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DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL TO AMEND SECTIONS 1725, 1753.52, 1754.5, AND 1755 
OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE RELATING TO DENTAL ASSISTING 

COURSES 

Proposed amendments are indicated in underline for new text and strikethrough for 
deleted text. 

 

Amend Section 1725 of Article 6 of Chapter 4 of Division 2 of the Business and 
Professions Code as follows: 

1725. The amount of the fees prescribed by this chapter that relate to the licensing and 
permitting of dental assistants shall be established by regulation and subject to the 
following limitations: 

(a) The application fee for an original license shall not exceed two hundred dollars 
($200). 

(b) The fee for examination for licensure as a registered dental assistant shall not 
exceed the actual cost of the examination. 

(c) The fee for application and for the issuance of an orthodontic assistant permit or a 
dental sedation assistant permit shall not exceed two hundred dollars ($200). 

(d) The fee for the written examination for an orthodontic assistant permit or a dental 
sedation assistant permit shall not exceed the actual cost of the examination. 

(e) The fee for the Registered Dental Assistant Combined Written and Law and Ethics 
Examination for a registered dental assistant shall not exceed the actual cost of the 
examination. 

(f) The fee for examination for licensure as a registered dental assistant in extended 
functions shall not exceed the actual cost of the examination. 

(g) The biennial renewal fee for a registered dental assistant license, registered dental 
assistant in extended functions license, dental sedation assistant permit, or orthodontic 
assistant permit shall not exceed two hundred dollars ($200). 

(h) The delinquency fee shall be 50 percent of the renewal fee for the license or permit 
in effect on the date of the renewal of the license or permit. 

(i) The fee for issuance of a duplicate registration, license, permit, or certificate to 
replace one that is lost or destroyed, or in the event of a name change, shall not exceed 
one hundred dollars ($100). 
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(j) The fee for each curriculum review and site evaluation for educational programs for 
registered dental assistants that are not accredited by a board-approved agency, or the 
Chancellor’s office of the California Community Colleges shall not exceed seven 
thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500). 

(k) The fee for review of each approval application or reevaluation for a course that is 
not accredited by a board-approved agency or the Chancellor’s office of the California 
Community Colleges shall not exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000). 

(l) The fee for review of each approval application or reevaluation for a course provided 
pursuant to Sections 1753.52, 1754.5, and 1755 that is not accredited by a board-
approved agency or the Chancellor’s office of the California Community Colleges shall 
be three hundred dollars ($300). 

(lm) Fees collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the State Dentistry 
Fund. 

 

Amend Section 1753.52 of Article 7 of Chapter 4 of Division 2 of the Business and 
Professions Code as follows: 

1753.52. (a) On or after January 1, 2026, a provider of a course for instruction in interim 
therapeutic restorations and radiographic decisionmaking for a registered dental assistant 
in extended functions shall apply for board approval to offer the course and submit all of 
the following to the board: 

(1) An application prescribed by the board that shall specify the name of the course 
or educational program administrator or director, the name of the course provider, the 
name of the course, and the location where the course will be offered. 

(2) The application fee prescribed by regulationin Section 1725. 

(3) A detailed course curriculum evidencing that the course is sufficient in length for 
the students to develop competency in placement of protective restorations, but shall 
be, at a minimum, 16 hours in length and include all of the following: 

(A) Four hours of didactic training, which may take place in an in-person or online 
environment, and shall include: 

(i) Review of pulpal anatomy. 

(ii) Theory of adhesive restorative materials used in the placement of adhesive 
protective restorations, including mechanisms of bonding to tooth structure, 
handling characteristics of the materials, preparation of the tooth prior to 
material placement, and placement techniques. 
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(iii) Criteria used in clinical dentistry pertaining to the use and placement of 
adhesive protective restorations, which shall include: 

(I) Patient factors, as follows: 

(ia) According to the American Society of Anesthesiologists Physical 
Status Classification, the patient is Class III or less. 

(ib) The patient is cooperative enough to have the interim therapeutic 
restoration placed without the need for special protocols, including 
sedation or physical support. 

(ic) The patient, or responsible party, has provided consent for the 
interim therapeutic restoration procedure. 

(id) The patient reports that the tooth is asymptomatic, or if there is mild 
sensitivity that stops within a few seconds of the removal of the offending 
stimulus. 

(II) Tooth factors, as follows: 

(ia) The lesion is accessible without the need for creating access using 
a dental handpiece. 

(ib) The margins of the lesion are accessible so that clean, noninvolved 
margins can be obtained around the entire periphery of the lesion with 
the use of hand instrumentation. 

(ic) The depth of the lesion is more than two millimeters from the pulp 
on radiographic examination or is judged by the supervising licensed 
dentist to be a shallow lesion such that the treatment does not endanger 
the pulp or require the use of local anesthetic. 

(id) The tooth is restorable and does not have other significant 
pathology. 

(iv) The protocols to deal with adverse outcomes used in the placement of 
adhesive protective restorations, including mechanisms of bonding to tooth 
structure, handling characteristics of the materials, preparation of the tooth prior 
to material placement, and placement techniques. 

(v) Criteria for evaluating successful completion of adhesive protective 
restorations, including, but not limited to, restorative material not in hyper 
occlusion, no marginal voids, and minimal excess material. 

(vi) Protocols for adverse outcomes after interim therapeutic restoration 
placement, including, but not limited to, exposed pulp, tooth fracture, gingival 
tissue injury, high occlusion, open margins, tooth sensitivity, rough surface, 
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complications, or unsuccessful completion of adhesive protective restorations, 
including situations requiring immediate referral to a dentist. 

(vii) Protocols for followup of adhesive protective restorations, including, but not 
limited to, at least two followup examinations of the interim therapeutic 
restoration within a 12-month period. 

(B) Four hours of laboratory training, which shall be held at a physical facility, and 
include placement of 10 adhesive protective restorations where students 
demonstrate competency in this technique on typodont teeth. 

(C) Eight hours of clinical training, which shall be held at a physical facility, and 
include experiences where students demonstrate, at minimum, placement of five 
interim therapeutic restorations under direct supervision of faculty. 

(4) A detailed course curriculum evidencing that the course is sufficient in length for 
the students to develop competency in making decisions about which radiographs to 
expose to facilitate diagnosis and treatment planning by a dentist, but shall be, at a 
minimum, four hours in length and include all of the following: 

(A) Didactic instruction, including all of the following: 

(i) The concept of managing caries and individualizing treatment based on a 
caries risk assessment. 

(ii) Guidelines for radiographic decisionmaking, including, but not limited to, 
both of the following concepts: 

(I) The American Dental Association’s Dental Radiographic Examinations: 
Recommendations for Patient Selection and Limiting Radiation Exposure 
(Revised 2012). 

(II) The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry’s Guidelines on 
Prescribing Dental Radiographs. 

(iii) The guidelines developed by Pacific Center for Special Care at the 
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry (Pacific) for use 
in training for Health and Workforce Pilot Project No. 172, including both of the 
following: 

(I) Instruction on specific decisionmaking guidelines that incorporate 
information about the patient’s health, radiographic history, time span since 
previous radiographs were taken, and availability of previous radiographs. 

(II) Instruction pertaining to the general condition of the mouth, including the 
extent of dental restorations present and visible signs of abnormalities, 
including broken teeth, dark areas, holes in teeth, demineralization, visible 
carious lesions, and remineralization. 
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(B) Laboratory training that includes case-based examination with various clinical 
situations where trainees make decisions about which radiographs to expose and 
demonstrate competency to faculty based on these case studies. 

(C) Simulated clinical experiences consisting of a review of various clinical cases 
with instructor-led discussion about radiographic decisionmaking in these clinical 
situations. 

(5) Evidence of student access to adequate equipment and facilities to satisfy the 
educational requirements as specified in this section. 

(6) Evidence that the physical facilities required under this section have all of the 
following: 

(A) A patient clinic area, laboratory, and radiology area. 

(B) Access to equipment necessary to develop dental assisting skills in 
radiographic decisionmaking. 

(C) Infection control equipment as required by the board. 

(7) Evidence that the physical facilities and equipment are maintained and replaced in 
a manner designed to provide students with a course that will meet the educational 
objectives set forth in this section. 

(8) Evidence that all students have access to all of the following: 

(A) A hazardous waste management plan for the disposal of needles, cartridges, 
medical waste, and storage of oxygen and nitrous oxide tanks. 

(B) A clinic hazard communication plan. 

(C) A copy of the course’s bloodborne and infectious diseases exposure control 
plan, which shall include emergency needlestick information. 

(9) Written clinical and laboratory protocols to ensure adequate asepsis, infection and 
hazard control, and disposal of hazardous wastes, which shall comply with the board’s 
regulations and other federal, state, and local requirements. The course provider shall 
provide such protocols to all students, faculty, and appropriate staff to assure 
compliance with such protocols. Adequate space shall be provided for preparing and 
sterilizing all armamentaria. 

(10) Evidence that the course is established at the postsecondary educational level. 

(b) The course content may be incorporated into a current registered dental assistant in 
extended functions program. 
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(c) For course enrollment, the course provider shall ensure submission by the student of 
satisfactory evidence of both of the following requirements: 

(1) A current, active license as a registered dental assistant in extended functions 
issued on or after January 1, 2010. 

(2) A current certification in basic life support from American Red Cross, American 
Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, American Dental 
Association’s Continuing Education Recognition Program, or Academy of General 
Dentistry’s Program Approval for Continuing Education. 

(d) The program or course director shall do both of the following: 

(1) Ensure all faculty involved in clinical evaluation of students maintain currency in 
evaluation protocols for interim therapeutic restoration placement and radiographic 
decisionmaking. 

(2) Ensure that all faculty responsible for clinical evaluation have completed a one-
hour methodology course in clinical evaluation for interim therapeutic restoration 
placement and radiographic decisionmaking before instruction. 

(e) Satisfactory completion of a course in interim therapeutic restoration and radiographic 
decisionmaking is determined using criteria-referenced completion standards, where the 
instructor determines when the trainee has achieved competency based on these 
standards, but trainees take varying amounts of time to achieve competency. Any student 
who does not achieve competency in this duty in the specified period of instruction may 
receive additional training and evaluation. In cases where, in the judgment of the faculty, 
students are not making adequate progress, they shall be discontinued from the program. 

(f) Each student shall pass a written examination which reflects the entire curriculum 
content. 

(g) Each student shall pass a simulated clinical examination in which the student 
successfully completes the application of three of the five interim therapeutic restoration 
placements required for clinical instruction under faculty supervision. 

(h) Each approved course shall be subject to board review at any time for compliance 
with the requirements under this section. The board may withdraw approval at any time 
that it determines that the course does not meet the requirements set forth in this section. 

(i) The program or course director shall be responsible for notifying the board in writing of 
any changes to the course content, physical facilities, and faculty within 10 days of such 
changes. 

(j) The board may adopt regulations to implement this section. 
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Amend Section 1754.5 of Article 7 of Chapter 4 of Division 2 of the Business and 
Professions Code as follows: 

1754.5. (a) A radiation safety course shall have the primary purpose of providing theory, 
laboratory, and clinical application in radiographic techniques. The board shall approve 
only those courses that adhere to the minimum requirements of this section and 
applicable regulations adopted by the board. 

(b) A radiation safety course provider applying for initial board approval shall submit a 
completed application for course approval, on a form provided by the board, accompanied 
by the applicable fee specified in Section 1725. The board may, in lieu of conducting its 
own investigation, accept the findings of any commission or accreditation agency 
approved by the board and adopt those findings as its own. The board may approve, 
provisionally approve, or deny approval after it evaluates all components of the course. 

(c) A board-approved radiation course shall be re-evaluated approximately every seven 
years, but may be subject to re-evaluation and inspection by the Board at any time to 
ensure compliance with this section. Continuation of approval will be contingent upon 
continued compliance with Sections 1070 and 1070.1 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations and all requirements set forth in this section. The board may withdraw 
approval at any time that it determines that the course does not meet the requirements 
set forth in this subdivision of this section. 

(d) Radiation safety course providers shall comply with the Radiologic Technology Act 
(commencing with Section 27 of the Health and Safety Code) and supporting regulations. 
Providers shall make adequate provisions for appropriate supervision, operation, and 
facilities when used for laboratory and preclinical instruction., including all of the following: 

(1) Laboratory and clinical instruction facilities that are equipped with supplies, 
materials, and equipment for instruction in radiation safety and practical work and 
include, for every six students, at least the following: 

(A) One functioning radiography (X-ray) machine that complies with all federal and 
state laws, including registration with the Department of Health Services, and is 
equipped with the appropriate position-indicating devices for each technique being 
taught; 

(B) One X-ray training manikin head designed for instruction in radiographic 
techniques per X-ray unit; 

(C) One film view box or screen for viewing digital images; and  

(D) Processing and viewing equipment or any combination thereof. Such facility 
requirements may be deemed met if computer-based equipment for digital 
radiographic procedures is solely or in part utilized within the program or course 
facility. Such equipment may be located in the operatory area where exposures 
will occur.  
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(2) The choice of image receptor for laboratory and clinical experiences may be either 
traditional film or digital sensor or any combination thereof as determined by the 
course provider. 

(3) X-ray exposure areas shall provide protection to patients, students, faculty, and 
observers in full compliance with applicable federal and state laws.  

(e) A course in radiation safety shall be of sufficient duration for the student to achieve 
minimum competence, but in no event less than 32 hours, including at least 8 hours of 
didactic instruction, at least 12 hours of laboratory instruction in which students receive 
supervised experience performing procedures using study models, mannequins, or other 
simulation models, and at least 12 hours of supervised clinical instruction in which 
students receive supervised experience in performing procedures in a clinical setting on 
patients. 

(f) A course shall establish specific instructional objectives. The theoretical aspects of the 
course shall provide the content necessary for students to make safe and ethical 
judgments regarding radiation safety. 

(g) Objective evaluation criteria shall be used for measuring student progress. Students 
shall be provided with specific performance objectives and the evaluation criteria that will 
be used for all evaluation and testing procedures. 

(hg) Didactic instruction shall be provided in safe and educationally conducive lecture 
classrooms or facilitated through electronic distance learning modalities. Areas of didactic 
instruction shall include, at a minimum, all of the following: 

(1) Radiation physics and biology. 

(2) Radiation protection and safety. 

(3) Recognition of normal intraoral and extraoral anatomical landmarks. 

(4) Radiograph exposure and processing techniques. 

(5) Radiograph mounting or sequencing, and viewing, including anatomical landmarks 
of the oral cavity. 

(6) Intraoral techniques including holding devices and image receptors. 

(7) Proper use of patient protection devices and personal protective equipment for 
operator use. 

(8) Identification and correction of faulty radiographs. 

(9) Introduction to contemporary equipment and devices including the use of 
computerized digital radiography and extraoral imaging that may include panographs 
or cone-beam imaging. 

(10) Techniques and exposure guidelines for a variety of patients including, but not 
limited to, adult, pediatric, edentulous, partially edentulous, endodontic, and patients 
with special needs. 



9 
 

(11) Radiographic record management. 

(h) Providers using electronic distance learning modalities for didactic instruction shall: 

(1) Prior to enrolling a student, notify the prospective student of the computer or 
communications technology necessary to participate in didactic instruction. 

(2) Provide technological assistance to students, as needed, to participate in didactic 
instruction. 

(3) Ensure completion of didactic instruction by the student prior to the student’s 
participation in laboratory instruction. 

(i) For the student to achieve minimum competence in the application of dental 
radiographic techniques and radiation safety, the course shall include all the following 
shall be met by a board-approved course: 

(1) Successful completion of laboratory experiences consisting of at least two bitewing 
radiographic series and two full mouth intraoral radiographic series using an xX-ray 
training mannequin designed for radiographic exposures utilizing any dental 
radiographic image receptor or device deemed appropriate by the course director. 
Laboratory instruction shall be successfully completed prior to student participation in 
clinical instruction. 

(2) Successful completion of clinical experiences consisting of at least three full-mouth 
intraoral radiographic series using any dental radiographic image receptor or device 
deemed appropriate by the course director or supervising dentist.  

(j3) All clinical radiographs shall be made using diagnostic criteria established by the 
course of instruction and shall in no event exceed three reexposures per series. 

(4) Completion of student and instructor written evaluations of each radiographic 
series identifying errors, causes of error, correction of errors, and, if applicable, the 
number of reexposures necessary for successful completion of a series to clinical 
competency. 

(kj) Before the student’s performance of procedures on patients, the student shall provide 
evidence to the radiation safety course provider of having completed a board-approved 
eight-hour course in infection control and current, valid certification in basic life support. 

(l) Completion of student and instructor written evaluations of each radiographic series 
identifying errors, causes of error, correction of errors, and, if applicable, the number of 
reexposures necessary for successful completion of a series to clinical competency. 

(mk) The student shall successfully complete a comprehensive written exam prior to the 
completion of the course. The exam shall include questions specific to items addressed 
in Article 4 (commencing with Section 30305) of Group 3 of Subchapter 4 of Chapter 5 of 
Division 1 of Title 17 of the California Code of Regulations relative to the special 
requirements for the use of xX-ray in the healing arts. 

(nl) Extramural dental facilities may be utilized by a course in accordance with Board 
regulations for the purposes of clinical experiences. Clinical oversight shall be performed 
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under the general supervision of a licensed dentist who shall authorize the student to 
perform, at minimum, three radiographic series. Didactic and laboratory instruction shall 
be provided only by course faculty or instructional staff prior to clinical performances. (o) 
Programs and courses using extramural dental facultiesfacilities for dental radiographic 
clinical experiences shall provide to the board, upon request or renewal of provider status, 
copies of all contracts of affiliation and documentation demonstrating compliance with 
board regulations. 

(pm) Upon successful completion of the course, students shall receive a certificate of 
completion as defined in subdivision (e) of Section 1741. 

(qn) The board may adopt regulations to implement this section. 

 

Amend Section 1755 of Article 7 of Chapter 4 of Division 2 of the Business and 
Professions Code as follows: 

1755. (a) A course in infection control is one that has as its main purpose providing theory 
and clinical application in infection control practices and principles where the protection 
of the public is its primary focus. The board shall approve only those courses that adhere 
to the minimum requirements of this section and applicable regulations adopted by the 
board. 
 
(b) An unlicensed dental assistant not enrolled in a board-approved program for 
registered dental assisting or an alternative dental assisting program as defined in 
subdivision (a) of Section 1741, shall complete one of the following infection control 
certification courses: An eight-hour infection control course taken for compliance with the 
requirements of paragraph (c) of Section 1750 shall be either of the following: 

(1) A board-approved eight-hour course, with six hours being didactic instruction and 
two hours being laboratory instruction.  

(1) A board-approved eight-hour infection control course provided by a board-
approved registered dental assisting education program. 

(2) An eight-hour infection control course approved by the Board pursuant to Section 
1070.6 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations. 

(23) A board-approved eight-hour course, with six hours of didactic instruction and at 
least two hours of laboratory instruction using video or a series of video training tools, 
all of which may be delivered using asynchronous, synchronous, or online learning 
mechanisms or a combination thereof. 

(c) A provider of an infection control course offered to students for compliance with 
paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) shall submit an application on a form furnished by the 
board for board approval to offer the course, the applicable fee specified in Section 1725, 
and documentation of all of the following: 
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(1) The course name, course provider name, course director name, business 
address, telephone number, and email address shall be identified in the application 
for board approval. 

(2) The course director shall possess a valid, active, and current license issued by 
the board or the Dental Hygiene Board of California.  

(3) The course director shall actively participate in and be responsible for the 
administration of the course and each of the following requirements: 

(A) Maintaining for a period of not less than five years copies of curricula, 
program outlines, objectives, and grading criteria, and copies of course instructor 
credentials, licenses, and certifications, and individual student records, including 
those necessary to establish satisfactory completion of the course. 

(B) Informing the board of any major change to the course (including closure), 
course provider name, course director, business contact information, or course 
content within 10 days of the change. 

(C) Ensuring that all course instructors meet the requirements set forth in this 
section. 

(4) The A course shall establish a detailed course outline, in writing, that clearly states 
the curriculum subject matter, hours of didactic and laboratory instruction, and specific 
instructional objectives. Instruction shall provide the content necessary for students to 
make safe and ethical judgments regarding infection control and asepsis. 

(d5) Objective evaluation criteria shall be used for measuring student progress. 
Students shall be provided with specific performance objectives and the evaluation 
criteria that will be used for didactic testingcourse examination. 

(6) Course instructors shall have experience in the instruction of California Division of 
Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) regulations (Cal. Code Regs., Title 8, 
Sections 330-344.85) and the Board's Minimum Standards for Infection Control (Cal. 
Code Regs., Title 16, Section 1005). 

(7) Prior to enrolling a student, provide notification to the prospective student of the 
computer or communications technology necessary to participate in didactic and 
laboratory instruction. 

(8) Provide technological assistance to students, as needed, to participate in didactic 
and laboratory instruction. 

(9) Ensure completion of didactic instruction by the student prior to the student’s 
participation in laboratory instruction. 

(e10) Didactic instruction shall include, at a minimum, all of the following as they relate 
to Cal/OSHA regulations, as set forth in Sections 300 to 344.85, inclusive, of Title 8 of 
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the California Code of Regulations, and the board’s Minimum Standards for Infection 
Control, as set forth in Section 1005 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations: 

(1A) Basic dental science and microbiology as they relate to infection control in 
dentistry. 

(2B) Legal and ethical aspects of infection control procedures. 

(3C) Terms and protocols specified in Section 1005 of Title 16 of the California 
Code of Regulations regarding the minimum standards for infection control. 

(4D) Principles of modes of disease transmission and prevention. 

(5E) Principles, techniques, and protocols of hand hygiene, personal protective 
equipment, surface barriers and disinfection, instruments and devices, 
sterilization, sanitation, and hazardous chemicals associated with infection control. 

(6F) Principles, and protocols, and procedures of sterilizer monitoring and the 
proper loading, unloading, storage, and transportation of instruments to work area. 

(7G) Principles, and protocols, and procedures associated with sharps 
management. 

(8H) Principles, and protocols, and procedures of infection control for laboratory 
areas. 

(9I) Principles, and protocols, and procedures of waterline maintenance. 

(10J) Principles, and protocols, and procedures of regulated and nonregulated 
contaminated medical waste management occurring in the dental healthcare 
setting. 

(11K) Principles, and protocols, and procedures related to injury and illness 
prevention, hazard communication, general office safety, exposure control, 
postexposure requirements, and monitoring systems for radiation safety and 
sterilization systems. 

(11) Laboratory instruction shall include, at a minimum, demonstrations in the 
following areas, as they relate to Cal/OSHA regulations, as set forth in Sections 300 
to 344.85, inclusive, of Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations, and the board’s 
Minimum Standards for Infection Control, as set forth in Section 1005 of Title 16 of 
the California Code of Regulations: 

(A) Apply hand cleansing products and perform hand cleansing techniques, 
protocols, and procedures. 

(B) Apply, remove, and dispose of patient treatment gloves, utility gloves, 
overgloves, protective eyewear, masks, and clinical attire. 
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(C) Utilize instruments, surfaces, and situations where contamination is 
simulated, without actual contamination, from bloodborne and other pathogens 
being present. 

(D) Apply the appropriate techniques, protocols, and procedures for the 
preparation, sterilization, and storage of instruments including, at a minimum, 
application of personal protective equipment, precleaning, ultrasonic cleaning, 
rinsing, sterilization wrapping, internal or external process indicators, labeling, 
sterilization, drying, storage, and delivery to work area. 

(E) Preclean and disinfect contaminated operatory surfaces and devices, and 
properly use, place, and remove surface barriers. 

(F) Maintain sterilizer including, at a minimum, proper instrument loading and 
unloading, operation cycle, spore testing, and handling and disposal of 
sterilization chemicals. 

(G) Apply work practice controls as they relate to the following classification of 
sharps: anesthetic needles or syringes, orthodontic wires, and broken glass. 

(H) Apply infection control protocol and procedures for the following laboratory 
devices: impressions, bite registrations, and prosthetic appliances. 

(I) Perform waterline maintenance, including use of water tests and purging of 
waterlines. 

(J) Perform techniques for safe handling and disposal of contaminated regulated 
medical waste. 

(12) The course shall establish written laboratory protocols that comply with the 
board's Minimum Standards for Infection Control (Cal. Code Regs., Title 16, Section 
1005) and other federal, state, and local requirements governing infection control. 
The course shall provide these protocols to all students and course instructors to 
ensure compliance. 
 
(13) Each student shall pass a written examination that reflects the curriculum 
content, which may be administered at intervals throughout the course as 
determined by the course director. 

 
(fd) Upon successful completion of the course, students shall receive a certificate of 
completion as defined in subdivision (e) of Section 1741. The certificate of completion 
shall state the statutory authority under paragraph (1), (2), or (3) of subdivision (b) for 
which the course has been approved. 
 
(e) Board approval, provisional approval, denial, and withdrawal of approval of the course 
shall be conducted in accordance with subsection (a) of Section 1070 of Title 16 of the 
California Code of Regulations. 
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(f) Course records shall be subject to inspection by the board at any time. 

(g) A course taken pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) shall not satisfy completion 
of an infection control course required for licensure as a registered dental assistant or 
permit as an orthodontic assistant or dental sedation assistant. 

(gh) The board may adopt regulations to implement this section. 
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