If you reside in California provide a completed
Live Scan Service request form, or if you reside
outside of California provide two classifiable
fingerprint cards provided by the Board:

Submit a complete Out of State Licensure
Certification Form or provide a verification letter
from each State/Country in which you are
licensed.

Signature Authorizing the Board to query the
National Practioner Data Bank and the Federal
Drug Enforcement Agency.

Social Security Requirement

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section
30, the Board is not permitted to process any license
application or renewal unless the applicant provides
his or her social security number or federal employer
identification number on the application.

Initial License Application

Once an applicant has completed the application
process and has been approved for a license they will
be sent an “Application for Issuance of the License
Number Form”.

California dental licenses expire every two years on
the last day of the month of the licensee’s birthday.
The first license fee will be pro-rated to the remainder
of months in the license cycle, as explained on the
application.

The Board has 7-10 business days to issue a license
from receipt of the application. The pocket and wall
license will be issued within 30 days. A prospective
employer may verify a license on-line by visiting our
website at www.dbc.ca.gov.
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DENTAL BOARD OF
CALIFORNIA

Mail your Application to:

Dental Board of California
Licensing & Examination Unit
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550
Sacramento, CA 95815

Our fax number is:
(916) 263-2140

For questions on an application, call:
1-877-729-7789 (toll free)
Or
(916) 263-2300

For information visit our website:

www.dbc.ca.gov

California Dental Licensure Examination
www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/exam_clinical.shtml
Licensure by Residency
www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/lic_by_residency.shtml
Licensure after Successful Completion
of the WREB Examination
www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/exam_wreb_geninfo.shtml
Licensure by Credential
www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/lic_by cred.shtml

The mission of the Dental Board of
California is to protect and promote the
health and safety of consumers by licensing
those dental health care professions who
demonstrate competency, taking action to
enforce compliance with the Dental Practice
Act, the laws of the State of California and
enhancing the education of licentiates and
consumers.

How
To Become a
Licensed Dentist

Licensing & Examination Unit

Dental Board of California

The State agency that licenses dentists
investigates complaints and disciplines
those who violate the law.



http://www.dbc.ca.gov/
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/exam_clinical.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/lic_by_residency.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/exam_wreb_geninfo.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/lic_by_cred.shtml

Pathway to Licensure
in California

General Requirements for Licensure in
California

Be at least 18 years of age.

Provide satisfactory evidence of having
graduated from a dental school program
approved by CODA or the Board:

Provide satisfactory evidence of having passed
parts | & Il of the National Board Written
Examination. (Not required for LBC)

If you reside in California provide a completed
Live Scan Service request form, or if you reside
outside of California provide two classifiable
fingerprint cards provided by the Board:
Fingerprint Fee:  $51.00 (Live Scan applicants
pay fee at time of services)
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/fingerprinting.sh

tml

Submit a completed Out of State/Country
Licensure Certification form or provide a
verification of licensure letter from each
State/Country in which you are licensed:
Successful completion of the California Law and
Ethics Examination.

California Dental Licensure Examination

In addition to the general requirements for licensure
to be eligible to take the examination applicants must
complete the following:

¢ Submit a completed application:

http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_clinical.pdf
Pay a fee of $550.00 which includes:

. Application Fee: $100.00

. Examination Fee: $450.00
Provide satisfactory evidence of financial
responsibility or liability insurance for injuries
sustained or claimed to be sustained by a
dental patient during the course of the
examination:

Candidates are currently tested in the following
subjects:

Endodontics (Written)

Removable Prosthodontics (Written)
California and Ethics (Written)

Fixed Prosthetics (Simulated)

Periodontics (Written and Clinical)

Class Il Amalgam Restoration (Clinical)
Class Il or IV Composite Resin Restoration
(Clinical)

Licensure after Successful Completion
of the WREB Examination

In addition to the general requirements you must have
successfully passed the WREB examination after
January 1, 2005 to be eligible for licensure.

Prior to applying all applicants must:

¢ Submit a completed application:
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app wreb.pdf
Pay an application fee of $100.00
Submit an Original or Duplicate Original Success
Card.

Licensure by Residency

In addition to the general requirements, you must
have completed either: a 1-year general practice
residency (GPR), or 1-year advance education in
general dentistry (AEGD) program that is approved by
the American Dental Association’s (ADA) Commission
on Dental Accreditation (CODA).

¢ Submit a completed application:
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app lbr.pdf
Pay an application fee of $100.00.
Submit a completed residency completion form;
Provide satisfactory evidence of not failing the
California Dental Licensure Examination and the
WREB examination within the last 5 years

Licensure by Credential (LBC)

Applicants are eligible to apply for licensure by
credential if they have a current license in another
State. Applicants must complete the following:

¢ Be currently licensed in another State

¢ Submit a completed application to the Application
to Establish Eligibility for Licensure by Credential
(LBC-1):
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app lbcl.pdf
Pay an Application fee of $283.00, if classified print
cards are provided a $51.00 fee also is required, (Live
Scan applicants pay a fee at time of services)
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/fingerprinting.shtml

Pathways for Licensing by Credentials and forms
required:

» 5,000 Clinical practice hours in five of
the seven consecutive years: Form
Certification of the Clinical Practice of
Dentistry (LBC-3)
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app |
bc3.pdf is required.

» 3,000 Clinical practice hours plus a
completion of a Residency training
Program accredited by the American
Dental Association Commission: Form
Certification of the Clinical Practice of
Dentistry (LBC-3)
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app |
bc3.pdf and a Copy of Residency
Certificate is required.

2 year pending contract for clinical
practice; Form Verification of Pending
Contract for Clinical Practice (LBC-5)
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app |
bc5.pdf and a copy of pending contract
required.
2 year pending contract for faculty
practice; Form Verification of Pending
Contract for Faculty Practice (LBC-
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app |
bc6.pdf and a copy of Pending contract
required.
50 Continuing Education Credits with in the last
two years which must include mandatory courses
below:
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/licensees/cont education.
shtml California Infection Control, California
Dental Practice Act and Basic Life Support card
Approved by American Red Cross or American
Heart Association



http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/fingerprinting.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/fingerprinting.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_clinical.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_wreb.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_lbr.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_lbc1.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/fingerprinting.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_lbc3.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_lbc3.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_lbc3.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_lbc3.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_lbc5.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_lbc5.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_l%20bc6.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_l%20bc6.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/licensees/cont_education.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/licensees/cont_education.shtml

