
DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
 

FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 
 
Hearing Date: April 4, 2011 
 
Subject Matter of Proposed Regulations: Consumer Protection Enforcement Initiative 
 
Section(s) Affected: California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Division 10, Sections 
1018.05 and 1020 
 
Updated Information: 
The Initial Statement of Reasons is included in the file.  The information contained 
therein is updated as follows: 
 
The Board currently regulates a total of 72,866 licensees; consisting of 37,508 dentists, 
34,084 registered dental assistants, and 1,277 registered dental assistants in extended 
functions.  The Board’s highest priority is the protection of the public when exercising 
its licensing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions.  The primary methods by which the 
Board achieves this goal are: issuing licenses to eligible applicants; investigating 
complaints against licensees and disciplining licensees for violations of the Dental 
Practice Act (DPA); monitoring licensees whose licenses has been placed on 
probation; and managing the Diversion Program for licensees, whose practice may be 
impaired due to abuse of dangerous drugs or alcohol.  
 
Recommendations and comments received during the 45-day public comment period 
and at the April 4, 2011 regulatory hearing were considered by the Board at its May 19, 
2011 meeting.  A number of modifications were made to the Consumer Protection 
Enforcement Initiative regulations based upon comments received. The Board’s 
responses to the comments received are detailed under “Summary of Comments 
Received During the 45-Day Comment Period”. 
 
The modified text was noticed on the Board’s web site and mailed on May 25, 2011.  
The 15-day public comment period began on May 26, 2011 and ended on June 10, 
2011.  The Board did not receive comments in response to the modified text.  
 
Since there were no adverse comments received in response to the modified t text, the 
Board adopted the final text as noticed in the modified text at its May 19, 2011 meeting.    
 
Local Mandate: 
A mandate is not imposed on local agencies or school districts. 
 
Updated Business Impact: 
The proposed regulation will provide the Dental Board of California (Board) with the 
means to expedite the enforcement process by further defining unprofessional conduct.  
The proposed regulation also gives the Board the authority to require the examination 
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of an applicant who may be impaired by a physical or mental illness that may affect 
competency. These changes have been proposed to give the Board the tools to 
provide better public protection. The Board has estimated that this proposed regulation 
will not have a significant economic impact on the private sector.   
 
Licensees may incur a nominal fee for the copying and mailing of records requested by 
the Board.  However, current statute, California Business and Professions Code (Code) 
Section 1684.1, requires licensees to comply with the Board’s records request or they 
risk being fined.  Since current statute previously required the copying and submission 
of records, there should be no additional fiscal impact to the licensee or their business 
as a result of this regulation. Licensees will be considered to have committed 
unprofessional conduct if they fail to provide records requested by the Board. As a 
result, licensees may face disciplinary action against their license.   
 
This regulation imposes a reporting requirement. Licensees may incur a nominal fee 
when reporting an indictment, felony charge, conviction, or disciplinary action by 
another professional licensing entity to the Board.  This regulation does not specify the 
manner of how a licensee is to report to the Board.  Licensees may choose from a 
variety of methods to notify the Board, including email, or mailing a letter.  A licensee 
may incur nominal costs associated with mailing their notification to the Board.  
Licensees will be considered to have committed unprofessional conduct if they fail to 
report an indictment, felony charge, conviction, or disciplinary action by another 
professional licensing entity to the Board within 30 days.  As a result, licensees may 
face disciplinary action against their license.   
 
A license that has been revoked, suspended, reprimanded or placed on probation may 
cause a significant fiscal impact on the business where the licensee worked depending 
on the nature and severity of the violation.  A business owned by a licensee who faces 
disciplinary action may incur a significant fiscal impact depending on the nature and 
severity of the violation. The Board does not maintain data relating to the number or 
percentage of licensees who own a business; therefore the number or percentage of 
businesses that may be impacted cannot be predicted.  The Board only has authority to 
take administrative action against a licensee and not a business.  Accordingly, the initial 
or ongoing costs for a business owned by a licensee who is the subject of disciplinary 
action cannot be projected. Businesses operated by licensees who are in compliance 
with the law will not incur any fiscal impact.   
 
Businesses operated by licensees who are in compliance with the law will not incur any 
costs. Businesses operated by licensees who are found to be in violation of certain laws 
may incur the penalties imposed by these new regulations depending on the nature or 
severity of the crime.  The Board only has authority to take administrative action against 
a licensee and not a business.  Accordingly, the initial or ongoing costs for a business 
owned by a licensee who is the subject of disciplinary action cannot be projected.   
 
Applicants required by the Board to be examined by a physician and surgeon or 
psychologists will not incur a fiscal impact.  The Board is responsible for the full cost of 
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the examination.  Existing law, Section 820 of the Code, authorizes the Board to 
examine licensees for mental illness or physical illness that may affect competency.  
Since licensees may already be subject to such an examination, the Board has 
determined that the proposed regulation will not have a significant statewide adverse 
economic impact on the businesses of the physicians and surgeons or psychologists 
designated to perform the examination.  The physicians and surgeons or the 
psychologists designated to perform the examination have the necessary equipment to 
perform the examination and will not experience additional costs as a result of this 
regulation. However, the physician and surgeons, or psychologist may incur more 
revenue as a result of this regulation, depending on how many applicants the Board 
requires to be examined.   
 
In the last five (5) years the Board has been compelled to examine seventeen (17) 
licensees as provided in Section 820 of the Code.  Such an examination has cost the 
Board approximately $2,500 each time.  The Board receives approximately 1,100 
applications for licensure as a dentist each year, approximately 2,300 applications for 
registered dental assistant licensure each year, and approximately 90 applications for 
registered dental assistant in extended functions licensure each year.  The Board does 
not maintain data regarding the number of applicants who have demonstrated physical 
or mental illnesses affecting competency, therefore it is difficult to estimate the number 
of applicants the Board may examine.  Based upon the number of licensees examined 
pursuant to existing authority, the fiscal impact of the proposed regulatory action on 
State government would be minor and any additional expenditure would be absorbable 
by the Board.  This proposed regulation will not affect any federally funded State 
agency or program.  
 
Businesses owned by the physicians and surgeons or psychologists designated by the 
Board to perform an examination of mental or physical illness affecting competency 
should not incur any additional costs.  These businesses are equipped to perform 
examinations on a daily basis and the addition of a patient will not significantly impact 
the costs of running their business. However, the physician and surgeons, or 
psychologist may incur more revenue as a result of this regulation, depending on how 
many applicants the Board requires to be examined.   
 
Benefits 
The benefit from these proposed regulations will be to provide maximum protection to 
the California consumers against licensees who are found to be in violation of the law or 
who do not demonstrate the competency necessary to perform their duties due to a 
mental or physical illness.  
 
These benefits are a direct result of the Board’s statutorily mandated priority (B&P Code 
Section 1601.2). The protection of the public is the highest priority of the Board in 
exercising licensing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions. 
 
Consideration of Alternatives 
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There are no alternatives to the regulation. The Board’s highest priority is the protection 
of the public while exercising its licensing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions. These 
proposed regulatory changes provide the Board with the means to expedite the 
enforcement process and provide better public protection.  
 
Without this regulatory change, the Board would not be able to receive records or 
reports in a more expedited manner.  Waiting for a licensee to renew their license to 
obtain conviction information would be less effective and could endanger patient safety.  
 
Licensing an applicant who demonstrates mental or physical illness that may affect 
competency, but who successfully completes an examination and is subsequently 
licensed, has the potential to cause detrimental patient harm and would be less 
effective. This regulation gives the Board the ability to further examine applicants that 
demonstrate mental or physical illness that may affect competency, but who otherwise 
successfully complete an examination.  With this new authority, the Board would be 
able to deny the application, and provide better patient protection if the applicant is 
found to be unable to safely practice. 
 

 
Objections or Recommendations/Responses: 
The following recommendations were made regarding the proposed action: 
 
Summary of Comments Received During the 45-Day Comment Period: 
The California Dental Association (CDA) submitted comments in response to the 
proposed text.  
 
CDA expressed concern regarding the subjective nature of the examination of an 
applicant for a mental or physical illness whenever the applicant “appears” to be unable 
to safely practice.  Staff recommended rejection of this comment. The Board voted 
unanimously to reject this comment because the commonly understood meaning of 
“appears” is sufficiently clear.  Appears means “to have the appearance of being; seem; 
look” (Random House Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2011.)  Therefore, if the Board 
has factual evidence in a specific case that a person seems like they may have a 
physical or mental condition affecting competency, the Board may refer for an 
examination.  The applicant’s rights are protected by the confidentiality of the process 
and double-checked by an independent expert evaluating the facts presented to him or 
her. At the same time, the Board ensures that the public is protected by the Board’s 
further investigation into competency before a license is issued. The applicant bears the 
burden of proof of their fitness for competency to practice.  The proposed regulatory 
language is derived from existing law, Business and Professions Code Section 820, and 
licensing agencies within the Department of Consumer Affairs have used this provision 
without issue.  Additionally, the examination would be performed on a case by case 
basis by a professional expert trained to perform examinations for mental or physical 
competency.  
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Additionally, CDA was concerned that the proposed regulatory language appeared to 
only allow the Board the option of outright denial of the application for licensure if the 
requested examination leads to concerns.  The Board voted unanimously to modify the 
text to address CDA’s concerns, maintain consistency with the “Dental Board of 
California Disciplinary Guidelines With Model Language”, revised 8/30/2010, and 
provide a higher level of due process for the applicant, while still maintaining protection 
of the public. The Board voted to modify the last sentence of section 1020(a) to read as 
follows:  “If after receiving the report of evaluation, the Board determines that the 
applicant is unable to safely practice, the Board may deny the application, or may issue 
the applicant a license that is placed on probation with terms and conditions.  If the 
Board issues a license on probation, the probationary order shall include an order that 
the license be revoked, stayed and placed on probation for the entire term of probation.  
In issuing a license on probation, the Board may consider any or all of the following 
terms and conditions: (i) Requiring the licensee to obtain additional training or pass an 
examination upon completion of training, or both.  The examination may be written, oral, 
or both, and may be a practical or clinical examination or both, at the option of the 
Board; (ii) Requiring the licensee to submit to a mental or physical examination, or 
psychotherapy during the term of probation under the terms and conditions provided for 
in the “Dental Board of California Disciplinary Guidelines With Model Language” revised 
08/30/2010, incorporated by reference at Section 1018; or, (iii) Restricting or limiting the 
extent, scope or type of practice of the licensee.”  
 
In addition to the proposed modifications to address CDA’s concerns, staff 
recommended adding language to Section 1020(a) to provide for the confidentiality of 
examination records if there is insufficient evidence to bring an action against the 
applicant. Staff recommended maintaining the records for a period of five years from the 
date of determination. If no further proceedings are conducted to determine the 
licensee’s fitness to practice within the five years, staff recommended the records be 
purged and destroyed.  However, if new proceedings are conducted during the five year 
period, staff recommends authorizing the Board to utilize the records of the examination 
in the proceedings. These provisions regarding confidentiality of the examination and 
the destruction of insufficient evidence are consistent with those privacy protections 
provided to licensees in Section 828 of the Business and Professions Code. Staff 
recommended the addition of Section 1020(a)(2) as follows: “If the Board determines, 
pursuant to proceedings conducted under this subdivision, that there is insufficient 
evidence to bring an action against the applicant, then all Board records of the 
proceedings, including the order for the examination, investigative reports, if any, and 
the report of the physicians and surgeons or psychologists, shall be kept confidential. If 
no further proceedings are conducted to determine the applicant’s fitness to practice 
during a period of five years from the date of the determination by the Board of the 
proceeding pursuant to this subdivision, then the Board shall purge and destroy all 
records pertaining to the proceedings. If new proceedings are instituted during the five-
year period against the applicant by the Board, the records, including the report of the 
physicians and surgeons or psychologists, may be used in the proceedings and shall be 
available to the Respondent pursuant to the provisions of Section 11507.6 of the 
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Government Code.” The Board voted unanimously to accept staff’s recommendation 
and modified the text.  
 
Summary of Comments Received During the 15-Day Comment Period: 
The Board did not receive comments in response to the modified text.  
 


