
 
 

 TITLE 16. DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
 DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
                             

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES 
 
 
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Dental Board of California (Board) is proposing to 
take the action described in the Informative Digest.  Any person interested may present 
statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to the action proposed at a hearing 
to be held at: 

Department of Consumer Affairs 
2005 Evergreen Street, 1st Floor Hearing Room 

Sacramento, California 95815 
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 

10:00 AM 
 
 

Written comments, including those sent by mail, facsimile, or e-mail to the addresses 
listed under Contact Person in this Notice, must be received by the Board at its office 
not later than Monday, April 13, 2020 or must be received by the Board at the hearing.  
The Board upon its own motion or at the request of any interested party, may thereafter 
adopt the proposals substantially as described below or may modify such proposals if 
such modifications are sufficiently related to the original text.  With the exception of 
technical or grammatical changes, the full text of any modified proposal will be available 
for 15 days prior to its adoption from the person designated in this Notice as contact 
person and will be mailed to those persons who submit written or oral testimony related 
to this proposal or who have requested notification of any changes to the proposal. 
 
AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE:   
 
Pursuant to the authority vested by Sections 1614 of the Business and Professions 
Code, and to implement, interpret or make specific sections 125.9 and 148 of the Code, 
the Board is considering changes to Division 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations as follows: 
 
INFORMATIVE DIGEST: 
 
A. Informative Digest 

The Dental Board of California (Board) regulates approximately 82,000 
licensees; consisting of 35,000 dentists (DDS), 30,000 registered dental 
assistants (RDA), and 1,500 registered dental assistants in extended functions 
(RDAEF).  In addition, the Board has the responsibility for setting the duties and 
functions of approximately 50,000 unlicensed dental assistants.  The Board’s 
highest priority is the protection of the public when exercising its licensing, 
regulatory, and disciplinary functions. The primary methods by which the Board 
achieves this goal are: issuing licenses to eligible applicants; investigating 
complaints against licensees and disciplining licensees for violations of the 
Dental Practice Act (DPA); monitoring licensees whose licenses have been 
placed on probation; and managing the Diversion Program for licensees whose 



 
 

practice may be impaired due to abuse of dangerous drugs or alcohol. 
 

The Board’s Executive Officer is authorized to issue a citation and administrative 
fine to any person who holds a license or permit, or certificate issued by the 
Board for a violation of any provision of the Dental Practice Act or other law 
enforced by the Board. 
 
Existing regulation at California Code of Regulations, title 16, section 1023.2 (16 
CCR 1023.2) defines the penalties applicable to Class “A” and Class “B” 
violations.  The regulation provides that a Class “A” violation is subject to an 
administrative fine in an amount not less than $1,000 and not exceeding $2,500 
for each violation, and a Class “B” violation is subject to an administrative fine in 
an amount not less than $50 and not exceeding $2,500. 
 
This proposal would increase the maximum fines for each violation to $5,000 for 
each violation. 
 
Existing regulation at 16 CCR section 1023.7 provides for an administrative fine 
between $50 to $2,500 for unlicensed practice. 
 
This proposal would increase the maximum fine for each violation to $5,000 for 
each violation. 

 
B. Policy Statement Overview/Anticipated Benefits of Proposal 

 
Existing law, Business and Professions Code section 1614, specifies that the 
Board is authorized to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules and regulations as 
may be reasonably necessary to enable the Board to carry into effect the 
provisions of the Dental Practice Act.  
 
Existing law, Business and Professions Code section 1601.2, establishes the 
Board’s highest priority, which is the protection of the public when the Board 
exercises its licensing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions.  
The Board has determined that the current fine maximum fine amounts of $2,500 
are insufficient to properly function as deterrents against violations of statutes 
and regulations or unlicensed practice of dentistry. Therefore, this proposal 
seeks to increase the maximum fine the Executive Officer may issue for a 
violation of any provision of the Dental Practice Act or other law enforced by the 
Board to $5,000. 
 
It is necessary to increase the maximum amount of a fine that the Board may 
assess when it issues citations for the protection of the public’s health and 
wellbeing.  When a licensee is found to have violated the DPA or the Board’s 
regulations, disciplinary proceedings may be initiated by the Board, which would 
require the case to be referred to the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) for 
prosecution.  This can be costly for not only the licensee to obtain legal 
representation, but for the Board as well because it would be required to pay to 
the OAG all costs associated with prosecuting the case.  The Board would also 
incur costs to have the case investigated.  Although the Board might be 



 
 

reimbursed for its costs when a disciplinary decision is rendered in its favor 
pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.3, many licensees 
cannot afford to reimburse the Board.  In many cases, licensees surrender their 
license, or if a decision revokes their license, the Board is not reimbursed until a 
licensee seeks to have a license reinstated.  This greatly impacts the Board’s 
enforcement program.    
          
Citations may be used when patient harm is not found (i.e., in a Class “B” 
violation), but the quality of care provided to the consumer is substandard.  When 
issuing citations, the Board’s goal is not to be punitive.  Rather, the Board seeks 
to protect California consumers by getting the subject dentist’s attention, re-
educating him/her as to the DPA or the Board’s regulations, and emphasizing the 
importance of following dental practices that fall within the community’s standard 
of care.   
 
When deciding whether to issue a citation, California Code of Regulations 
section 1023.4 requires that the executive officer consider the following factors 
when assessing the amount of an administrative fine: 
 
• The good or bad faith exhibited by the cited person 
• The nature and severity of the violation 
• Evidence that the violation was willful 
• History of violations of the same or similar nature 
• The extent to which the cited person has cooperated with the Board 
• The extent to which the cited person has mitigated or attempted to   

mitigate any damage or injury caused by his or her violation 
• Such other matters as justice may require. 
 
The Board has expanded its use of cite and fine to address a wider range of 
violations that can be more efficiently and effectively addressed through a cite 
and fine process with abatement and/or remedial education outcomes. 
 
Examples of “lesser” violations of the DPA that may not warrant referral to the 
OAG, but where a citation and fine may be more appropriate, include 
documentation issues, e.g., recordkeeping, advertising violations, failure to keep 
up with continuing education requirements, unprofessional conduct for the failure 
to disclose or report convictions, e.g., driving under the influence, and disciplinary 
actions taken by another professional licensing entity.  In addition, citations are a 
tool to address less egregious violations that would not otherwise result in 
discipline.  Moreover, citations can address skills and training concerns promptly.   
 
The average number of days to complete a case that has been referred to the 
OAG for disciplinary action has continued to increase from 1645 days in 2015/16 
to 1863 days in 2017/18 (over 13%).  By issuing a citation and fine, the Board is 
providing the licensee with an easier path to resolution and obtaining swift 
compliance.  The Board has determined that the fine amount plays an important 
role in deterring future violations of the DPA and the Board’s regulations and the 
unlicensed practice of dentistry.  In the most egregious of cases that do not 



 
 

warrant formal discipline, or in the case of unlicensed practice, a citation with a 
fine amount of $5,000 would carry with it a deterrent factor that would far exceed 
that of a fine in the amount of $2,500.  This assists the Board in meeting its 
obligation to protect consumers when citations with a fine are issued.  

 
ANTICIPATED BENEFITS: 
The Board’s highest priority is the protection of the public while exercising its licensing, 
regulatory, and disciplinary functions. The Board has determined that the current fine 
maximum fine amounts of $2,500 are insufficient to properly function as deterrents 
against violations of statutes and regulations. Therefore, the Board seeks to increase 
the maximum fine the Executive Officer may issue for a violation of any provision of the 
Dental Practice Act or other law enforced by the Board. This regulatory change will 
better enable the Board to perform its duty to protect the public. Additionally, this 
proposal will provide the Board with an enforcement tool that is able to act as a 
deterrent against licensees that violate the Dental Practice Act.  

 
CONSISTENCY AND COMPATIBILITY WITH EXISTING STATE REGULATIONS: 
After conducting a review for any regulations that would relate to or affect this area, the 
Board has evaluated this regulatory proposal and it is not inconsistent or incompatible 
with existing state regulations. The Board is the only state entity that regulates the 
practice of dentistry and is the only authority that can issue citations & fines on a 
licensed dentist within the state. 
 
FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES: 
 
 Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or Savings to State Agencies 

or Costs/Savings in Federal Funding to the State: Assuming the administrative 
fine collection will double, this proposal would result in the Board receiving an 
additional $36,000 per year from citations and fines.  

 
 Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:  None 
 
 Local Mandate:  None 
 
 Cost to Any Local Agency or School District for Which Government Code 

Sections 17500 - 17630 Require Reimbursement: None 
 
Business Impact:   
The Board has made the initial determination that the proposed regulation would not  
have a significant, statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business,  
including the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other  
states, because the regulations pertain to the Board’s enforcement of the Dental  
Practice Act and its regulations.  This determination is based on the fact that the 
proposal only affects persons found to be in violation of the Board’s statutes and 
regulations.  For example, a person may be issued a citation and administratively fined 
for violations which the executive officer has determined involves a person who has 
violated a statute or regulation relating to the practice of dentistry which does not 
present a substantial probability that either death or serious physical harm to a patient 
will result therefrom.   



 
 

 
A business owned by a licensee who is facing a citation due to a violation of the DPA or 
the Board’s regulations may incur a fiscal impact as it relates to costs associated with 
payment of the fine.  The Board does not maintain data relating to the number or 
percentage of licensees who own a business; therefore, the number or percentage of 
businesses that may be impacted cannot be predicted.  The Board only has the 
authority to issue a citation that includes a fine for unlicensed practice or to a licensee 
and not a business.  Accordingly, the initial or ongoing costs for a small business owned 
by a licensee who is facing a citation with a fine cannot be projected.  Businesses 
operated by licensees who are in compliance with the DPA and the Board’s regulations 
will not incur any fiscal impact.  
 
The rulemaking file includes the facts, evidence, documents, testimony, and/or other  
evidence which supports this determination. 
 
Cost Impact on Representative Private Person or Business:   
This proposal would have a minor fiscal impact on individual licensees of the Board who 
have been issued a citation with an administrative fine.  Though these regulations 
pertain to the Board’s internal enforcement procedures, a citation against a license or 
person for unlicensed practice will result in costs associated with payment.  The 
average salary of a DDS in California is approximately $150,000 per year and the 
annual salary of a registered dental assistant in California is approximately $35,000 per 
year.  Licensees who are in compliance with the Board’s statutes and regulations will 
not incur any fiscal impact.  With respect to persons who are issued a citation with a fine 
for unlicensed practice, the Board is unable to speculate who might engage in such 
practice.  Therefore, the fiscal impact on such persons is unknown.   
 
Effect on Housing Costs:     None 
 
 
EFFECT ON SMALL BUSINESS 
The Board has determined that the proposed regulations would not affect small 
businesses.  Although small businesses owned by licensees of the Board and small 
businesses that employ licensees of the Board may be impacted, the Board estimates 
that the fiscal impact would be minor and absorbable. The Board does not maintain data 
relating to the number of percentage of licensees who own a small business; therefore, 
the number or percentage of small businesses that may be impacted cannot be 
predicted.  
 
RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS: 
  
 Impact on Jobs/Businesses: 

The Board has made the initial determination that the proposed regulation would 
not have a significant, statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting 
business. The proposal will not create or eliminate jobs in the State. It will not 
cause an expansion of businesses currently operating in the state.  The proposal 
will not affect the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in 
other states, because the regulations pertain to the Board’s enforcement of the 
Dental Practice Act and its regulations. 



 
 

 
 Benefits of Regulation: 

The Board has determined that this regulatory proposal will have the following 
benefits to health and welfare of California residents, worker safety, and state’s 
environment: 

 
The proposed increase in the maximum amount for citations & fines helps the 
Board fulfill its highest priority: protection of the public when exercising its 
licensing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions so this will promote the health 
and welfare of California residents.  

 
CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES: 
The Board must determine that no reasonable alternative it considered to the regulation 
or that has otherwise been identified and brought to its attention would be more 
effective in carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed, would be as 
effective and less burdensome to affected private persons than the proposal described 
in this Notice, or would be more cost effective to affected private persons and equally 
effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. 
 
Any interested person may present statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant 
to the above determinations at the above-mentioned hearing. 
 
INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND INFORMATION: 
The Board has prepared an initial statement of the reasons for the proposed action and 
has available all the information upon which the proposal is based. 
 
TEXT OF PROPOSAL: 
Copies of the exact language of the proposed regulations, and any document 
incorporated by reference, and of the initial statement of reasons, and all of the 
information upon which the proposal is based, may be obtained at the hearing or prior to 
the hearing upon request from the Board at 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, 
Sacramento, California 95815 or by accessing the Board’s website at 
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/laws/regs/index.shtml. 
 
AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND 
RULEMAKING FILE 
All the information upon which the proposed regulations are based is contained in the 
rulemaking file which is available for public inspection by contacting the person named 
below.  
 
You may obtain a copy of the final statement of reasons once it has been prepared, by 
making a written request to the contact person named below or by accessing the 
website listed below. 
 
CONTACT PERSON 
Inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rulemaking action may be addressed 
to: 
 
  Name:    Gabriel Nevin, Legislative & Regulatory Analyst 

http://www.dbc.ca.gov/laws/regs/index.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/laws/regs/index.shtml


 
 

     Dental Board of California 
  Address:   2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550 
     Sacramento, CA 95815 
  Telephone No.:   (916) 263-2027 
  Fax No.:  (916) 263-2140 
  E-Mail Address:  gabriel.nevin@dca.ca.gov 
 
The backup contact person is: 
 
  Name:    Steve Long, Budget Analyst 
     Dental Board of California 
  Address:   2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550 
     Sacramento, CA 95815 
  Telephone No.:   (916) 263-0967 
  Fax No.:  (916) 263-2140 
  E-Mail Address: steve.long@dca.ca.gov 
 
 
Website Access Materials regarding this proposal can be found at the Board’s Website 
at http://www.dbc.ca.gov/lawsregs/index.shtml 
 

http://www.dbc.ca.gov/lawsregs/index.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/lawsregs/index.shtml

