oximeter for each six students; one AED or AED trainer; one capnograph or teaching device for monitoring of end tidal CO2; blood pressure cuff and stethoscope for each six students; one pretracheal 


	stethoscope for each six students; one electrocardiogram machine, one automatic blood pressure/pulse measuring system/machine, and one oxygen delivery system including oxygen tank; one IV start kit for each student; one venous access device kit for each student; IV equipment and supplies for IV infusions including hanging device infusion containers and tubing for each six students; one sharps container for each six students; packaged syringes, needles, needleless devices, practice fluid ampules and vials fo
	pharyngeal cavities, and laryngoscope in the ratio of at least one for each six students; any other monitoring or emergency equipment required by Cal. Code Regs., Title 16,-Section 1043 for the administration of general anesthesia, deep sedation, or consciousmoderate sedation; and a selection of instruments and supplemental armamentaria for all of the procedures that dental sedation assistant permitholders are authorized to perform according to Business-and Professions Code Section 1750.5 of the Code. 
	(2) Each operatory used for preclinical or clinical training shall contain either a surgery table or a power-operated chair for treating patients in a supine position, an irrigation system or sterile water delivery system as they pertain 
	to the specific practice, and all other equipment and armamentarium required to instruct in the duties that dental sedation assistant permitholders are authorized to perform according to Business and Professions Code 
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	C 
	Section 1750.5 of the Code. 
	(3) All students, faculty, and staff involved in the direct provision of patient 
	care shall be certified in basic life support procedures, including the use of an automatic electronic defibrillator. 
	(d)
	(d)
	(d)
	 Areas of instruction shall include, at a minimum, the instruction specified in subdivisionssubsections (e) to (n), inclusive, as they relate to the duties that dental sedation assistant permitholders are authorized to perform. 

	(e)
	(e)
	 General didactic instruction shall contain: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Patient evaluation and selection factors through review of medical history, physical assessment, and medical consultation. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Characteristics of anatomy and physiology of the circulatory, 


	cardiovascular, and respiratory systems, and the central and peripheral nervous system. 
	(3) Characteristics of anxiety management related to the surgical patient, 
	relatives, and escorts, and characteristics of anxiety and pain reduction techniques. 
	(4) Overview of the classification of drugs used by patients for cardiac 
	disease, respiratory disease, hypertension, diabetes, neurological disorders, and infectious diseases. 
	(5)
	(5)
	(5)
	 Overview of techniques and specific drug groups utilized for sedation and general anesthesia. 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Definitions and characteristics of levels of sedation achieved with general 


	anesthesia and sedative agents, including the distinctions between consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, and general anesthesia. 
	(7)
	(7)
	(7)
	 Overview of patient monitoring during consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, and general anesthesia. 

	8)
	8)
	 Prevention, recognition, and management of complications. 

	9)
	9)
	 Obtaining informed consent. 

	(f)
	(f)
	 With respect to medical emergencies, didactic instruction shall contain: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 An overview of medical emergencies, including, but not limited to, airway obstruction, bronchospasm or asthma, laryngospasm, allergic reactions, syncope. cardiac arrest. cardiac dysrhythmia, seizure disorders, hyperglycemia and hypoglycemia, drug overdose, hyperventilation, acute 


	coronary syndrome including angina and myocardial infarction, hypertension, hypotension, stroke, aspiration of vomitus, and congestive heart failure. 
	(2) Laboratory instruction shall include the simulation and response to at least the following medical emergencies: airway obstruction, bronchospasm, emesis and aspiration of foreign material under anesthesia, angina pectoris, 
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	myocardial infarction, hypotension, hypertension, cardiac arrest, allergic reaction, convulsions, hypoglycemia, syncope, and respiratory depression. Both training mannequins and other students or staff may be used for simulation. The student shall demonstrate proficiency in all simulated 
	emergencies during training and shall then be eligible to complete a practical examination on this Ssection. 
	(g)
	(g)
	(g)
	 With respect to sedation and the pediatric patient, didactic instruction shall contain the following: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Psychological considerations. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Patient evaluation and selection factors through review of medical history, physical assessment, and medical consultation. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Definitions and characteristics of levels of sedation achieved with general anesthesia and sedative agents, with special emphasis on the distinctions between consciousmoderate sedation, deep sedation, and general anesthesia. 

	(4)
	(4)
	 Review of respiratory and circulatory physiology and related anatomy, with special emphasis on establishing and maintaining a patient airway. 

	(5)
	(5)
	 Overview of pharmacology agents used in contemporary sedation and general anesthesia. 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Patient monitoring. 

	(7)
	(7)
	 Obtaining informed consent. 

	(8)
	(8)
	 Prevention, recognition, and management of complications, including principles of basic life support and resuscitation of pediatric patients. 

	(h)
	(h)
	 With respect to physically, mentally, and neurologically compromised patients, didactic instruction shall contain the following: an overview of characteristics of Alzheimer's disease, autism, cerebral palsy, Down's syndrome, mental retardation, multiple sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, Parkinson's disease, schizophrenia, and stroke. 

	(i)
	(i)
	 With respect to health history and patient assessment, didactic instruction shall include, at a minimum, the recording of the following: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Age, sex, weight, physical status as defined by the American Society of Anesthesiologists Physical Status Classification System, medication use, general health, any known or suspected medically compromising conditions, rationale for anesthesia or sedation of the patient, visual examination of the airway, and auscultation of the heart and lungs as medically required. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 General anesthesia, deep sedation, or consciousmoderate sedation records that contain a time-oriented record with preoperative, multiple intraoperative, and postoperative pulse oximetry and blood pressure and pulse readings, frequency and dose of drug administration, length of procedure, complications of anesthesia or sedation, and a statement of the patient's condition at time of discharge. 

	(j)
	(j)
	 With respect to monitoring heart sounds with pretracheal/precordial stethoscope and EKG and use of AED: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Didactic instruction shall contain the following: 

	(A)
	(A)
	 Characteristics of pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Review of anatomy and physiology of circulatory system: heart, blood vessels, and cardiac cycle as it relates to EKG 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Characteristics of rhythm interpretation and waveform analysis basics. 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Characteristics of manual intermittent and automatic blood pressure and pulse assessment. 

	(E)
	(E)
	 Characteristics and use of an AED. 

	(F)
	(F)
	 Procedure for using a pretracheal/precordial stethoscope for monitoring of heart sounds. 

	(G)
	(G)
	 Procedure for use and monitoring of the heart with an EKG machine, including electrode placement, and the adjustment of such equipment. 

	(H)
	(H)
	 Procedure for using manual and automatic blood pressure/pulse/respiration measuring system. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Preclinical instruction: Utilizing another student or staff person, the student shall demonstrate proficiency in each of the following tasks during training and shall then be eligible to complete an examination on this 
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	Ssection. 
	(A)
	(A)
	(A)
	 Assessment of blood pressure and pulse both manually and utilizing an automatic system 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Placement and assessment of an EKG. Instruction shall include the adjustment of such equipment. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Monitoring and assessment of heart sounds with a pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Use of an AED or AED trainer. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Clinical instruction: Utilizing patients, the student shall demonstrate proficiency in each of the following tasks, under supervision of faculty or instructional staff as described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be eligible to complete an examination on this Ssection. 

	(A)
	(A)
	 Assessment of blood pressure and pulse both manually and utilizing an automatic system. 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Placement and assessment of an EKG. Instruction shall include the adjustment of such equipment. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Monitoring and assessment of heart sounds with a pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 

	(k)
	(k)
	 With respect to monitoring lung/respiratory sounds with pretracheal/precordial stethoscope and monitoring oxygen saturation end tidal CO2 with pulse oximeter and capnograph: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Didactic instruction shall contain the following: 
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	(A)
	(A)
	(A)
	 Characteristics of pretracheal/precordial stethoscope, pulse oximeter and capnograph for respiration monitoring 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Review of anatomy and physiology of respiratory system to include the nose, mouth, pharynx, epiglottis, larynx, trachea, bronchi, bronchioles, and alveolus. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Characteristics of respiratory monitoring/lung sounds: mechanism of respiration, composition of respiratory gases, oxygen saturation. 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Characteristics of manual and automatic respiration assessment. 

	(E)
	(E)
	 Procedure for using a pretracheal/precordial stethoscope for respiration monitoring. 

	(F)
	(F)
	 Procedure for using and maintaining pulse oximeter for monitoring oxygen saturation. 

	(G)
	(G)
	 Procedure for use and maintenance of capnograph. 

	(H)
	(H)
	 Characteristics for monitoring blood and skin color and other related factors. 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Procedures and use of an oxygen delivery system. 

	(J)
	(J)
	 Characteristics of airway management to include armamentaria and use. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Preclinical instruction: Utilizing another student or staff person, the student shall demonstrate proficiency in each of the following tasks during training and shall then be eligible to complete an examination on this 


	Ssection. 
	(A)
	(A)
	(A)
	 Assessment of respiration rates. 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Monitoring and assessment of lung sounds and ventilation with a pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Monitoring oxygen saturation with a pulse oximeter. 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Use of an oxygen delivery system. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Clinical instruction: Utilizing patients, the student shall demonstrate proficiency in each of the following tasks, under supervision by faculty or instructional staff as described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be eligible to complete an examination on this Ssection. 

	(A)
	(A)
	 Assessment of respiration rates. 

	B)
	B)
	 Monitoring and assessment of lung sounds and ventilation with a pretracheal/precordial stethoscope. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Monitoring oxygen saturation with a pulse oximeter. 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Use of an oxygen delivery system. 

	(1)
	(1)
	 With respect to drug identification and draw: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Didactic instruction shall contain: 

	(A)
	(A)
	 Characteristics of syringes and needles: use, types, gauges, lengths, and components. 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Characteristics of drug, medication, and fluid storage units: use, type, components, identification of label including generic and brand names, strength, potential adverse reactions, expiration date, and 
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	contraindications. 
	(C)
	(C)
	(C)
	 Characteristics of drug draw: armamentaria, label verification, ampule and vial preparation, and drug withdrawal techniques. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Laboratory instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in the withdrawal of fluids from a vial or ampule in the amount specified by faculty or instructional staff and shall then be eligible to complete a practical examination. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Clinical instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in the evaluation of vial or container labels for identification of content, dosage, and strength and in the withdrawal of fluids from a vial or ampule in the amount specified by faculty or instructional staff as described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be eligible to complete an examination on this 


	Ssection. 
	(m)
	(m)
	(m)
	 With respect to adding drugs, medications, and fluids to IV lines: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Didactic instruction shall contain: 

	(A)
	(A)
	 Characteristics of adding drugs, medications, and fluids to IV lines in the presence of a licensed dentist. 

	(B)
	(B)
	 Armamentaria. 

	(C)
	(C)
	 Procedures for adding drugs, medications, and fluids, including dosage and frequency. 

	(D)
	(D)
	 Procedures for adding drugs, medications, and fluids by IV bolus. 

	(E)
	(E)
	 Characteristics of patient observation for signs and symptoms of drug response. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Laboratory instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in adding fluids to an existing IV line on a venipuncture training arm or in a simulated environment, and shall then be eligible to complete a practical examination on this Ssection. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Clinical instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in adding fluids to existing IV lines in the presence of course faculty or instructional staff as described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be eligible to 


	complete an examination on this Ssection. 
	(n)
	(n)
	(n)
	 With respect to the removal of IV lines: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Didactic instruction shall include overview and procedures for the removal of an IV line. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Laboratory instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency on a 


	venipuncture training arm or in a simulated environment for IV removal, and shall then be eligible for a practical examination. 
	(3) Clinical instruction: The student shall demonstrate proficiency in 
	removing IV lines in the presence of course faculty or instructional staff as described in Section 1070.8(a)(3), and shall then be eligible to complete an 
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	examination on this Ssection. 
	(o)
	(o)
	(o)
	 Each student shall pass a written examination that reflects the curriculum content, which may be administered at intervals throughout the course as determined by the course director. 

	(p)
	(p)
	 To maintain approval, programs approved prior to the effective date of these regulations shall submit to the Board a completed "Notice of Compliance with New Requirements for Dental Sedation Assistant Permit Courses (New 


	10/10)", hereby incorporated by reference, within ninety (90) days of the effective date of these regulations. 
	Note: Authority cited: Section 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1750.4, 1750.5 and 1752.4, Business and Professions 
	Code. 
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	2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 

	DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
	DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
	P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | www.dbc.ca.gov 


	APPLICATION FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT 
	FEES 
	FEES 
	FEES 
	For Office Use Only 
	For Office Use Only 

	Application Fee: $524.00 (Must be enclosed with application) 
	Application Fee: $524.00 (Must be enclosed with application) 
	Rec # 

	TR
	Fee Pd 

	TR
	Date 

	APPLICATION FEES 
	APPLICATION FEES 
	Cashiered_ 

	ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
	ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
	Entity# 

	TR
	File # 
	Date Received 


	*This application for a permit to administer deep sedation or general anesthesia ("general anesthesia permit") must be 
	completed in its entirety or the application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). Attach additional sheets if necessary. Any material misrepresentation of any information on the application is grounds for denial or subsequent revocation of the permit. Under Business and Professions Code sections 31 and 494.5, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 
	(CDTFA) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay 
	your state tax obligation. This application may be denied or your permit may be suspended if you have a state tax obligation, the state tax obligation is not paid, and your name appears on the State Board of Equalization, the CDTFA, or FTB certified list of 500 largest tax delinquenc 
	(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE) 
	1. SSN/ITIN: 2. BIRTH DATE (MM/DD/YYYY): 
	3.
	3.
	3.
	 LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

	4.
	4.
	 MAILING ADDRESS (ADDRESS OF RECORD - ADDRESS MAY BE A P.O. BOX): 

	5.
	5.
	 PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION (PHYSICAL ADDRESS): 


	6. EMAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL): 7. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 8. FAX NUMBER (OPTIONAL): 9. DENTAL OR MEDICAL LICENSE NUMBER: FORM GAP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	C 
	10. APPLICANT RESIDENCY TRAINING. 
	10. APPLICANT RESIDENCY TRAINING. 
	10. APPLICANT RESIDENCY TRAINING. 

	A. FOR DENTAL LICENSEES: 
	A. FOR DENTAL LICENSEES: 

	HAVE YOU COMPLETED A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN ORAL OR MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY ACCREDITED BY THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION'S COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION? PLEASE SUBMIT WITH THIS APPLICATION A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING COMPLETION OF ONE OF THE FOLLOWING; 
	HAVE YOU COMPLETED A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN ORAL OR MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY ACCREDITED BY THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION'S COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION? PLEASE SUBMIT WITH THIS APPLICATION A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING COMPLETION OF ONE OF THE FOLLOWING; 
	YES NO 
	O 0 

	(1) A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN GENERAL ANESTHESIA ACCREDITED BY THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION; OR 
	(1) A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN GENERAL ANESTHESIA ACCREDITED BY THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION; OR 

	(2) A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY ACCREDITED BY THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION'S COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION. 
	(2) A RESIDENCY PROGRAM IN ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY ACCREDITED BY THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION'S COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION. 

	B. FOR PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON LICENSEES: 
	B. FOR PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON LICENSEES: 

	HAVE YOU COMPLETED A POSTGRADUATE RESIDENCY TRAINING PROGRAM IN ANESTHESIOLOGY THAT IS RECOGNIZED BY THE AMERICAN COUNCIL ON GRADUATE MEDICAL EDUCATION? IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO THIS QUESTION, YOU ARE ALSO REQUIRED TO SUBMIT A COPY OF THIS COMPLETED APPLICATION TO THE MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA SO THAT THE DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA MAY VERIFY WITH THAT AGENCY THAT YOU HAVE COMPLETED THE REQUIRED TRAINING (BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 2079). 
	HAVE YOU COMPLETED A POSTGRADUATE RESIDENCY TRAINING PROGRAM IN ANESTHESIOLOGY THAT IS RECOGNIZED BY THE AMERICAN COUNCIL ON GRADUATE MEDICAL EDUCATION? IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO THIS QUESTION, YOU ARE ALSO REQUIRED TO SUBMIT A COPY OF THIS COMPLETED APPLICATION TO THE MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA SO THAT THE DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA MAY VERIFY WITH THAT AGENCY THAT YOU HAVE COMPLETED THE REQUIRED TRAINING (BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 2079). 
	YES NO 
	0 

	11. IN ADDITION TO A GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT, ARE YOU APPLYING FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT TO ADMINISTER DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA TO A PATIENT UNDER 7? IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO THIS QUESTION, YOU MUST COMPLETE A SEPARATE APPLICATION FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT AND MEET THE REQUIREMENTS IN SECTION 1043.8.1 OF TITLE 16 OF THE CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. YOU MAY APPLY FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT SIMULTANEOUSLY BY SUBMITTING BOTH APPLICATIONS AT THE SAME TIME. YOU MAY ALSO APPLY SEPARATELY FOR
	11. IN ADDITION TO A GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT, ARE YOU APPLYING FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT TO ADMINISTER DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA TO A PATIENT UNDER 7? IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO THIS QUESTION, YOU MUST COMPLETE A SEPARATE APPLICATION FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT AND MEET THE REQUIREMENTS IN SECTION 1043.8.1 OF TITLE 16 OF THE CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. YOU MAY APPLY FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT SIMULTANEOUSLY BY SUBMITTING BOTH APPLICATIONS AT THE SAME TIME. YOU MAY ALSO APPLY SEPARATELY FOR
	YES NO 
	00 

	NOTICE: PLEASE SEE ATTACHED MONITORING REQUIREMENTS IN BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE, SECTIONS 1646.1 AND 1646.2, AND CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS, TITLE 16, SECTION 1043.0.1. 
	NOTICE: PLEASE SEE ATTACHED MONITORING REQUIREMENTS IN BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE, SECTIONS 1646.1 AND 1646.2, AND CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS, TITLE 16, SECTION 1043.0.1. 

	PLEASE CHECK THIS BOX IF YOU WOULD LIKE THE PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION PROCESSED ALONG WITH THIS APPLICATION: 
	PLEASE CHECK THIS BOX IF YOU WOULD LIKE THE PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION PROCESSED ALONG WITH THIS APPLICATION: 

	12. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? 
	12. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? 
	YES 

	TR
	NO 


	FORM GAP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	13. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLYDISCHARGED MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES? YES 
	MILITARY HONORABLE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS NO OO 
	NOTE: PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH A COPY OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OR DISCHARGE FROM ACTIVE DUTY (DD-
	214) OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING DATE AND TYPE OF DISCHARGE TO RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW. 
	14. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY IN ANOTHER U.S. STATE OR TERRITORY, AND YOUR SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC YES PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES 
	O 

	NO
	AND WAS ASSIGNED TO A DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA UNDER OFFICIAL ORDERS? IF YES, YOUR APPLICATION WILL RECEIVE AN EXPEDITED REVIEW. 
	MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENTS 
	NOTE: IF YOU MEET THE MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENT PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: 
	CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE OR CERTIFIED DECLARATION/REGISTRATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE OF LEGAL UNION WITH AN ACTIVE-DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES 
	A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DENTAL LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES. A COPY OF THE MILITARY ORDERS ESTABLISHING YOUR SPOUSE OR PARTNER'S DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA 
	15. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: YES 
	. YOU WERE ADMITTED TO THE UNITED STATES AS A REFUGEE PURSUANT TO 
	NO
	SECTION 1157 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR YOU WERE GRANTED ASYLUM BY THE SECRETARY OF HOMELAND SECURITY OR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES PURSUANT TO SECTION 1158 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR, YOU HAVE A SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA AND WERE GRANTED A STATUS PURSUANT TO SECTION 1244 OF THE PUBLIC LAW 110-181, PUBLIC LAW 109-163,OR SECTION 602(b) OF 
	TITLE VI OF DIVISION F OF PUBLIC LAW 111-8 [RELATING TO IRAQI AND AFGHAN TRANSLATORS/INTERPRETERS OR THOSE WHO WORKED FOR OR ON BEHALF OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT]. 
	IF YOU SELECTED YES, YOU MUST ATTACH EVIDENCE OF YOUR STATUS AS A REFUGEE, ASYLEE, OR SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDER AS PROVIDED BELOW. FAILURE TO DO SO MAY RESULT IN APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS. "EVIDENCE" SI IALL INCLUDE: 
	FORM 1-94, ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE RECORD, WITH AN ADMISSION CLASS CODE SUCH AS "RE" (REFUGEE) OR "AY" (ASYLEE) OR OTHER INFORMATION DESIGNATING THE PERSON A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 
	SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA THAT INCLUDES THE "SI" OR "SQ" PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (FORM 1-551), COMMONLY KNOWN AS A GREEN CARD," WITH A CATEGORY DESIGNATION INDICATING THAT THE PERSON WAS ADMITTED AS A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. AN ORDER FROM A COURT OF COMPETENT JURISDICTION OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE THAT PROVIDES REASONABLE ASSURANCES TO THE BOARD THAT THE APPLICANT QUALIFIES FOR EXPEDITED LICENSURE PER BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 135.4. 
	FORM GAP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS - ALL EQUIPMENT SHALL BE MAINTAINED 
	TESTED, AND INSPECTED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS' SPECIFICATIONS. IN AN OFFICE WHERE ANESTHESIA SERVICES ARE TO BE PROVIDED TO PEDIATRIC PATIENTS, THE REQUIRED EQUIPMENT, MEDICATION, AND RESUSCITATIVE CAPABILITIES SHALL BE 
	APPROPRIATELY SIZED FOR USE ON A PEDIATRIC POPULATION. 
	16. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATING THEATER LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY 
	YES 

	ACCOMMODATE THE PATIENT ON A TABLE OR IN AN OPERATING CHAIR AND PERMIT AN OPERATING TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE INDIVIDUALS TO FREELY MOVE n
	NO
	ABOUT THE PATIENT? 
	17. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATING TABLE OR CHAIR THAT PERMITS THE PATIENT 
	YES 
	O

	TO BE POSITIONED SO THE OPERATING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY ALTER PATIENT POSITION IN AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE NO MANAGEMENT OF CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION? 
	18. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A LIGHTING SYSTEM THAT IS ADEQUATE TO PERMIT 
	YES EVALUATION OF THE PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING SYSTEM WHICH IS BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT 
	NO 00
	COMPLETION OF ANY OPERATION UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 
	19. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE SUCTION EQUIPMENT THAT PERMITS ASPIRATION OF THE 
	YES 
	O

	ORAL AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES AND A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE THAT CAN OPERATE AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? NO 
	20. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM WITH ADEQUATE FULL FACE MASKS AND APPROPRIATE CONNECTORS THAT IS CAPABLE OF ALLOWING THE ADMINISTERING OF GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW AT LEAST 
	YES
	NO 

	SIXTY MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER) TO THE PATIENT UNDER POSITIVE PRESSURE, TOGETHER WITH AN ADEQUATE BACKUP SYSTEM THAT CAN OPERATE AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 
	21. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A RECOVERY AREA THAT HAS AVAILABLE OXYGEN, ADEQUATE 
	YES 
	LIGHTING, SUCTION AND ELECTRICAL OUTLETS? THE RECOVERY AREA CAN BE THE OPERATING THEATER. 
	NO 
	22. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT MAINTAINED IN GOOD OPERATING YES 
	O
	CONDITION, WHICH MUST INCLUDE ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: NO 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 LARYNGOSCOPE COMPLETE WITH ADEQUATE SELECTION OF BLADES AND SPARE BATTERIES AND BULB. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 ENDOTRACHEAL TUBES AND APPROPRIATE CONNECTORS. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 EMERGENCY AIRWAY EQUIPMENT (ORAL AIRWAYS, LARYNGEAL MASK AIRWAYS OR COMBITUBES, CRICOTHYROTOMY DEVICE) 

	(d)
	(d)
	 TONSILLAR OR PHARYNGEAL TYPE SUCTION TIPS ADAPTABLE TO ALL OFFICE OUTLETS. (@) ENDOTRACHEAL TUBE FORCEPS. (f SPHYGMOMANOMETER AND STETHOSCOPE. 

	(g)
	(g)
	 ELECTROCARDIOSCOPE AND DEFIBRILLATOR. 

	(h)
	(h)
	 ADEQUATE EQUIPMENT FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF AN INTRAVENOUS INFUSION. 

	(1)
	(1)
	 PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE. () PULSE OXIMETER 

	(k)
	(k)
	 CAPNOGRAPH AND TEMPERATURE DEVICE. PATIENTS RECEIVING DEEP SEDATION OR 


	GENERAL ANESTHESIA SHALL HAVE VENTILATION CONTINUOUSLY MONITORED DURING THE PROCEDURE BY TWO OF THE FOLLOWING METHODS: 
	() AUSCULTATION OF BREATH SOUNDS USING A PRECORDIAL STETHOSCOPE. 
	(ii) MONITORING FOR THE PRESENCE OF EXHALED CARBON DIOXIDE WITH CAPNOGRAPHY. 
	FORM GAP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	RECORDS - DO YOU MAINTAIN THE FOLLOWING RECORDS? 
	23. ADEQUATE MEDICAL HISTORY AND PHYSICAL EVALUATION RECORDS UPDATED PRIOR TO 
	YES
	EACH ADMINISTRATION OF DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA. SUCH RECORDS SHALL INCLUDE, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, THE RECORDING OF THE AGE, SEX, WEIGHT, 
	NO
	PHYSICAL STATUS (AMERICAN SOCIETY OF ANESTHESIOLOGISTS CLASSIFICATION), MEDICATION USE, ANY KNOWN OR SUSPECTED MEDICALLY COMPROMISING CONDITIONS, RATIONALE FOR SEDATION OF THE PATIENT, AND VISUAL EXAMINATION OF THE AIRWAY, AND AUSCULTATION OF THE HEART AND LUNGS. 
	24. GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR DEEP SEDATION RECORDS, WHICH SHALL INCLUDE A TIME-ORIENTED RECORD WITH PREOPERATIVE, MULTIPLE INTRAOPERATIVE, AND YES POSTOPERATIVE PULSE OXIMETRY (EVERY 5 MINUTES INTRAOPERATIVELY AND EVERY 15 MINUTES POSTOPERATIVELY FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR DEEP SEDATION) AND 
	NO 
	BLOOD PRESSURE AND PULSE READINGS (BOTH EVERY 5 MINUTES INTRAOPERATIVELY FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR DEEP SEDATION), DRUGS, AMOUNTS ADMINISTERED AND TIME ADMINISTERED, LENGTH OF THE PROCEDURE, ANY COMPLICATIONS OF ANESTHESIA OR SEDATION AND A STATEMENT OF THE PATIENT'S CONDITION AT TIME OF DISCHARGE. 
	25. RECORDS INCLUDING THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER RESPONSIBLE FOR SEDATION OVERSIGHT, THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER DELIVERING SEDATION, THE CATEGORY YES 
	O 
	OF THE PROVIDER MONITORING THE PATIENT DURING SEDATION, WHETHER THE PERSON SUPERVISING THE SEDATION PERFORMED ONE OR MORE OF THE PROCEDURES. NO 
	26.
	26.
	26.
	26.
	 WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT OF THE PATIENT, OR, AS APPROPRIATE, PATIENT'S 

	CONSERVATOR, OR THE INFORMED CONSENT OF A PERSON AUTHORIZED TO GIVE SUCH YES CONSENT FOR THE PATIENT, OR IF THE PATIENT IS A MINOR, HIS OR HER PARENT OR GUARDIAN, PURSUANT TO BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 1682(e). NO 

	27.
	27.
	 DRUGS - DO YOU MAINTAIN EMERGENCY DRUGS OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES AT ALL TIMES IN CONNECTION WITH THE ADMINISTRATION OF DEEP SEDATION OR GENERAL YES ANESTHESIA? 


	NO . EPINEPHRINE (EPI) . ANTICHOLINGERGIC . VASOPRESSOR (OTHER THAN EPI) . ANTIARRHYTHMIC . BRONCHODILATOR . CORONARY ARTERY VASODILATOR 
	. MUSCLE RELAXANT ANTIHYPERTENSIVE 
	INTRAVENOUS MEDICATION FOR . ANTICONVULSANT TREATMENT OF CARDIOPULMONARY . OXYGEN ARREST . 50% DEXTROSE OR OTHER ANTIHYPOGLYCEMIC 
	. APPROPRIATE DRUGS ANTAGONIST . ANTIHISTAMINEC 
	28. EMERGENCIES - ARE YOU COMPETENT TO TREAT ALL OF THE FOLLOWING EMERGENCIES? YES 
	. AIRWAY OBSTRUCTION . ALLERGIC REACTION NO . BRONCHOSPASM CONVULSIONS . EMESIS AND ASPIRATION OF . HYPOGLYCEMIA FOREIGN MATERIAL UNDER NCOPE 
	ANESTHESIA . RESPIRATORY DEPRESSION . ANGINA PECTORIS . MYOCARDIAL INFARCTION . HYPOTENSION . HYPERTENSION 
	CARDIAC ARREST 
	29. STAFF- ARE DENTAL OFFICE PERSONNEL DIRECTLY INVOLVED WITH THE CARE OF YES 
	PATIENTS UNDERGOING DEEP SEDATION OR GENERAL ANESTHESIA CERTIFIED IN BASIC CARDIAC LIFE SUPPORT (CPR)? NO 
	FORM GAP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	Figure
	30. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES OF ALL LOCATIONS OF PRACTICE WHERE YOU ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE ADMINISTRATION OF DEEP SEDATION OR GENERAL ANESTHESIA. IF YOU ARE A PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON APPLYING FOR THIS PERMIT, PROVIDE THE NAMES OF ANY HOSPITALS WHERE YOU HAVE 
	MEMBERSHIP ON THE MEDICAL STAFF. 
	IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON THE BACK OF THIS PAGE. 
	Certification - I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, 
	including any attachments, is true and correct. 
	Date Signature of Applicant 
	INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS: Except for the email address and fax number, the information requested 
	herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Board of California (Board), 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300, in accordance with Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections1600 et seq. The Board collects the personal information requested on the following form as authorized by BPC 
	sections 27, 30, 31, 114.5, 115.4, 135.4. 480, 494.5, 1646.1, 1646.2, 1646.9, 1715, and Title 16, California Code of 
	Regulations sections 1043.1, 1043.3, and 1043.4. The Board uses this information to identify and evaluate applicants for 
	licensure, issue and renew licenses, and enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation. 
	Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Disclosure of your Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory and collection Is 
	authorized by BPC sections 29.5, 30, 31, and 494.5, and Pub. L 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. $ 405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security 
	number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family 
	support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, measurement of employment outcomes of students who participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community Colleges as required by BPC section 30, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you may be reported to the Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a pe
	Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt 
	from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. The Board makes every effort to protect the personal information you provide us; however, it may be disclosed in response to a Public Records Act request as allowed by the Information Practices Act, to another government agency as required by state or federal law or Civil Code section 1798.24; or in response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. Your name and address listed on this applicat
	FORM GAP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	ADOPT 
	ADOPT 
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 2005 Evergreen St.. Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 
	DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
	P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | APPLICATION FOR MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT 
	www.dbc.ca.gov 

	FEES 
	FEES 
	FEES 
	For Office Use Only 
	For Office Use Only 

	Application Fee: $524.00 (Must be enclosed with application) 
	Application Fee: $524.00 (Must be enclosed with application) 
	Rec 

	TR
	Fee Pd 

	TR
	Date 

	APPLICATION FEES 
	APPLICATION FEES 
	Cashiered 

	ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
	ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
	Entity# 


	File # 
	Date Received 
	"This application must be completed in its entirety or the application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). Attach additional sheets if necessary. Any material misrepresentation of any information on the application is grounds for denial or subsequent revocation of the permit. 
	* Under Business and Professions Code sections 31 and 494.5, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay your state tax obligation. This application may be denied or your permit 
	may be suspended if you have a state tax obligation, the state tax obligation is not paid, and your name appears on the State Board of Equalization, the CDTFA, or FTB certified list of 500 largest tax delinquencyes. 
	(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE) 
	1. SSN/ITIN: 
	1. SSN/ITIN: 
	2. BIRTH DATE (MM/DD/YYYY): 

	3.
	3.
	3.
	 LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

	4.
	4.
	 MAILING ADDRESS (ADDRESS OF RECORD -- ADDRESS MAY BE A P.O. BOX): 

	5.
	5.
	 PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION (PHYSICAL ADDRESS): 


	6. EMAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL): 7. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 8. FAX NUMBER (OPTIONAL): FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	C 
	9. DENTAL LICENSE NUMBER: 
	YES
	10. MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING. 
	NO
	HAVE YOU SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED TRAINING IN MODERATE SEDATION? FOR PURPOSES OF THIS SECTION, TRAINING CONSISTS OF ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 
	(1)
	(1)
	(1)
	 AT LEAST 60 HOURS OF INSTRUCTION; 

	(2)
	(2)
	 SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF AT LEAST 20 CASES OF ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR A VARIETY OF DENTAL PROCEDURES.; AND, 

	(3)
	(3)
	 COMPLIES WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE GUIDELINES FOR TEACHING PAIN 


	CONTROL AND SEDATION TO DENTISTS AND DENTAL STUDENTS OF THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, CERTIFICATION OF COMPETENCE IN RESCUING PATIENTS FROM A DEEPER LEVEL OF SEDATION THAN INTENDED, AND MANAGING THE AIRWAY, INTRAVASCULAR OR INTRAOSSEOUS ACCESS, AND REVERSAL MEDICATIONS. 
	IF YES, PLEASE SUBMIT A COMPLETED "CERTIFICATION OF MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING" (MSP-2 (New 05/2021) WITH THIS APPLICATION. 
	11. IN ADDITION TO THE MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT, ARE YOU APPLYING FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT TO ADMINSTER MODERATE SEDATION TO A PEDIATRIC PATIENT UNDER 13 
	YES 

	NO
	YEARS OF AGE? 
	IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO THIS QUESTION, YOU MUST COMPLETE A SEPARATE APPLICATION 
	FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT AND MEET THE REQUIREMENTS IN SECTION 1043.8.1 OF IIILE 16 OF THE CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. YOU MAY APPLY FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT SIMULTANEOUSLY BY SUBMITTING BOTH APPLICATIONS AT THE SAME TIME. YOU MAY ALSO APPLY SEPARATELY FOR A PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT AT A LATER DATE BY COMPLETING THE APPLICATION AND MEETING THE REQUIREMENTS IN SECTION 1043.8.1. 
	NOTICE: PLEASE SEE ATTACHED MONITORING REQUIREMENTS IN BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE, SECTIONS 1647.2 AND 1647.3, AND CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS, TITLE 16, SECTION 1043.8.1. 
	PLEASE CHECK THIS BOX IF YOU WOULD LIKE THE PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION PROCESSED ALONG WITH THIS APPLICATION: 
	YES
	12. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? 
	NO 
	YES 
	13. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLY DISCHARGED MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES? 
	NO 
	0 080 
	MILITARY HONORABLE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS 
	NOTE: PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH A COPY OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OR DISCHARGE FROM ACTIVE DUTY (DD-214) OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE 
	SHOWING DATE AND TYPE OF DISCHARGE TO RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW. 
	per agency request 8 /15 / 27 
	FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	14. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE 
	YES DENTISTRY IN ANOTHER U.S. STATE OR TERRITORY, AND YOUR SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES NO 
	AND WAS ASSIGNED TO A DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA UNDER OFFICIAL ORDERS? IF YES, YOUR APPLICATION WILL RECEIVE AN EXPEDITED REVIEW. 
	MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENTS 
	NOTE: IF YOU MEET THE MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENT PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: 
	CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE OR CERTIFIED DECLARATION/REGISTRATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE OF LEGAL UNION WITH AN ACTIVE-DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES 
	A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DENTAL LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES. A COPY OF THE MILITARY ORDERS ESTABLISHING YOUR SPOUSE OR PARTNER'S DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA YES 
	15. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: NO
	YOU WERE ADMITTED TO THE UNITED STATES AS A REFUGEE PURSUANT TO 
	SECTION 1157 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; YOU WERE GRANTED ASYLUM BY THE SECRETARY OF HOMELAND SECURITY OR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES PURSUANT TO SECTION 1158 OF 
	TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR, YOU HAVE A SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA AND WERE GRANTED A STATUS PURSUANT TO SECTION 1244 OF THE PUBLIC LAW 110-181, PUBLIC LAW 109-163,OR SECTION 602(b) OF TITLE VI OF DIVISION F OF PUBLIC LAW 111-8, [RELATING TO IRAQI AND AFGHAN TRANSLATORS/INTERPRETERS OR THOSE WHO WORKED FOR OR ON BEHALF OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT]. 
	IF YOU SELECTED YES, YOU MUST ATTACH EVIDENCE OF YOUR STATUS AS A 
	REFUGEE, ASYLEE, OR SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDER AS PROVIDED BELOW. FAILURE TO DO SO MAY RESULT IN APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS. "EVIDENCE" SHALL INCLUDE: 
	FORM 1-94, ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE RECORD, WITH AN ADMISSION CLASS CODE SUCH AS "RE" (REFUGEE) OR "AY" (ASYLEE) OR OTHER INFORMATION DESIGNATING THE PERSON A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 
	SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA THAT INCLUDES THE "SI" OR "SQ" 
	PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (FORM 1-551), COMMONLY KNOWN AS A 
	GREEN CARD," WITH A CATEGORY DESIGNATION INDICATING THAT THE PERSON WAS ADMITTED AS A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. AN ORDER FROM A COURT OF COMPETENT JURISDICTION OR OTHER 
	DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE THAT PROVIDES REASONABLE ASSURANCES TO THE BOARD THAT THE APPLICANT QUALIFIES FOR EXPEDITED LICENSURE PER BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 135.4. 
	FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS - ALL EQUIPMENT SHALL BE MAINTAINED, TESTED, AND INSPECTED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS' SPECIFICATIONS. IN AN OFFICE WHERE ANESTHESIA SERVICES ARE TO BE PROVIDED TO PEDIATRIC PATIENTS, THE REQUIRED EQUIPMENT, MEDICATION, AND RESUSCITATIVE CAPABILITIES SHALL BE APPROPRIATELY SIZED FOR USE ON A PEDIATRIC POPULATION. 
	YES 
	O

	16. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATING THEATER LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY ACCOMMODATE THE PATIENT ON A TABLE OR IN AN OPERATING CHAIR AND PERMIT AN NO OPERATING TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE INDIVIDUALS TO FREELY MOVE 
	ABOUT THE PATIENT? YES 
	17. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATING TABLE OR CHAIR THAT PERMITS THE PATIENT TO BE POSITIONED SO THE OPERATING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY NO ALTER PATIENT POSITION IN AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION? 
	YES 
	18.
	18.
	18.
	 DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A LIGHTING SYSTEM THAT IS ADEQUATE TO PERMIT EVALUATION OF THE PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING NO SYSTEM WHICH IS BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT COMPLETION OFANY OPERATION UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 

	19.
	19.
	 DOES THE FACILITY HAVE SUCTION EQUIPMENT THAT PERMITS ASPIRATION OF THE ORAL |YES AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES AND A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE THAT CAN OPERATE AT THE NO TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 


	YES 
	20. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM WITH ADEQUATE FULL FACE MASKS AND APPROPRIATE CONNECTORS THAT IS CAPABLE OF ALLOWING THE 
	NO ADMINISTERING OF GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW AT LEAST SIXTY MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER) TO THE PATIENT UNDER POSITIVE PRESSURE, TOGETHER WITH AN ADEQUATE BACKUP SYSTEM THAT CAN OPERATE AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? YES 
	21. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A RECOVERY AREA THAT HAS AVAILABLE OXYGEN, ADEQUATE LIGHTING, SUCTION AND ELECTRICAL OUTLETS? THE RECOVERY AREA CAN NO BE THE OPERATING THEATER. 
	YES 
	22. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT MAINTAINED IN GOOD OPERATING CONDITION, WHICH MUST INCLUDE ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: NO 
	a)
	a)
	a)
	 EMERGENCY AIRWAY EQUIPMENT (ORAL AIRWAYS, LARYNGEAL MASK AIRWAYS OR COMBITUBES, CRICOTHYROTOMY DEVICE). 

	(b)
	(b)
	 TONSILLAR OR PHARYNGEAL TYPE SUCTION TIPS ADAPTABLE TO ALL OFFICE 


	OUTLETS ) SPHYGMOMANOMETER AND STETHOSCOPE. 
	(d)
	(d)
	(d)
	 ADEQUATE EQUIPMENT FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF AN INTRAVENOUS INFUSION. 

	(e) 
	(e) 
	PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE. PULSE OXIMETER


	(f) 
	(g) 
	(g) 
	(g) 
	CAPNOGRAPH AND TEMPERATURE DEVICE. PATIENTS RECEIVING MODERATE SEDATION SHALL HAVE VENTILATION CONTINUOUSLY MONITORED DURING THE PROCEDURE BY TWO OF THE FOLLOWING THREE METHODS: 

	(i)
	(i)
	 AUSCULTATION OF BREATH SOUNDS USING A PRECORDIAL STETHOSCOPE. 

	(ii)
	(ii)
	 MONITORING FOR THE PRESENCE OF EXHALED CARBON DIOXIDE WITH CAPNOGRAPHY. 


	(ili) VERBAL COMMUNICATION WITH A PATIENT UNDER MODERATE SEDATION. 
	FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	C 
	RECORDS - DO YOU MAINTAIN THE FOLLOWING RECORDS? 
	23. ADEQUATE MEDICAL HISTORY AND PHYSICAL EVALUATION RECORDS UPDATED PRIOR TO YES 
	EACH ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION. SUCH RECORDS SHALL INCLUDE, BUT ARE NO
	NOT LIMITED TO, THE RECORDING OF THE AGE, SEX, WEIGHT, PHYSICAL STATUS (AMERICAN 
	SOCIETY OF ANESTHESIOLOGISTS CLASSIFICATION), MEDICATION USE, ANY KNOWN OR SUSPECTED MEDICALLY COMPROMISING CONDITIONS, RATIONALE FOR SEDATION OF THE PATIENT, AND VISUAL EXAMINATION OF THE AIRWAY 
	24. MODERATE SEDATION RECORDS, WHICH SHALL INCLUDE A TIME-ORIENTED RECORD WITH YES PREOPERATIVE, MULTIPLE INTRAOPERATIVE, AND POSTOPERATIVE PULSE OXIMETRY EVERY 5 MINUTES INTRAOPERATIVELY), DRUGS, AMOUNTS ADMINISTERED AND TIME 
	NO 
	ADMINISTERED, LENGTH OF THE PROCEDURE, ANY COMPLICATIONS OF SEDATION AND A STATEMENT OF THE PATIENT'S CONDITION AT TIME OF DISCHARGE. 
	25.
	25.
	25.
	 RECORDS INCLUDING THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER RESPONSIBLE FOR SEDATION YES OVERSIGHT, THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER DELIVERING SEDATION, THE CATEGORY OF THE PROVIDER MONITORING THE PATIENT DURING SEDATION, AND WHETHER THE NO PERSON SUPERVISING THE SEDATION PERFORMED ONE OR MORE OF THE PROCEDURES 

	26.
	26.
	 WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT OF THE PATIENT, OR, AS APPROPRIATE, PATIENT'S YES CONSERVATOR, OR THE INFORMED CONSENT OF A PERSON AUTHORIZED TO GIVE SUCH CONSENT FOR THE PATIENT, OR IF THE PATIENT IS A MINOR, HIS OR HER PARENT OR NO GUARDIAN, PURSUANT TO BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 1682(e). 

	27.
	27.
	 DRUGS - DO YOU MAINTAIN EMERGENCY DRUGS OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES AT ALL TIMES YES IN CONNECTION WITH THE ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION? 


	NO . EPINEPHRINE (EPI) . ANTICONVULSANT . VASOPRESSOR (OTHER THAN EPI) . OXYGEN . BRONCHODILATOR - 50% DEXTROSE OR OTHER 
	. APPROPRIATE DRUG 
	ANTIHYPOGLYCEMIC ANTAGONIST . ANTIHISTAMINEC . ANTICHOLINGERGIC . CORONARY ARTERY VASODILATOR 
	28. EMERGENCIES - ARE YOU COMPETENT TO TREAT ALL OF THE FOLLOWING YES 
	EMERGENCIES? 
	. AIRWAY OBSTRUCTION 
	. BRONCHOSPASM 
	. EMESIS AND ASPIRATION OF FOREIGN MATERIAL UNDER ANESTHESIA 
	. ANGINA PECTORIS 
	. MYOCARDIAL INFARCTION 
	. HYPOTENSION . HYPERTENSION . CARDIAC ARREST 
	NO . ALLERGIC REACTION CONVULSIONS HYPOGLYCEMIA SYNCOPE . RESPIRATORY DEPRESSION 
	29. STAFF- ARE DENTAL OFFICE PERSONNEL DIRECTLY INVOLVED WITH THE CARE OF 
	29. STAFF- ARE DENTAL OFFICE PERSONNEL DIRECTLY INVOLVED WITH THE CARE OF 
	29. STAFF- ARE DENTAL OFFICE PERSONNEL DIRECTLY INVOLVED WITH THE CARE OF 
	YES 

	PATIENTS UNDERGOING MODERATE SEDATION CERTIFIED IN BASIC CARDIAC LIFE 
	PATIENTS UNDERGOING MODERATE SEDATION CERTIFIED IN BASIC CARDIAC LIFE 

	SUPPORT (CPR)? 
	SUPPORT (CPR)? 
	NO 


	FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	30. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES OF ALL LOCATIONS OF PRACTICE WHERE YOU ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION. ALL OFFICES SHALL MEET THE STANDARDS SET FORTH IN THE BOARD'S REGULATIONS IN ARTICLE 5 (COMMENCING WITH SECTION 1043) OF TITLE 16 OF THE CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS. 
	IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON THE BACK OF THIS PAGE. 
	Certification - I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, including any attachments, is true and correct. 
	Date Signature of Applicant 
	INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS: Except for the email address and fax number, the information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Board of California (Board), 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300, in accordance with Business and Professions Code (BPC)sections 1600 et seq. The Board collects the personal information requested on the following form as authorized by BPC sections 27, 30, 31, 114.5, 115.4, 135.4, 480, 494.5, 1647.2, 
	Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Disclosure of your Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory and collection is authorized by BPC sections 29.5, 30, 31, and 494.5,and Pub. L 94-455 (42 
	U.S.C.A. $ 405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement 
	purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, measurement of employment outcomes of students who participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community Colleges as required by BPC section 30, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you 
	to the Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a penalty of $100. 
	Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the 
	records are exempt from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. The Board makes every effort to protect the personal information you provide us; however, it may be disclosed in response to a Public Records Act request as allowed by the Information Practices Act, to another government agency as required by state or federal law or Civil Code section 1798.24; or in response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. Your name and address list
	on this application will be disclosed to the public upon request if and when you become licensed 
	FORM MSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY . GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR 
	DEL _ BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 
	DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
	P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | 
	www.dbc.ca.gov 

	CERTIFICATION OF MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING 

	ADOPT 
	ADOPT 
	Notice to Applicants This completed form must be submitted to the Dental Board of California (Board) with your application for a moderate sedation permit as required by Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1043.1 or your application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). The information requested on this form is mandatory pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 1647.3 and Title 16 CCR section 1043.1. The information provided will be used to determine qualification for
	(APPLICANT TO COMPLETE QUESTIONS 1-3 AND EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION TO COMPLETE QUESTION 4) 
	1. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST 
	1. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST 
	MIDDLE 

	2.
	2.
	2.
	 LICENSE NUMBER: 

	3.
	3.
	 NAME OF SCHOOL/EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION: 

	4.
	4.
	 MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING VERIFICATION: 


	THIS DENTIST IS APPLYING FOR A MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT TO ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE 
	ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION IN A DENTAL OFFICE IN CALIFORNIA. IN ORDER TO QUALIFY FOR A PERMIT, THE APPLICANT IS REQUIRED TO PROVIDE PROOF OF COMPLETION OF TRAINING IN MODERATE SEDATION. PLEASE CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOXES BELOW RELATING TO THE TRAINING THE ABOVE-NAMED 
	APPLICANT COMPLETED AT YOUR EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION. 
	THE APPLICANT LISTED ON THIS FORM SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED THIS INSTITUTION'S EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM IN MODERATE SEDATION THAT INCLUDES ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 
	AT LEAST 60 HOURS OF INSTRUCTION 
	SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF AT LEAST 20 CASES OF ADMINISTRATION OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR A VARIETY OF DENTAL PROCEDURES. 
	COMPLIANCE WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE GUIDELINES FOR TEACHING PAIN CONTROL AND SEDATION 
	TO DENTISTS AND DENTAL STUDENTS OF THE AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, CERTIFICATION OF COMPETENCE IN RESCUING PATIENT FROM A DEEPER LEVEL OF SEDATION THAN INTENDED, AND MANAGING THE AIRWAY, INTRAVASCULAR OR INTRAOSSEOUS ACCESS, AND REVERSAL MEDICATIONS 
	I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IN THIS SECTION OF THE FORM IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND 
	CONFIRM THAT, ACCORDING TO THIS INSTITUTION'S RECORDS, 
	(NAME OF STUDENT) SATISFACTORILY COMPLETED THE ABOVE-REFERENCED TRAINING AT 
	(NAME OF INSTITUTION). THIS STUDENT WAS ENROLLED IN A (NAME OF EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM) PROGRAM WHEN OBTAINING MODERATE SEDATION TRAINING FROM 
	(MONTH/DAY/YEAR) TO 
	(MONTH/DAY/YEAR). 
	SIGNATURE 
	SIGNATURE 
	SIGNATURE 
	DATE 

	EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM SEAL 
	EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM SEAL 

	IF APPLICABLE 
	IF APPLICABLE 
	PRINTED NAME/TITLE 
	TELEPHONE 

	FORM MSP-2 (NEW 05/2021) 
	FORM MSP-2 (NEW 05/2021) 


	BUSIN
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
	CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY . GAVESOM. ADOPT
	DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
	2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | 
	www.dbc,ca.gov 

	DOCUMENTATION OF DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR MODERATE SEDATION CASES FOR PEDIATRIC 
	This document shall be completed in its entirety as part of the initial application for a pediatric endorsement (for both general anesthesia and moderate sedation permits) or as a condition of the renewal application for a general anesthesia permit that includes a pediatric endorsement as provided in Section 1017.1 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (16 CCR) or your application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). The requirements for a completed initial application for a pediat
	The information requested on this form is mandatory pursuant to Business and Professions Code sections 1646.2 and 1647.3 
	and Title 16 CCR section 1043.8.1. The information provided will be used to determine qualifications for a pediatric endorsement to a general anesthesia or moderate sedation permit. The information may be provided to other governmental agencies, or in response to a court order, subpoena, or public records request. You have a right of access to records containing personal information unless the records are exempted from disclosure. Individuals may obtain information regarding the location of their records by
	Notice for General Anesthesia Permit Applicants Seeking Pediatric Endorsement or Renewal of Endorsement: 
	All applicants must meet the patient monitoring and staff qualification requirements listed in Section 1646.1 of the Business 
	and Professions Code. 
	Each applicant must provide proof of at least 20 cases of deep sedation or general anesthesia to patients under seven years of age in the 24-month time period directly preceding application for a pediatric endorsement to establish competency, both at the time of initial application and at renewal. The applicant or permitholder shall maintain and be able to provide proof of these cases upon request by the board for up to three permit renewal periods. 
	Applicants for a pediatric endorsement who otherwise qualify for the pediatric endorsement but lack sufficient cases of 
	pediatric sedation to patients under seven years of age may administer deep sedation and general anesthesia to patients 
	under seven years of age under the direct supervision of a general anesthesia permitholder with a pediatric endorsement. The applicant may count these cases toward the 20 cases required to qualify for the applicant's pediatric endorsement. (Business and Professions Code section 1646.2.) 
	Notice for Moderate Sedation Permit Applicants Seeking Pediatric Endorsement or Renewal of Endorsement: 
	All applicants must meet the patient monitoring and staff qualification requirements listed in Section 1647.2 of the Business and Professions Code. 
	Each applicant must provide proof of successful completion of at least 20 cases of moderate sedation to patients under thirteen years of age to establish competency in pediatric moderate sedation, both at the time of the initial application and at renewal. The applicant or permitholder shall maintain and shall provide proof of these cases upon request by the board for up to three permit renewal periods. 
	In order to provide moderate sedation to children under seven years of age, a dentist shall establish and maintain current competency for this pediatric population by completing at least 20 cases of moderate sedation for children under seven years of age in the 24-month period immediately preceding application for the pediatric endorsement and for each permit renewal period. 
	Applicants for a pediatric endorsement who otherwise qualify for the pediatric endorsement but lack sufficient cases of moderate sedation to patients under thirteen years of age may administer moderate sedation to patients under thirteen years of age under the direct supervision of a general anesthesia or moderate sedation permitholder with a pediatric endorsement. The applicant may count these cases toward the 20 required in order to qualify for the applicant's pediatric endorsement. 
	Moderate sedation permit holders with a pediatric endorsement seeking to provide moderate sedation to children under seven years of age, but who lack sufficient cases of moderate sedation to patients under seven years of age pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (d), may administer moderate sedation to patients under seven years of age under the direct supervision of a permitholder who meets those qualifications. (Business and Professions Code section 1647.3.) 
	FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	FIRST MIDDLE
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 APPLICANT'S LEGAL NAME: LAST 

	2.
	2.
	 MEDICAL OR DENTAL LICENSE NUMBER: 

	3.
	3.
	 SPECIFY THE TYPE OF PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT YOU ARE REQUESTING 


	DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA FOR PEDIATRIC PATIENTS UNDER THE AGE OF SEVEN. 
	(FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT APPLICATION) 
	MODERATE SEDATION FOR PEDIATRIC PATIENTS UNDER THE AGE OF THIRTEEN. (FOR MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT APPLICATION) 
	4.
	4.
	4.
	 FOR APPLICANTS FOR A MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT ONLY, PLEASE COMPLETE THIS SECTION (see requirements in the notice statement above for providing moderate sedation to children under seven years of age): 

	5.
	5.
	 FOR ALL APPLICANTS, PLEASE PROVIDE ALL THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION ON THIS FORM OR IN ATTACHMENTS TO THIS FORM BY CASE NUMBER: 


	(1)
	(1)
	(1)
	 Pediatric patient's sex, age, and weight; 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Date of general anesthesia or moderate sedation procedure; 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Type of dental procedure performed and duration of general anesthesia or moderate sedation; 

	(4)
	(4)
	 A description of the method, amount, and specific general anesthesia or moderate sedation agent administered; 

	(5)
	(5)
	 A statement on how the pediatric patient was monitored and by whom; and 

	(6)
	(6)
	 Pediatric patient's condition at discharge. 


	A ARE YOU SEEKING TO PROVIDE MODERATE SEDATION TO CHILDREN UNDER THIRTEEN YEARS OF AGE? 
	YES NO 
	B. IF YES TO QUESTION 5.A., PLEASE CHECK ALL THAT APPLY: 
	ICOMPLETED AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER THIRTEEN YEARS OF AGE AS NOTED ON THIS FORM OR RELATED ATTACHMENTS 
	I COMPLETED AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER THIRTEEN YEARS OF AGE UNDER DIRECT SUPERVISION BY ANOTHER PERMITHOLDER AS NOTED ON THIS FORM OR RELATED ATTACHMENTS 
	I COMPLETED AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER THIRTEEN YEARS OF AGE BOTH INDEPENDENTLY AND UNDER DIRECT SUPERVISION BY ANOTHER PERMITHOLDER AS NOTED ON THIS FORM OR RELATED ATTACHMENTS 
	6. A. ARE YOU SEEKING TO PROVIDE MODERATE SEDATION TO CHILDREN UNDER SEVEN YEARS OF AGE? 
	YES NO 
	B. IF YES TO QUESTION 6.A., PLEASE CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: 
	I COMPLETED AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER SEVEN YEARS OF AGE AS NOTED ON THIS FORM OR RELATED ATTACHMENTS 
	I DID NOT COMPLETE AT LEAST 20 CASES OF MODERATE SEDATION FOR CHILDREN UNDER SEVEN YEARS OF AGE INDEPENDENTLY BUT I ADMINISTER MODERATE SEDATION TO PATIENTS UNDER SEVEN YEARS OF AGE UNDER THE DIRECT SUPERVISION OF A PERMITHOLDER WHO MEETS THOSE QUALIFICATIONS. 
	FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	APPLICANTS MUST PROVIDE THE FO. WING FOR EACH CASE OCCURRING WIT 24 MONTHS IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING APPLICATION FOR THE PEDIATRIC ENDORSEMENT. 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS) 
	TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 
	CASE 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE:
	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE:
	CASE 
	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 

	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	EEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYK JF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	CASE 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PA 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: CASE 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TY 
	OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANE 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 
	CASE 5 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: CASE 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	EEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: CASE 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: CASE 8 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	EEP SEDATION (DS). 
	TYR 
	F PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 
	CASE 9 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
	PROCEDURE: DS GA 
	MS 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 
	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: CASE 10 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS) 
	TYK OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 
	CASE 11 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: CASE 12 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), 
	IF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO CASE ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 13 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR MODERATE SEDATION (MS) PROCEDURE: 
	DS GA 
	MS 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 
	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 
	CASE 14 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AI DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	EEP SEDATION (DS) 
	TYP 
	F PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: CASE 15 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYPE OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: CASE 16 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS) 
	TY 
	OF PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO CASE ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 17 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE: GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR MODERATE SEDATION (MS) PROCEDURE: 
	DS GA MS 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 

	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 
	CASE 18 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 
	EP SEDATION (DS), 
	TYPL, F PROCEDURE: 

	TR
	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR 

	TR
	MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 

	TR
	PROCEDURE 

	TR
	DS 

	TR
	GA 

	TR
	MS 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT: 


	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 
	CASE 19 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE:
	DEEP SEDATION (DS), TYPE OF PROCEDURE:
	DATE OF PROCEDURE: 

	GENERAL ANESTHESIA (GA), OR MODERATE SEDATION (MS) 
	PROCEDURE: 
	DS GA MS PEDIATRIC PATIENT SEX: PEDIATRIC PATIENT WEIGHT:
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT AGE: 
	BRIEFLY DESCRIBE THE METHOD, AMOUNT, AND SPECIFIC SEDATION AGENT ADMINISTERED; WHO ADMINISTERED THE SEDATION; WHO MONITORIED THE PATIENT; AND WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE: 
	CASE 20 
	PLEASE DESCRIBE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT DISCHARGE: 
	Certification - I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, including all attachments, is true and correct. 
	Date Signature of Applicant 
	FORM PE-1 (NEW 05/2021) 

	ADOPT 
	ADOPT 
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
	DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA2005 Evergreen St.. Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 
	Ca 

	DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
	P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | 
	www.dbc.ca.gov 

	APPLICATION FOR PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION PERMIT 
	FEES 
	FEES 
	FEES 
	For Office Use Only 
	For Office Use Only 

	Application Fee: $459.00 
	Application Fee: $459.00 
	Rec # 

	(Must be enclosed with application) 
	(Must be enclosed with application) 

	TR
	FeePd 

	TR
	Date 

	APPLICATION FEES 
	APPLICATION FEES 
	Cashiered 

	ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
	ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
	Entity# 

	TR
	File # 
	Date Received 


	This application must be completed in its entirety or the application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). Attach additional sheets if necessary. "Any material misrepresentation of any information on the application is grounds for denial or subsequent revocation of the permit. 
	* Under Business and Professions Code sections 31 and 494.5, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay your state tax obligation. This application may be denied or your permit may be suspended if you have a state tax obligation, the state tax obligation is not paid, your name appears on the State Board of Equalization. the CDTFA. or FTB certified list of 500 largest tax 
	delinquencyes. and "Please include your "Certification of Pediatric Minimal Sedation Training" (Form PMSP-2 (New 05/2021) and fee with this application. 
	(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE) 
	1. SSNATIN: 2. BIRTH DATE (MM/DD/YYYY): 
	3.
	3.
	3.
	 LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

	4.
	4.
	 MAILING ADDRESS (ADDRESS OF RECORD - ADDRESS MAY BE A P.O. BOX): 

	5.
	5.
	 PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION (PHYSICAL ADDRESS): 

	6.
	6.
	 EMAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL): 

	7.
	7.
	 TELEPHONE NUMBER: 

	8.
	8.
	 FAX NUMBER (OPTIONAL): 


	UM 
	per agency request 8 15 32
	FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	9. DENTAL LICENSE NUMBER: 

	YES
	10. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? 
	NO 
	11. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLY DISCHARGED MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES? YES 
	MILITARY HONORABLE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS NO 
	NOTE: PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH A COPY OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OR DISCHARGE FROM ACTIVE DUTY (DD-
	214) OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING DATE AND HONORABLE DISCHARGE TO RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW. 
	12. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE 
	12. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE 
	YES

	DENTISTRY IN ANOTHER U.S. STATE OR TERRITORY, AND YOUR SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES 
	NO
	NO
	AND WAS ASSIGNED TO A DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA UNDER OFFICIAL ORDERS? IF 

	YES, YOUR APPLICATION WILL RECEIVE AN EXPEDITED REVIEW. 
	MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENTS 
	NOTE: IF YOU MEET THE MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENT 
	PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: 
	CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE OR CERTIFIED DECLARATION/REGISTRATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE OF LEGAL UNION WITH AN ACTIVE-DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DENTAL LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR 
	TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES. A COPY OF THE MILITARY ORDERS ESTABLISHING YOUR SPOUSE OR PARTNER'S DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	13. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: 
	13. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: 
	YES 

	YOU WERE ADMITTED TO THE UNITED STATES AS A REFUGEE PURSUANT TO NC
	SECTION 1157 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; YOU WERE GRANTED ASYLUM BY THE SECRETARY OF HOMELAND SECURITY OR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES PURSUANT TO SECTION 1158 OFTITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR, YOU HAVE A SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA AND WERE GRANTED A STATUS PURSUANT 
	TO SECTION 1244 OF THE PUBLIC LAW 110-181, PUBLIC LAW 109-163,OR SECTION 602(b) OF TITLE VI OF DIVISION F OF PUBLIC LAW 111-8, [RELATING TO IRAQI AND AFGHAN TRANSLATORS/INTERPRETERS OR THOSE WHO WORKED FOR OR ON 
	BEHALF OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT]. 
	IF YOU SELECTED YES, YOU MUST ATTACH EVIDENCE OF YOUR STATUS AS A 
	REFUGEE, ASYLEE, OR SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDER AS PROVIDED BELOW. FAILURE TO DO SO MAY RESULT IN APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS. "EVIDENCE" SHALL INCLUDE: 
	FORM 1-94, ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE RECORD, WITH AN ADMISSION CLASS CODE SUCH AS "RE" (REFUGEE) OR "AY" (ASYLEE) OR OTHER INFORMATION DESIGNATING THE PERSON A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA THAT INCLUDES THE "SI" OR "SQ" 
	PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (FORM 1-551), COMMONLY KNOWN AS A "GREEN CARD," WITH A CATEGORY DESIGNATION INDICATING THAT THE PERSON WAS ADMITTED AS A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. 
	AN ORDER FROM A COURT OF COMPETENT JURISDICTION OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE THAT PROVIDES REASONABLE ASSURANCES TO THE BOARD THAT THE APPLICANT QUALIFIES FOR EXPEDITED LICENSURE PER BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 135.4. 
	FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	Figure
	FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS - ALL EQUIPMENT SHALL BE MAINTAINED, TESTED, AND 
	INSPECTED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS' SPECIFICATIONS. IN AN OFFICE WHERE MINIMAL 
	SEDATION IS ADMINISTERED TO PEDIATRIC PATIENTS, THE REQUIRED EQUIPMENT, MEDICATION, AND RESUSCITATIVE CAPABILITIES SHALL BE APPROPRIATELY SIZED FOR A PEDIATRIC POPULATION. 
	14. DOES THE FACTILITY HAVE: 
	14. DOES THE FACTILITY HAVE: 
	14. DOES THE FACTILITY HAVE: 

	(1) AN OPERATORY LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY ACCOMMODATE THE PEDIATRIC 
	(1) AN OPERATORY LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY ACCOMMODATE THE PEDIATRIC 
	YES 

	PATIENT AND PERMIT A TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE INDIVIDUALS TO 
	PATIENT AND PERMIT A TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE INDIVIDUALS TO 

	FREELY MOVE ABOUT THE PATIENT. 
	FREELY MOVE ABOUT THE PATIENT. 
	NO 

	(2) A TABLE OR DENTAL CHAIR THAT PERMITS THE PATIENT TO BE POSITIONED SO THE 
	(2) A TABLE OR DENTAL CHAIR THAT PERMITS THE PATIENT TO BE POSITIONED SO THE 

	ATTENDING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY ALTER PATIENT POSITION IN 
	ATTENDING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY ALTER PATIENT POSITION IN 

	AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF 
	AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF 

	CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION. 
	CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION. 

	(3) A LIGHTING SYSTEM ADEQUATE TO PERMIT EVALUATION OF THE PEDIATRIC 
	(3) A LIGHTING SYSTEM ADEQUATE TO PERMIT EVALUATION OF THE PEDIATRIC 

	PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING SYSTEM THAT IS 
	PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING SYSTEM THAT IS 

	BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT COMPLETION OF 
	BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT COMPLETION OF 

	ANY TREATMENT THAT MAY BE UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF A GENERAL POWER 
	ANY TREATMENT THAT MAY BE UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF A GENERAL POWER 

	FAILURE. 
	FAILURE. 

	(4) AN APPROPRIATE FUNCTIONAL SUCTIONING DEVICE THAT PERMITS ASPIRATION OF 
	(4) AN APPROPRIATE FUNCTIONAL SUCTIONING DEVICE THAT PERMITS ASPIRATION OF 

	THE ORAL AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES. A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE THAT CAN 
	THE ORAL AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES. A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE THAT CAN 

	FUNCTION AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE MUST ALSO BE AVAILABLE. 
	FUNCTION AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE MUST ALSO BE AVAILABLE. 

	(5) A POSITIVE-PRESSURE OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM CAPABLE OF ADMINISTERING 
	(5) A POSITIVE-PRESSURE OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM CAPABLE OF ADMINISTERING 

	GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW FOR AT LEAST SIXTY 
	GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW FOR AT LEAST SIXTY 

	MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER), EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A GENERAL POWER 
	MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER), EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A GENERAL POWER 

	FAILURE. ALL EQUIPMENT MUST BE APPROPRIATE FOR USE ON AND CAPABLE OF 
	FAILURE. ALL EQUIPMENT MUST BE APPROPRIATE FOR USE ON AND CAPABLE OF 

	ACCOMMODATING THE PEDIATRIC PATIENTS BEING SEEN AT THE PERMIT-HOLDER'S 
	ACCOMMODATING THE PEDIATRIC PATIENTS BEING SEEN AT THE PERMIT-HOLDER'S 

	OFFICE. 
	OFFICE. 

	(6) INHALATION SEDATION EQUIPMENT, WHICH IF USED IN CONJUNCTION WITH ORAL 
	(6) INHALATION SEDATION EQUIPMENT, WHICH IF USED IN CONJUNCTION WITH ORAL 

	SEDATION, IT MUST HAVE THE CAPACITY FOR DELIVERING 100%, AND NEVER LESS 
	SEDATION, IT MUST HAVE THE CAPACITY FOR DELIVERING 100%, AND NEVER LESS 

	THAN 25%, OXYGEN CONCENTRATION AT A FLOW RATE APPROPRIATE FOR A 
	THAN 25%, OXYGEN CONCENTRATION AT A FLOW RATE APPROPRIATE FOR A 

	PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S SIZE AND HAVE A FAIL-SAFE SYSTEM. THE EQUIPMENT MUST 
	PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S SIZE AND HAVE A FAIL-SAFE SYSTEM. THE EQUIPMENT MUST 

	BE MAINTAINED AND CHECKED FOR ACCURACY AT LEAST ANNUALLY. 
	BE MAINTAINED AND CHECKED FOR ACCURACY AT LEAST ANNUALLY. 

	(7) ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT, WHICH MUST INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING, AND BE 
	(7) ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT, WHICH MUST INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING, AND BE 

	MAINTAINED IN GOOD OPERATING CONDITION: 
	MAINTAINED IN GOOD OPERATING CONDITION: 

	(a) ORAL AIRWAYS CAPABLE OF ACCOMMODATING PEDIATRIC PATIENTS OF ALL 
	(a) ORAL AIRWAYS CAPABLE OF ACCOMMODATING PEDIATRIC PATIENTS OF ALL 

	SIZES. 
	SIZES. 

	(b) A SPHYGMOMANOMETER WITH CUFFS OF APPROPRIATE SIZE FOR PEDIATRIC 
	(b) A SPHYGMOMANOMETER WITH CUFFS OF APPROPRIATE SIZE FOR PEDIATRIC 

	PATIENTS OF ALL SIZES 
	PATIENTS OF ALL SIZES 

	(c) A PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE. 
	(c) A PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE. 

	(d) A PULSE OXIMETER. 
	(d) A PULSE OXIMETER. 


	FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	15. DO YOU MAINTAIN THE FOLLOWING RECORDS? 
	(a) AN ADEQUATE MEDICAL HISTORY AND PHYSICAL EVALUATION UPDATED PRIOR TO 
	EACH ADMINISTRATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION. SUCH RECORDS SHALL INCLUDE, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, AN ASSESSMENT INCLUDING ANEVALUATION OF THE AIRWAY, THE AGE, SEX, WEIGHT, PHYSICAL STATUS (AMERICAN SOCIETY OF ANESTHESIOLOGISTS CLASSIFICATION), AND RATIONALE FOR SEDATION OF THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT AND WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT OF THE PARENT OR LEGAL GUARDIAN OF THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT. 
	(b) PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION RECORDS THAT INCLUDE BASELINE VITAL SIGNS. IF 
	OBTAINING BASELINE VITAL SIGNS IS PREVENTED BY THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S PHYSICAL RESISTANCE OR EMOTIONAL CONDITION, THE REASON OR REASONS MUST BE DOCUMENTED. THE RECORDS SHALL ALSO INCLUDE INTERMITTENT QUANTITATIVE MONITORING AND RECORDING OF OXYGEN SATURATION, HEART AND RESPIRATORY RATES, BLOOD PRESSURE AS APPROPRIATE FOR SPECIFIC 
	TECHNIQUES, THE NAME, DOSE AND TIME OF ADMINISTRATION OF ALL DRUGS ADMINISTERED INCLUDING LOCAL AND INHALATION ANESTHETICS, THE LENGTH OF THE PROCEDURE, ANY COMPLICATIONS OF ORAL SEDATION, AND A STATEMENT 
	OF THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT'S CONDITION AT THE TIME OF DISCHARGE. 
	(c)
	(c)
	(c)
	 DOCUMENTATION THAT ALL EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT IS CHECKED TO DETERMINE OPERABILITY AND SAFETY FOR THE PATIENT CONSISTENT WITH MANUFACTURER'S RECOMMENDATION. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 DOCUMENTATION THAT ALL DRUGS MAINTAINED AT THE FACILITY ARE CHECKED AT LEAST ONCE A QUARTER FOR EXPIRED DRUGS AND AN ADEQUATE SUPPLY OF DRUGS FOR THE PATIENT POPULATION SERVED. 


	16. DO YOU HAVE AVAILABLE AND READILY ACCESSIBLE AN EMERGENCY KIT OR CART THAT INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING ITEMS? 
	(a)THE NECESSARY AND APPROPRIATE EMERGENCY DRUGS AND SIZE-APPROPRIATE EQUIPMENT TO RESUSCITATE A NONBREATHING AND UNCONSCIOUS PEDIATRIC PATIENT AND PROVIDE CONTINUOUS SUPPORT WHILE THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT IS TRANSPORTED TO A MEDICAL FACILITY. 
	(b)
	(b)
	(b)
	 EMERGENCY DRUGS OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 EPINEPHRINE, 

	(2)
	(2)
	 BRONCHODILATOR, 

	(3)
	(3)
	 APPROPRIATE DRUG ANTAGONISTS, 

	(4)
	(4)
	 ANTIHISTAMINEC, 

	(5)
	(5)
	 ANTICHOLINERGIC, 

	(6)
	(6)
	 ANTICONVULSANT, 

	(7)
	(7)
	 OXYGEN, AND, 

	(8)
	(8)
	 DEXTROSE OR OTHER ANTIHYPOGLYCEMIC 


	17. STAFF: ARE YOU AND AT LEAST ONE STAFF MEMBER TRAINED IN THE MONITORING AND RESUSCITATION OF PEDIATRIC PATIENTS? 
	(TRAINED STAFF ARE REQUIRED TO BE PRESENT DURING THE ADMINISTRATION OF MINIMAL SEDATION PER BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 1647.32.) 
	18. DID YOU OBTAIN A WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT FROM THE PARENT OR GUARDIAN OF 
	THE MINOR PATIENT PRIOR TO EACH ADMINISTRATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION? 
	FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	YES 
	10 
	NO 

	YES NO 
	YES NO 
	YES n
	O 

	NO 
	Figure
	19. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES OF ALL LOCATIONS OF PRACTICE WHERE YOU ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE 
	ADMINISTRATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION. ALL OFFICES SHALL MEET THE STANDARDS SET FORTH IN REGULATIONS ADOPTED BY THE BOARD AT TITLE 16, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS SECTION 1043.9.2. 
	IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON THE BACK OF THIS PAGE. 
	Certification - I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, including any attachments, is true and correct. 
	Date Signature of Applicant 
	INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS: Except for the email address and fax number, the information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Board of California (Board), 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550 Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300, in accordance with Business and Professions Code (BPC) 
	sections 1600 et seq. The Board collects the personal information requested on the following form as authorized by BPC sections 27, 30, 31, 114.5, 115.4, 135.4, 480, 494.5, 1647.31, 1647.32, 1647.33, 1715, and Title 16, California Code of Regulations sections 1043.9.1 and 1043.9.2. The Board uses this information to identify and evaluate applicants for 
	permit or licensure, issue and renew licenses, and enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation. 
	Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Disclosure of your Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory and collection is authorized by BPC sections 29.5, 30, 31, and 494.5, and Pub. L 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. $ 405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Sect
	Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. The Board makes every effort to protect the personal information you provide us; however, it may be disclosed in response to a Public Records Act request as allowed by the Information Practices Act, to another government agency as required by state or federal law or Civil Code section 1798.24; or in res
	FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	FORM PMSP-1 (NEW 05/2021) 
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

	BUSNESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY . GAVIN NEWSOM. GOADOPT
	DEN BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95015 
	EPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
	P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | 
	www.dbc.ca.gov 

	CERTIFICATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION TRAINING 
	Notice to Applicants This completed form must be submitted to the Dental Board of California (Board) with your application for a pediatric minimal sedation permit as required by Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1043.9.1 or your application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). The information requested on this form is mandatory pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 1647.32 and Title 16 CCR section 1043.9.1. The information provided will be used to determine qua
	(APPLICANT TO COMPLETE QUESTIONS 1-3 AND EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION TO COMPLETE QUESTION 4) 
	1. LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST 
	MIDDLE 
	2.
	2.
	2.
	 LICENSE NUMBER: 

	3.
	3.
	 NAME OF SCHOOL/EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION 

	4.
	4.
	 MINIMAL SEDATION TRAINING VERIFICATION: 


	THIS DENTIST IS APPLYING FOR A PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDTION PERMIT TO ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE ADMINISTRATION OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION IN A DENTAL OFFICE IN CALIFORNIA. IN ORDER TO QUALIFY FOR A PERMIT, THE APPLICANT IS REQUIRED TO PROVIDE PROOF OF COMPLETION OF TRAINING IN 
	PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION PI FASE CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOXES BELOW RELATING TO THE TRAINING 
	THE ABOVE-NAMED APPLICANT COMPLETED AT YOUR EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION. 
	THE APPLICANT LISTED ON THIS FORM SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED THIS INSTITUTION'S EDUCATIONAL 
	PROGRAM IN MINIMAL SEDATION THAT INCLUDES EITHER OF THE FOLLOWING: 
	AT LEAST 24 HOURS OF PEDIATRIC MINIMAL SEDATION INSTRUCTION IN ADDITION TO ONE CLINICAL CASE AND TRAINING IN PEDIATRIC MONITORING, AIRWAY MANAGEMENT, AND RESUSCITATION AND PATIENT RESCUE FROM MODERATE SEDATION, OR, 
	A COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION (CODA) APPROVED RESIDENCY IN PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY. 
	I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IN THIS SECTION OF THE FORM IS TRUE AND CORRECT 
	AND CONFIRM THAT, ACCORDING TO THIS INSTITUTION'S RECORDS, 
	(NAME OF APPLICANT) SATISFACTORILY COMPLETED THE ABOVE REFERENCED TRAINING AT 
	(NAME OF INSTITUTION). THIS STUDENT WAS ENROLLED IN A_ 
	(NAME OF EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM) PROGRAM WHEN OBTAINING MINIMAL SEDATION TRAINING ON THE FOLLOWING DATES: 
	SIGNATURE DATE 
	EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM SEAL PRINTED NAME/TITLE TELEPHONE IF APPLICABLE) 
	FORM PMSP-2 (NEW 05/2021) 

	ADOPT 
	ADOPT 
	DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815 
	DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
	P (916) 263-2300 | F (916) 263-2140 | 
	www.dbc.ca.gov 

	APPLICATION FOR USE OF ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION ON ADULT PATIENTS 
	FEES 
	FEES 
	FEES 
	For Office Use Only 
	For Office Use Only 

	Application Fee: $459.00 (Must be enclosed with application) 
	Application Fee: $459.00 (Must be enclosed with application) 
	Rec # 

	TR
	FeePd 

	TR
	Date 

	APPLICATION FEES 
	APPLICATION FEES 
	Cashiered 

	ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
	ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
	Entity# 

	TR
	File # 
	Date Received 


	This application must be completed in its entirety or the application will not be processed (Title 16 CCR section 1004). Attach 
	additional sheets if necessary. 
	"Any material misrepresentation of any information on the application is grounds for denial or subsequent revocation of the 
	permit. 
	Under Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 31 and 494.5, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 
	(CDTFA) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer Information with the Board. You are required to pay your state tax obligation. This application may be denied or your permit may be suspended if you have a state tax obligation, the state tax obligation is not paid, and your name appears on the State Board of Equalization, the CDTFA, or FTB certified list of 500 largest 
	tax delinquencyes. 
	(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE) 
	1. SSN/ITIN: 2. BIRTH DATE (MM/DD/YYYY): 
	3.
	3.
	3.
	 LEGAL NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

	4.
	4.
	 MAILING ADDRESS (ADDRESS OF RECORD - MAY BE A P.O. BOX): 

	5.
	5.
	 PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION (PHYSICAL ADDRESS): 

	6.
	6.
	 EMAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL): 

	7.
	7.
	 TELEPHONE NUMBER: 

	8.
	8.
	 FAX NUMBER (OPTIONAL): 

	9.
	9.
	 DENTAL LICENSE NUMBER: 

	10.
	10.
	 QUALIFICATION - INDICATE UNDER WHICH METHOD LISTED BELOW YOU QUALIFY FOR AN ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION CERTIFICATE FOR ADULTS AND ATTACH APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTATION AS SET FORTH BELOW. 


	FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 
	SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF A POSTGRADUATE PROGRAM IN ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION OR A COMPARABLE ORGANIZATION APPROVED BY THE BOARD AS PROVIDED IN TITLE 16, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS (CCR) SECTION 1044.2. APPLICANT MUST PROVIDE A COPY OF HIS OR HER DIPLOMA. 
	SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF A PERIODONTICS OR GENERAL PRACTICE RESIDENCY OR ADVANCED 
	EDUCATION IN A GENERAL DENTISTRY POST-DOCTORAL PROGRAM ACCREDITED BY THE COMMISSION ON DENTAL ACCREDITATION THAT MEETS THE DIDACTIC AND CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS OF CCR SECTION 1044.3. APPLICANT MUST PROVIDE A COPY OF HIS OR HER DIPLOMA. 
	SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF A BOARD-APPROVED EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM ON ORAL MEDICATIONS AND SEDATION MEETING THE REQUIREMENTS IN CCR SECTION 1044.3. 
	DOCUMENTATION OF 10 SUCCESSFUL CASES OF ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERFORMED BY THE APPLICANT ON ADULT PATIENTS IN ANY THREE-YEAR PERIOD ENDING NO LATER THAN DECEMBER 31, 2005 AS PROVIDED IN BPC SECTION 1647.20(d)). ATTACH FORM OCS-4 WITH COPY OF TREATMENTRECORDS. 
	11. ARE YOU SERVING IN, OR HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY SERVED IN, THE U.S. MILITARY? YES 
	10 
	NO 
	12. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLYDISCHARGED 
	12. ARE YOU REQUESTING EXPEDITING OF THIS APPLICATION FOR HONORABLYDISCHARGED 
	YES
	MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES? 

	NO
	MILITARY HONORABLE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS 
	NOTE: PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH A COPY OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE OR DISCHARGE FROM ACTIVE DUTY (DD-214), OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE SHOWING DATE AND HONORABLE DISCHARGE TO RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW. 
	13. DO YOU ALREADY HOLD A VALID LICENSE, OR COMPARABLE AUTHORITY, TO PRACTICE YES
	DENTISTRY IN ANOTHER U.S. STATE OR TERRITORY, AND YOUR SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC 
	PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES 
	PARTNER IS AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES 
	NO

	AND WAS ASSIGNED TO A DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA UNDER OFFICIAL ORDERS? IF YES, YOUR APPLICATION WILL RECEIVE AN EXPEDITED REVIEW. 
	MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENTS 
	NOTE: IF YOU MEET THE MILITARY SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER REQUIREMENT 
	PLEASE SCAN AND ATTACH THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION TO THIS APPLICATION: 
	CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE OR CERTIFIED DECLARATION/REGISTRATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE OF LEGAL UNION WITH AN ACTIVE-DUTY MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES 
	A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DENTAL LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES. A COPY OF THE MILITARY ORDERS ESTABLISHING YOUR SPOUSE OR PARTNER'S DUTY STATION IN CALIFORNIA 
	FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 
	14. DO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS APPLY TO YOU: YES 
	YOU WERE ADMITTED TO THE UNITED STATES AS A REFUGEE PURSUANT TO SECTION 1157 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR 00 
	NO 

	YOU WERE GRANTED ASYLUM BY THE SECRETARY OF HOMELAND SECURITY OR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES PURSUANT TO SECTION 1158 OF TITLE 8 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE; OR, 
	YOU HAVE A SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA AND WERE GRANTED A STATUS PURSUANT TO SECTION 1244 OF THE PUBLIC LAW 110-181, PUBLIC LAW 109-163,OR SECTION 602(b) OF TITLE VI OF DIVISION F OF PUBLIC LAW 111-8, [RELATING TO IRAQI AND AFGHAN TRANSLATORS/INTERPRETERS OR THOSE WHO WORKED FOR OR ON BEHALF OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT]. 
	IF YOU SELECTED YES, YOU MUST ATTACH EVIDENCE OF YOUR STATUS AS A REFUGEE, ASYLEE, OR SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDER AS PROVIDED BELOW. FAILURE TO DO SO MAY RESULT IN APPLICATION PROCESSING DELAYS. "EVIDENCE" SHALL INCLUDE: 
	FORM 1-94, ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE RECORD, WITH AN ADMISSION CLASS CODE SUCH AS "RE" (REFUGEE) OR "AY" (ASYLEE) OR OTHER INFORMATION 
	DESIGNATING THE PERSON A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA THAT INCLUDES THE "SI" OR "SQ" PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (FORM 1-551), COMMONLY KNOWN AS A "GREEN CARD," 
	WITH A CATEGORY DESIGNATION INDICATING THAT THE PERSON WAS ADMITTED AS A REFUGEE OR ASYLEE. AN ORDER FROM A COURT OF COMPETENT JURISDICTION OR OTHER DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE THAT PROVIDES REASONABLE ASSURANCES TO THE BOARD THAT THE APPLICANT QUALIFIES FOR EXPEDITED LICENSURE PER BUSINESS AND 
	PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 135.4. FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 
	FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS - ALL EQUIPMENT SHALL BE MAINTAINED, TESTED, AND INSPECTED ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS' SPECIFICATIONS 
	15. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE AN OPERATORY LARGE ENOUGH TO ADEQUATELY 
	YES MODATE THE PATIENT AND PERMIT A TEAM CONSISTING OF AT LEAST THREE 
	INDIVIDUALS TO FREELY MOVE ABOUT THE PATIENT? NO 
	16. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A TABLE OR DENTAL CHAIR WHICH PERMITS THE PATIENT TO YES BE POSITIONED SO THE ATTENDING TEAM CAN MAINTAIN THE AIRWAY, QUICKLY ALTER PATIENT POSITION IN AN EMERGENCY, AND PROVIDE A FIRM PLATFORM FOR THE NO 
	MANAGEMENT OF CARDIOPULMONARY RESUSCITATION? 
	17.
	17.
	17.
	 DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A LIGHTING SYSTEM WHICH IS ADEQUATE TO PERMIT YES EVALUATION OF THE PATIENT'S SKIN AND MUCOSAL COLOR AND A BACKUP LIGHTING SYSTEM WHICH IS BATTERY POWERED AND OF SUFFICIENT INTENSITY TO PERMIT NO COMPLETION OF ANY TREATMENT WHICH MAY BE UNDERWAY AT THE TIME OF A GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 

	18.
	18.
	 DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A FUNCTIONAL SUCTIONING DEVICE THAT PERMITS 


	YES ASPIRATION OF THE ORAL AND PHARYNGEAL CAVITIES AND A BACKUP SUCTION DEVICE THAT CAN FUNCTION AT THE TIME OF GENERAL POWER FAILURE? NO 
	19. A. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE A POSITIVE-PRESSURE OXYGEN DELIVERY SYSTEM 
	YES CAPABLE OF ADMINISTERING GREATER THAN 90% OXYGEN AT A 10 LITER/MINUTE FLOW FOR A LEAST SIXTY MINUTES (650 LITER "E" CYLINDER) EVEN IN THE EVENT OF A 
	NO GENERAL POWER FAILURE? 
	YES 
	B. IS ALL EQUIPMENT AT THE FACILITY AGE-APPROPRIATE AND CAPABLE OF 
	NO
	ACCOMMODATING THE PATIENTS BEING SEEN AT THE PERMIT-HOLDER'S OFFICE? 
	YES 
	20. A. DOES THE FACILITY HAVE INHALATION SEDATION EQUIPMENT, AND IF USED IN CONJUNCTION WITH ORAL SEDATION, DOES IT HAVE THE CAPACITY FOR DELIVERING NO 100%, AND NEVER LESS THAN 25%, OXYGEN CONCENTRATION AT A FLOW RATE APPROPRIATE FOR AN AGE-APPROPRIATE PATIENT'S SIZE, AND HAVE A FAIL-SAFE 
	SYSTEM? YES 
	B. IF THE ANSWER ABOVE IS YES, IS THE EQUIPMENT MAINTAINED AND CHECKED FOR ACCURACY AT LEAST ANNUALLY? NO 
	21. DO YOU HAVE ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT? FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS QUESTION, YES "ANCILLARY EQUIPMENT" MUST INCLUDE ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 
	AGE-APPROPRIATE ORAL AIRWAYS CAPABLE OF ACCOMMODATING PATIENTS OF NO 
	ALL SIZES 
	AGE-APPROPRIATE SPHYGMOMANOMETER WITH CUFFS OF APPROPRIATE SIZE FOR PATIENTS OF ALL SIZES PRECORDIAL/PRETRACHEAL STETHOSCOPE.
	. 
	PULSE OXIMETER 
	0 
	00 
	00 
	FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 
	RECORDS - DO YOU MAINTAIN THE FOLLOWING RECORDS? 
	22. ADEQUATE MEDICAL HISTORY AND PHYSICAL EVALUATION UPDATED PRIOR TO EACH 
	ADMINISTRATION OF ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION. SUCH RECORDS SHALL INCLUDE, BUT YES ARE NOT LIMITED TO, AN ASSESSMENT INCLUDING AT LEAST VISUAL EXAMINATION OF THE AIRWAY, THE AGE, SEX, WEIGHT, PHYSICAL STATUS (AMERICAN SOCIETY OF 00 ANESTHESIOLOGISTS CLASSIFICATION), AND RATIONALE FOR SEDATION OF THE PATIENT 
	NO 

	AS WELL AS WRITTEN INFORMED CONSENT OF THE PATIENT, PATIENT'S CONSERVATOR, OR THE INFORMED CONSENT OF A PERSON AUTHORIZED TO GIVE SUCH CONSENT FOR THE PATIENT. 
	23. ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION RECORDS INCLUDING BASELINE VITAL SIGNS. IF OBTAINING BASELINE VITAL SIGNS IS PREVENTED BY THE PATIENT'S PHYSICAL YES 
	O 
	RESISTANCE OR EMOTIONAL CONDITION, THE REASON OR REASONS MUST BE NO
	DOCUMENTED. THE RECORDS SHALL ALSO INCLUDE INTERMITTENT QUANTITATIVE 
	MONITORING AND RECORDING OF OXYGEN SATURATION, HEART AND RESPIRATORY RATES, BLOOD PRESSURE AS APPROPRIATE FOR SPECIFIC TECHNIQUES, THE NAME, DOSE AND TIME OF ADMINISTRATION OF ALL DRUGS ADMINISTERED INCLUDING LOCAL AND INHALATION ANESTHETICS, THE LENGTH OF THE PROCEDURE, ANY COMPLICATIONS OF ORAL SEDATION, AND A STATEMENT OF THE PATIENT'S CONDITION AT THE TIME OF DISCHARGE. 
	24.
	24.
	24.
	24.
	 DO YOU MAINTAIN DOCUMENTATION SHOWING THAT ALL EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT AND YES 

	DRUGS ARE CHECKED AND MAINTAINED ON A PRUDENT AND REGULARLY SCHEDULED BASIS? NO 

	25.
	25.
	 DO YOU HAVE AVAILABLE AND READILY ACCESSIBLE AN EMERGENCY KIT OR CART YES 


	THAT INCLUDES THE ITEMS LISTED AS FOLLOWS? NO 
	(A) THE NECESSARY AND APPROPRIATE DRUGS AND AGE- AND SIZE-APPROPRIATE EQUIPMENT TO RESUSCITATE A NONBREATHING AND UNCONSCIOUS PATIENT AND PROVIDE CONTINUOUS SUPPORT WHILE THE PATIENT IS TRANSPORTED TO A 
	MEDICAL FACILITY 
	(B) EMERGENCY DRUGS OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES: 
	. EPINEPHRINE . BRONCHODILATOR . APPROPRIATE DRUG ANTAGONISTS . ANTIHISTAMINEC . ANTICHOLINERGIC . ANTICONVULSANT . OXYGEN 
	. DEXTROSE OR OTHER ANTIHYPOGLYCEMIC 
	26. PROVIDE THE ADDRESSES OF ALL LOCATIONS OF PRACTICE WHERE YOU ADMINISTER OR ORDER THE ADMINISTRATION OF ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION. ALL OFFICES SHALL MEET THE STANDARDS SET 
	FORTH IN REGULATIONS ADOPTED BY THE BOARD AT TITLE 16, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS SECTION 1044.5. 
	IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON THE BACK OF THIS PAGE. FORM OCS-C(NEW 05/2021) 
	Certification - I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information, 
	including any attachments, is true and correct. 
	Date: Signature of Applicant 
	INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS: Except for the email address and fax number, the information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Board of California (Board), 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-2300, in accordance with Business and Professions Code 
	(BPC)sections 1600 et seq. The Board collects the personal information requested on the following form as authorized by 
	BPC sections 27, 30, 31, 114.5, 115.4, 135.4, 480, 494.5, 1647.19, 1647.20, 1715, and Title 16, California Code of Regulations sections 1044.1 and 1044.5. The Board uses this information to identify and evaluate applicants for permit or licensure, issue and renew licenses, and enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation.
	and 
	Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. 
	Disclosure of your Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory, and collection is 
	authorized by BPC sections 29.5, 30, 31, and 494.5, and Pub. L 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. $ 405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, measurement of employment outcomes of students who 
	participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community Colleges as required by BPC section 30, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing 
	is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you may be reported to the 
	Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a penalty of $100. 
	Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt 
	from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. The Board makes every effort to 
	protect the personal information you provide us; however, it may be disclosed in response to a Public Records Act request as allowed by the Information Practices Art, to another government agency as required by state or federal law or Civil Code section 1798.24; or in response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. Your name and address listed on this application will be disclosed to the public upon request if and when you become licensed. 
	per agency request FORM OCS-C (NEW 05/2021) 8/15/22 
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA - STATE AND CONSUMER SERVICES AGENCY ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor 
	DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
	1432 HOWE AVENUE, SUITE 85. SACRAMENTO, CA 95825-3241 TELEPHONE. (916) 263-2300 FAX. (916) 263-2140
	Consumer Allairs 


	[Adopt] 
	[Adopt] 
	APPLICATION FOR ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION 
	APPLICATION FOR ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION 
	APPLICATION FOR ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

	FOR MINORS CERTIFICATE 
	FOR MINORS CERTIFICATE 
	Receipt No. 
	RC 

	Sections 1647.10-1647.17 Business and Professions Code; Title 16 California Code of Regulations Sections 1044 - 1044.5 
	Sections 1647.10-1647.17 Business and Professions Code; Title 16 California Code of Regulations Sections 1044 - 1044.5 
	Amount Certificate No 
	Initials. 

	Non Refundable FEE: $200 (must be enclosed with application) Section 1021 Title 16 California Code of Regulations 
	Non Refundable FEE: $200 (must be enclosed with application) Section 1021 Title 16 California Code of Regulations 
	Issued 


	Name 
	Address of Record (Mail) Street and Number 
	City 
	a Code 
	Address of Practice if different Street and Number 
	City ZIP Code 
	Telephone number 
	Telephone number 
	FAX number 
	Email address 
	Birthdate 




	REPEAL
	REPEAL
	Dental License Number 
	QUALIFICATION - Indicate under which method listed below you qualify for an oral conscious sedation certificate for minors and attach appropriate documentation. 
	Successful completion of a postgraduate program in oral and maxillofacial surgery, pediatric dentistry, or periodontics approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation or a comparable organization approved by the Board. 
	Successful completion of a general practice residency or other advanced education in a general dentistry program approved by the Board. 
	Successful completion of a Board-approved educational program on oral medications and sedation. Applicant must provide completed Form OCS-2 to document completion. 
	Form OCS-1 Rev. 1/05 
	By initialing below and completing the application you are certifying that any location where you administer oral conscious sedation to minor patients meets the Board's requirements set forth in regulation and in this application. 
	FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT 
	1 . An operatory large enough to adequately accommodate the patient and permit a team consisting of at least 
	three individuals to freely move about the patient. Initial 
	2. A table or dental chair that permits the patient to be positioned so the attending team can maintain the airway, quickly alter patient position in an emergency and that provides a firm platform for the management 
	of cardiopulmonary resuscitation. Initial 
	3. A lighting system that is adequate to permit evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup lighting system that is battery-powered and of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any 
	treatment that may be underway at the time of a general power failure. Initial 
	4. An appropriate functional suctioning device that permits aspiration of theoil and pharyngeal cavities. A 
	backup suction device that can function at the time of general power allure must also be available. hitial 
	5, A positive-pressure oxygen delivery system capable of adminis oring greater than 90% oxygen at a 10 liter/minute flow for at least sixty minutes (650 liter "E" cylinder), even is the event of a general power failure. All equipment must be capable of accommodating minor patents of all ages and sizes. 
	Initial 
	6. Inhalation sedation equipment, if used in conjunction with oral sedation, must have the capacity for delivering 1009%, and never less than 25%, myger concentration at a flow rate appropriate for a minul patient's size and have a fail-safe system. equipment must be maintained and checked for accuracy 
	at least annually. Initial 
	7. Ancillary equipment maintained in good operating condition, which must include all of the following: 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Oral airways capable of accommodating minor patients of all ages and sizes. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Sphygmomanometer wilk cats of appropriate size for minor patients of all ages and sizes. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Precordial/pretrach an telescope, Initial

	(d)
	(d)
	 Pulse oximeter. 


	RECORDS 
	1. Adequate medical history and physical evaluation records updated prior to each administration of oral conscious sedation that show at a minimum: 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Name, age, sex and weight. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 ASA Risk Assessment (American Society of Anesthesiologists Classification) 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Rationale for sedation of the minor patient Initial 


	2. Oral Conscious Sedation records which show: 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Baseline vital signs. If obtaining baseline vital signs is prevented by the patient's physical resistance or emotional condition, the reason or reasons must be documented. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Intermittent quantitative monitoring of oxygen saturation, heart and respiratory rates and blood pressure as appropriate for specific techniques. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Drugs administered, amounts administered and time or times administered, including local and inhalation anesthetics. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 Length of the procedure. 

	e)
	e)
	 Any complication of oral sedation. 

	(f)
	(f)
	 Statement of patient's condition at the time of discharge. Initial 


	3. Written informed consent of the parent or guardian. 
	Initial 

	Form OCS-1 Rev. 1/05 2 
	EMERGENCY CART OR KIT 
	1. Equipment and drugs appropriate for the age and size of the patients to resuscitate a non breathing and 
	unconscious minor patient and provide continuous support while the patient is transported to a medical facility. 
	2. Vasopressor Corticosteroid 
	4. 
	4. 
	4. 
	Bronchodilator 

	5.
	5.
	 Appropriate drug antagonists . Antihistaminec 


	7.
	7.
	7.
	 Anticholinergic 

	8.
	8.
	 Anticonvulsant 

	9.
	9.
	 Oxygen 

	10.
	10.
	 Dextrose or other antihypoglycemic 

	11.
	11.
	 Documentation that all emergency equipment and drugs are checked and maintained on a prudent and regularly scheduled basis. 


	Initial 
	EMERGENCIES All persons directly involved with the care of minor patients mustbe certified in basic cardiac life support (CPR) and recertified biennially. 
	Initial 
	Pursuant to Business and Professions Code 1647.14(b), a dentist who administers, or who orders the administration of oral conscious sedation for a minor patient small be physically present in the treatment facility while the patient is sedated and shall be present until discharge . the patient from the facility. 
	Initial
	Provide the addressec of all locations of practice whenyou order or administer oral conscious sedation to minor patients. All offices must meet the standards set forth by the Dental Board of California in regulations adopted by the Board. 
	REP
	IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON BACK OF THIS PAGE. 
	Certification - I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct and I hereby request a certificate to administer or order the administration of oral conscious sedation of minors in my office setting(s) as specified by the Dental Practice Act and regulations adopted by the Board. Falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response on this application or any attachment hereto is 
	sufficient basis for denying or revoking this certificate. 
	Signature of Applicant 
	INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by Dental Board of California. 1432 Howe Ave. Suite 85. Sacramento. CA 95825. Executive Officer. 916-263-2300. in accordance with Business & Professions Code. $1600 et seq. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are e
	Form OCS-1 Rev. 1/05 
	REPEALED 
	C 
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA - STATE AND CONSUMER SERVICES AGENCY 
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA - STATE AND CONSUMER SERVICES AGENCY 
	ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor 

	DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
	1432 HOWE AVENUE, SUITE 85, SACRAMENTO, CA 95825-3241 TELEPHONE: (916) 263-2300 FAX: (916) 263-2140
	Consumer Affairs 
	[REPEAL] 
	[REPEAL] 
	APPLICATION FOR ADULT ORAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION CERTIFICATE Receipt No. Sections  Business and Professions Code; 
	Re 
	1647.18-1647.26

	Amount 
	Initials Non Refundable FEE: $200 Certificate No (must be enclosed with application) Section 1021 Title 16 California Code of Regulations Issued 
	Name 
	Address of Record (Mail) Street and Number 
	City ZIP Code 
	Address of Practice if different Street and Number 
	ZIP Code 
	City 

	Telephone number ( FAX 
	Email address 
	Birthdate 
	Dental License Number 
	QUALIFICATION -Indicate under which method listed below you qualify for an oral conscious sedation certificate for adults and attach appropriate documentation. 
	successful completion of a postgraduate program in oral and maxillofacial surgery approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation or a comparable organization approved by the Board. Applicant must provide a copy of his or her diploma. 
	Successful completion of a periodontics or general practice residency or advanced education in a general dentistry post-doctoral program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation that meets the didactic and clinical requirements of Section 1044.3 of the Business and Professions Code. Applicant must provide a copy of his or her diploma. 
	Successful completion of a Board-approved educational program on oral medications and sedation. Applicant must provide a copy of his or her certificate of completion. 
	Documentation of 10 successful cases 1647.20(d). Attach Form OCS-4 with copy of treatment records. 
	Form OCS-3 Rev. 03/07 
	1 
	Pursuant to Business and Professions Code 1647.22(b), a dentist who administers, or who 
	orders the administration of oral conscious sedation for an adult patient shall be physically 
	present in the treatment facility while the patient is sedated and shall be present until 
	discharge of the patient from the facility: 
	Provide the addresses of all locations of practice where you order or administer oral conscious sedation to adult 
	patients. 
	IF NECESSARY, CONTINUE ON BACK OF THIS PAGE. 
	Certification - I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
	true and correct and I hereby request a certificate to administer or order the administration of adult oral conscious sedation in my office setting(s) as specified by the Dental Practice Act. I understand that falsification or 
	misrepresentation of any item or response on this application or any attachment is grounds for denying my 
	application for a certificate. 
	Signature of Applicant 
	INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by Dental Board of California, 1432 Howe Ave, Suite 85, Sacramento, CA 95825, Executive Officer, in accordance with Business & Professions Code, $1600 erseq. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt from disc
	RE Form OCS-3 Rev. 03/07 2 
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