
POTENTIAL LICENSE DENIAL OR SUSPENSION FOR FAILURE TO PAY TAXES 

 

Effective July 1, 2012, the Dental Board of California is required to deny an application for licensure or 

suspend a license/certificate/registration if a licensee or applicant has outstanding tax obligations due to 

the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) or the State Board of Equalization (BOE) and appears on either the FTB or 

BOE's certified lists of top 500 tax delinquencies over $100,000. (AB 1424, Perea, Chapter 455, Statutes 

of 2011) 

Once it has been determined that an applicant or a licensee is on a certified list, the applicant or licensee 

has 90 days from the issuance of a “Preliminary Notice of the Intent to Suspend or Withhold Issuance or 

Renewal of the License” to either satisfy all outstanding tax obligations or enter into a payment 

installment program with the FTB or BOE. Any such person who fails to come into compliance will have 

his/her license denied or suspended until the Dental Board of California receives a release from the FTB 

or BOE. The form for requesting a release will be included with the preliminary notice of suspension or 

denial. 

The law prohibits the Dental Board of California from refunding any money paid for the issuance or 

renewal of a license where the license is denied or suspended as required by AB 1424 for failure to pay 

taxes. 

The FTB and BOE are currently expanding the certified lists from 250 to 500, but you can check if you are 

currently on the FTB's certified list at: https://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/Delinquent_Taxpayers.shtml or 

the BOE's certified list at: www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/top500.htm  If you believe you are on either list in 

error, please call the FTB at (866) 418-3702. 
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